We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent location, Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent location, Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is located in the best spot in downtown Greenville. Situated between the "river" and Falls Park on the Reedy, everything is within walking distance. Walk a block and you hit Main Street and the entrance to Falls Park. Walk on Main Street for restaurants, shops, and search for the 10 Mice on Main Street. The little bronze mice are inspired by the book Goodnight Moon and the little mouse found on each page. Staff were all incredibly pleasant and accommodating, our room had 2 queen sized beds in it and the room was significantly wider than average hotel rooms. Complimentary breakfast offered a wide variety of hot and cold items, fresh fruit, and friendly service. Overall excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crookster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear crookster4,

Thank you for being our guest recently at our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville. Greenville is a wonderful town that has seen much growth and improvement over the past few years. The Mice on Main is a wonderful activity for guests of all ages and is a very popular pastime! We strive to deliver outstanding customer service paired with a quality product and I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel. Thank you again for your wonderful review and we hope to see you soon on your next venture into the upstate!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    222
    40
    20
    7
See reviews for
271
333
32
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is in a Beautiful area. It is within walking distance to downtown. Lots of parking, eating, and drinking...highly recommend! Also, walking/bike path beside the river with waterfalls and benches.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tammy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Tammy E,

Thank you for being our guest recently at our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville and for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! Our central location in downtown provides our guests with a multitude of options for dining and entertainment within walking distance. I am so glad that you were able to enjoy our lovely town. We hope to see you back during your next trip into Greenville!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel was located close to everything we planned to do while in Greenville. We enjoyed the bedding very much as was the view of the river from our suite. The hotel was very easy to check in and out and the staff were very helpful. One suggestion would be to have a courtesy car for the guests during bad weather.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Willie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Willie T,

Thank you for your review of your stay at our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville, SC! It's wonderful to hear how you enjoyed our Hampton bedding in your comfortable river view room. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked the Hampton for a business trip in Greenville. Our entire pre-stay experience was great. Great communication from event staff, all issues and questions handled professionally and promptly. When we arrived and were shown to our conference room, we were dealing with a different person than who handled the booking. She didn't seem to care about our satisfaction with the set up or the room in general. Any questions we had, she kept repeating "well, per the contract..." We understand that there is a contract, but you don't have to keep using a condescending/I'm not going to go out of my way tone every time there's an issue. Make it right is all we want. I would stay again, in the hotel, but wouldn't use the event staff in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Amy B,

Thank you for being our guest recently at our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville! In addition to our wonderful sleeping rooms, we also provide meeting and event space for business and social events. It is unfortunate to hear that you had an unpleasant experience during your meeting at our property. Hopefully, this experience will serve as a learning opportunity to our staff and improve the level of service we provide to our meeting guests. I am glad to hear that your were pleased with our property and we do hope you reconsider our meeting space for any future events!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statham, Ga
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This truly was a great place for a quick get-away for the family. We were only staying overnight so we arrived early. They were able to accommodate an early check in and had a pack-n-play in the room for out infant. The entire stay with the hotel was seamless.

The location was great: Right by the river/park, easily accessible to dining, shopping, etc. We were surprised all that Greenville had to offer, and the location and accommodations of the hotel could not have been any better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonUGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear WilsonUGA,

Thank you for being our guest at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville. Thank you also for your review of our property! I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how our staff was able to accommodate you and your family. I am glad you were able to experience our wonderful town as Greenville has improved greatly over the past few years. Thank you again and we hope you visit us again soon!

All the Best!
Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is located right in the middle of everything. Be sure you GPS the Downtown or Riverfront or you will end up way out of town at another Hampton. There is a great restaurant right outside the door and a plaza which had a free music concert the night I was there. The hotel is typical Hampton...clean, comfortable with a courteous staff. A great place to stop on your way up to the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Yvonne G,

Thank you for your review of our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville, SC! Our location in the downtown area provides an array of restaurant and entertainment options. We are very proud to fly the Hampton flag and are pleased that we continue to represent the brand well! Thank you again for your patronage, and we hope to see you the next time you take a trip up to the mountains!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Initially, I wanted to stay at the Westin, but it was booked, but I was able to get a studio suite at the Hampton in the downtown area. I was surprised at how comfortable it was. The room was huge. The kitchen area was so convenient. The buffet breakfast had very good selections. Coffee was available all day. The staff was accommodating. I walked to a different restaurant each night. I walked to the theater and the nearby park. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: There are balcony rooms with views of the river. If that is important to you, you might want to requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear emru,

Thank you for staying with us at our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Our studio suites are the most popular room types in our hotel as the spacious suite with a balcony overlooks the modest Reedy River. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Greenville, SC!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
m.denson@hospitalitiyamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#19 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#2 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing