We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2007

This hotel is not like the typical Hampton Inn. This hotel is far more like a "real" downtown business class hotel. Very nice modern lobby with an excellent location right on the river. It seems more like a Hilton, Sheraton or Weston than a typical Hampton Inn. It also has pretty reasonable rates. The only hassle is parking - they are next to a parking garage and there is a fee. However, that is typical of downtown hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2007

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Hampton Inn Downtown in Greenville. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay! The room was tastefully furnished, immaculately clean and the location was very convenient to downtown shops, restaurants and performing arts centers. This facility is also located across the street from Falls Park on the Reedy River, which was a wonderful little park to see. The staff were very accomodating and welcoming, seeing to our every need. A parking deck ($6 daily) is located beneath the hotel, so we always had covered parking in a safe location. If you decide to stay at this location in the near future, be advised that there is a new building construction going on next door to the hotel, but we were never bothered by the noise of construction.

A little tip when visiting Greenville - be sure to check out Soby's on the Side Cafe, which is just two blocks from the hotel. The soups and sandwiches there are EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CSmithATLGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2007

what a nice hotel. i basically went for a weekend getaway to greenville to see the downtown area and enjoy the arts in the area. i must say this hotel exceeded in every detail. from the comfy beds to the welll supplied toilteries it has it all! the hotel sits at the base of reedy falls river park. it is a great little hideaway from the everday hussle and buslle of city life. the view from my room was great of the waterfalls and river area although i was not in an riverfront room. they are more expensive and most do not have a balcony on the river so they did find me a balco0ny room on the side with still a great view and little balcony complete with nice chairs to sit and watch the river life come alive! it is definetley a good hotel and will keep it in mind if i ever go back to greenville for a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rodney1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

I loved the Hampton Inn Riverwalk. I was in Greenville for a show at the Peace Center. The "backyard" of the hotel was Reedy River Falls Park. It had a wonderful scenic walkway along the river and waterfalls. The Peace Center was a block away, a very easy walk. I wish it had not been raining, as I would have like to walk more around this area, it was that lovely!

The hotel seemed relatively new. Parking was in an adjacent deck owned by the city, so a $6 dollar fee was added to hotel bill to cover this. Free cookies, coffee, and bottled water was available at all times. The breakfast was the usual breads, fruit and cereal along with French toast sticks and sausage. Coffee was hot and delicious. Breakfast was served downstairs from 6am to 10 am.

The room was wonderful. My view was of the parking deck, but I was not there to stay in my room. There are rooms overlooking the river, and I could have booked a circular glass enclosed room, but it was more than I was willing to pay for 1 night of sleep. The bathroom was good size with tile foors and marble countertops. Very modern, clean design. Lots of fluffy towels, and a large assortment of toiletries. The room had a large, flat panel TV, a desk and chair, lots of lighting, and a lap desk. The bed was FABULOUS. I love the bedding in all of the Hampton Inns. I did not want to get up out of bed the next morning. The mattress feels like a feather bed, and the comforter felt like heaven. Even the pillows were labeled firm and soft (2 of each) and a small body pillow. So comfortable.

I would not hesistate to stay here again. It is in a wonderful location, the rooms are fantastic, and service was great. Anytime I needed directions or info, they were very patient and helpful, even while working a busy check in desk. I hope next time I stay I can walk around the River Falls behind the hotel and enjoy without the rain.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mtinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HFG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Cristina187497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#15 of 64 in Greenville
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#10 of 64 in Greenville
635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: £129 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing