We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Great location. Located in the heart of Greenville's charming downtown. We had a lovely king room with a balcony overlooking the river. The people at the front desk were polite and very helpful.

Parking was a little frustrating. The garage, which is located under the hotel, has a very narrow entrance and the exit is strange, winding through a construction area and dropping you off on a side street a good bit away from the hotel. Though I would imagine after the construction has been completed this would not be an issue.

Room Tip: Balcony with a view of the river.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pmarklesparkle61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear pmarklesparkle 61,

Thank you for your review of your stay at our Hampton Inn & Suites in Greenville, South Carolina. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your room overlooking the winding Reedy River. Our Riverview King rooms have some of the best views in town!

I do apologize for the difficulties you had with the parking garage. As you stated, the garage is currently undergoing expansion and updates. Unfortunately, this has caused some frustration with guests and employees alike. We are working closely with the City of Greenville to minimize as many problems as we can. We encourage all of our guests to consult with our wonderful front desk staff on the best ways in and out of the garage, as well as any concerns they may have.

Thank you again for your review and we hope the next time you are in town, the garage construction is complete to allow for a more smooth transition into the parking garage!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,123)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

This past weekend we had a Girls Weekend in Greenville. We had a fabulous time. We did not expect the city to be this wonderful. So much to do and see. You really need more then 3 days to experience everything. The Hampton Inn is a lovely hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The women working the breakfast area were so nice and kept asking if we needed anything else. We had a king suite and it was very spacious. The refrigerator froze the water bottles though and didn't have a dial to turn down the temperature. I do not recommend the valet service. It is not run by the hotel. I parked in the city garage which was very clean and safe. My sister used the valet service and when we checked out her Challenger was covered in tree sap. She asked the manager of the valet service where her car was parked and was shocked to find out that her car had been parked on the public street the entire time. They are not allowed to park the cars in the city run parking garage. Needless to say she is not happy about this and could have saved a lot of money and had her car in a safe area if she had just self parked. Lesson learned. Saturday night we tried to have room service delivered from Larkins. They said no that they were too busy. Very disappointed about that. What ever you do, do not try to eat at Gringo Cantina. It is almost across from the hotel. Before trying to order room service we went there to eat dinner. We were the only 2 people in there and we found out why. The food was in-edible. Neither of us has ever refused to pay for a meal before. We couldn't even eat it. Would have been better off eating Taco Bell. We complained to the manger, tipped our waitress and paid for our drinks. Terrible experience. We were told by the room service girl from the Lazy Goat that it is a terrible place. Wish we had known that before hand. With all of that said. I will be making a return trip with my son to Greenville and the Hampton Inn. So much more to see and experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jeri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Jeri S,

I am so happy to hear that you chose our Hampton Inn & Suites to host your Girl's Weekend! Greenville is a wonderful city that has a ton to offer and I am so pleased that you had a good time. I do hope that the valet was able to take care of the detail on your sister's car and that it was able to get all of the sap off! I know when the valet company was made aware they were very eager to make sure everything was taken care of. If there is still any issues with them, please let me know and I will be more than happy to follow up on your behalf. You also mentioned difficulties with ordering room service from Larkin's, I would also appreciate any feedbacks regarding your experience so that I can address them with the restaurant. We strive to provide excellent and efficient options to our guests and want to ensure that all of the company's we work with are delivering on this promise.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again!

All the Best,
Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We used to spend a good bit of time in Greenville as our daughter was a student at Furman and the Poinsett was always our favorite place to stay. The Hampton Inn was built her junior year and while we tried to book a room there on several occasions, it was always full. We overnighted in Greenville two weeks ago; the Hampton had rooms available and was a good bit cheaper than the Poinsett, so we booked a room.

We enjoyed our stay. The location is great, within walking distance of Falls Park on the Reedy, as well as several great restaurants and eclectic shops. The staff was very friendly and professional. The Wi-Fi was fast and free. The room was nice and fresh. The breakfast was good, better than expected even. There was really nothing not to like.

Still, we are partial to older, historic properties and will probably stay at the Poinsett the next time we get back to Greenville. The Hampton Inn is a really nice hotel, though, and you should certainly enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davenport_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Davenport _50,

Thank you for staying with us at Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville! I am please that you were able to stay with us and share your experience on TripAdvisor. It's always wonderful to hear from guests who have a great to stay from start to finish. I understand that each individual has their own personal preferences and I respect your decision to stay at the Historic Poinsett. However, I do very much appreciate your feedback as this proves vital to our future guests and to our growth as an organization.

Thank you again and have a wonderful week!

All the Best,

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The staff was great, especially the young man at the valet station. Even though we didn't use his services, he was quite helpful in recommending walks and restaurants.
The rooms we had were comfortable, but the water pressure in one shower was pathetic! Had problems with both refrigerators....one froze milk and the other wasn't plugged in. We did manage to connect that second one.
"Room service" is handled by outside restaurants. We arrived around 8:30PM and called Larkins for a couple of hamburgers. Had to call Larkins twice to find out where they were. Finally got the food at 10PM. While this isn't the fault of the hotel, it is something customers need to know. There is a small variety of packaged food items in the lobby, e.g. lean cuisine meals, which can be heated in the microwaves in the rooms. (The burgers were excellent.)
One room only had a shower in it; the other, a suite, had a tub.

Room Tip: If you need a tub, make sure you ask for it. If you want a view, you will pay for it.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Bb K,

Thank you for your recent stay and for your review of our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville! We appreciate you taking the time to post about your stay on TripAdvisor.

I apologize for the difficulties you had with the water pressure, the refrigerators and the service your received from Larkins. I would love to be able to speak with you directly regarding these issues. Please feel free to email me at m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com, or you may call me directly at the hotel at 864-271-8700. I am pleased to hear that the valet attendant was friendly and helpful! We have a wonderful relationship with the valet company and are very pleased with their service!

Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you back in Greenville soon!

All the Best,
Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@Hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Coffee Pots and ice buckets kept in the toilets. The hotel just went through a remodel as well so bath tubs out and showers only, very small shower heads and the new towels are small and thin. Breakfast area is small and crowded but the food was good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Timothy C,

Thank you for being our guest recently at our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville. We appreciate all constructive criticism from our guest as this helps our organization to continue to improve on it's products and service.

I apologize for the items you disliked about our hotel. You are correct that we have recently renovated our hotel.However, some of our rooms do still have tubs in them. We like to offer a variety of options for our guests including stand-in showers, ADA roll-in showers, shower/tub combos and shower/tub combos with a pull-down seat.

The towels that we have at our hotel are the same towels that the Hampton brand has approved for use in their hotels. We monitor our terry closely to ensure that any frayed or damaged items are discarded. We will continue to monitor this to guarantee we are only delivering the highest of quality to our guests.

In regards to the location of the coffee maker, they are located in a recessed vanity area behind the bathroom door. All cups, coffee filters and coffee packs are individually wrapped to provide each guest with a fresh and sanitary item.

Thank you again for your posting on TripAdvisor!

All the Best
Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@Hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites in July during a quick visit to Furman University. I must admit, that although we loved Furman, we absolutely fell deeply in love with downtown Greenville! The falls and the shops and the restaurants--all reasonably priced and unique--just make it a delightful place to go. And the Hampton Inn is right in the middle of it all. We had a circular view suite, which was beautiful and quiet although not large. The hotel staff was extremely professional, and valet service was exceptional (worth the cost). The breakfast was efficient and good (not outstanding)--most guests were business people as it was during the week. The nicely decorated lobby was small and the small food/drink shop was well-stocked (bottles of nice wine) with snacks and soft drinks. Our only regret was that there was no pool or hot tub, but being within walking distance to the great restaurants and shops made it all worthwhile. The people I met in the shops were friendly and gracious (most had a Furman connection). If you have never been to Greenville, you're in for a treat--be sure and make some time to explore! The area was rated l#7 last week on the list of "Best Main Streets in the United States" by Parade magazine. I agree!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have a view of the river and are probably a bit less expensive than a suite. But suit...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CST2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear CST2014,

Thank you for being our guest recently at our Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Greenville. I am glad we were able to be your home away from home while you were in the area visiting Furman University. We have many guests stay with us who have an affiliation with Furman, especially during this time of year as students prepare to come back to school. I am glad to see how well our staff took care of your during your stay and how much you enjoyed our amenities! If you are in the market for a college for your son/daughter, we hope you choose Furman so that you can enjoy more of our wonderful Main Street in Greenville!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is located on the River walk and just off Main Street. The location is great, for walking along the river, or down Main Street for dining, and shopping. Many restaurants from Sports to high end Steak House. Once you get to the hotel everything is in walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Richard B,

Thank you for being our guest recently! We appreciate you taking time to complete a TripAdvisor review of our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville. You have perfectly described the downtown area where our hotel sets. Our hotel offers wonderful rooms with a view of the Reedy river and rooms with balconies that look out over the surrounding downtown area. We have many tasty restaurants within walking distance that are sure to satisfy each of our guests tastes! Thank you again and we hope to see you during your next trip into the upstate!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#15 of 64 in Greenville
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#10 of 64 in Greenville
636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: £128 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing