We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Initially, I wanted to stay at the Westin, but it was booked, but I was able to get a studio suite at the Hampton in the downtown area. I was surprised at how comfortable it was. The room was huge. The kitchen area was so convenient. The buffet breakfast had very good selections. Coffee was available all day. The staff was accommodating. I walked to a different restaurant each night. I walked to the theater and the nearby park. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: There are balcony rooms with views of the river. If that is important to you, you might want to requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear emru,

Thank you for staying with us at our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Our studio suites are the most popular room types in our hotel as the spacious suite with a balcony overlooks the modest Reedy River. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Greenville, SC!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
m.denson@hospitalitiyamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    231
    41
    20
    8
See reviews for
281
361
36
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel! Greenville is charming and this hotel fits right in. The location is super- you are within walking distance to all the downtown stores, restaurants, etc. Stay here and there will be no need for a car. Also, the parking fee per night is very affordable. The hotel staff are all most accommodating. The rooms are clean, neat and well equipped to handle charging all your electronics. A delicious continental breakfast is included in your stay and even includes hot food!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Judy M,

Thank you for being our guest recently at our Hampton Inn & Suites! Thank you also for your comprehensive review of your stay. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed our central location in downtown! We strive to deliver outstanding customer service, a quality product, and squeaky clean rooms. I am so happy that we were successful in creating this experience for you! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Greenville area!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A beautiful hotel in the middle of a totally renovated downtown area. When I lived in Greenville as a student, I never would have believed that the downtown area could be so beautiful and fun and that I'd actually want to stay there. The hotel was convenient to everything. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anicesurpriiiiise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear a nicesurpriiiiise,

Thank you for your amazing review of our property! We appreciate you taking the time to post about your experience at our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville, SC. The city has done an amazing job of renovating the downtown area to create a fun and family friendly environment. We are very lucky to be a part of this amazing area! Thank you again, and we hope to see you very soon!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Celebrated our 22nd Anniv with first trip to downtown Greenville, SC. Hotel was within reasonable walking distance to all downtown activities, restaurants, sites to see. Staff was very friendly, room decent size, great beds, clean, good basic free breakfast included. Only thing missing, it seems most of downtown hotels lack this, a pool. Hotel sits back off Main St, so it was quiet. We would definitely return here. Nothing bad to report about 3 day stay. Great city to visit.

Room Tip: I would not waste my $ for room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Reginald C,

Thank you for being our guest recently at our Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Greenville RiverPlace. I am very happy to hear that we were able to provide a wonderful venue to for you celebrate your anniversary! It is true that we do not have a pool at our property, however, we do offer complimentary access to the local YMCA which has a pool. I am glad that you were able to experience Greenville and we look forward to seeing you for your 23rd anniversary!

All the Best,

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel! The location is great, just a short five minute walk to the Peace Center, and a few minutes walk to some great shops, eateries, and boutiques. Love the bells out front that play music on the hour, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and plan to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaL14559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear AnnaL14559,

I am so glad to hear about your wonderful stay at our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville! I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the wonderful downtown Greenville area while you were visiting.

It's wonderful to hear how helpful and friendly are staff was and how you enjoyed our rooms! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit into Greenville, SC!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Beautiful property in an ideal location with a superb staff. Our company had a very bad experience with a competing brand, so we looked for other options. We were fortunate to find this Hampton and to be able to work with Nelle O'Donnell, Director of Sales in negotiating a corporate rate for our company. She has been fantastic to work with and has made sure that all of our visits since that time have been perfect. Our company will not consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Michael P,

Thank you for your awesome review of our Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville -- Downtown -- RiverPlace. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased to hear how Nelle was able to accommodate your company at our property. As our Director of Sales, she does a fantastic job of faciliting a variety of new business from company travelers to wedding blocks!

Thank you again and we look forward to taking care of your company travelers as they continue to travel into the Greenville area!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
369 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A very nice downtown hotel right on the Reedy River. Staff are efficient and friendly and the rooms are spacious with a good sized bathroom. What I really like is the large walk-in shower - no clambering in and out of a tub! Location is right on the Reedy River with access to the River Walk which is really lovely. Also, a couple of good restaurants on hand - the Lazy Goat is about 20 paces from the front door, which has a great patio over looking the river; good food. Then there is High Cotton, which is 5 mins walk up on South Main St, good bar, and excellent food though a bit pricey. The hotel has self and valet parking so really conveneint for the traveller. I've stayed at 4 of the downtown hotels and I think this is the best value for money with a super location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear A R H,

Thank you so much for being our guest recently at the Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville -- Downtown -- RiverPlace. I also appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property and surrounding restaurants.

We do offer room service from the restaurants you mentioned; The Lazy Goat and High Cotton as well as from Larkin's on the River. We love working with such wonderful restaurants to create an outstanding experience for our guests.

Thank you for your words regarding our location and value! We sit near some great properties and continue to strive to be the best among the best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@Hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#19 of 64 in Greenville
135 reviews
5.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing