We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ate there for Brunch, Eggs Benedict w/ old dry OVER-SALTY ham! Disgusting!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Halls Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 900 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Halls Chophouse is a family steakhouse restaurant originated in the Upper King District of Charleston, South Carolina. We value hospitality, superior American cuisine and a dining experience that guests revere. Special Features: Gluten-Free Friendly, Vegan and Vegetarian Friendly, Happy Hour, Kid Friendly, Romantic, Late Night, Live Music. Bar opens at 4:00pm, Dinner Service at 5:00pm. Dinner is served until 11:00 pm during the week, 12:00am on Friday and Saturday. Our menu features She Crab Soup, Oysters on the Half Shell, and Fried Calamari just to name a few dishes. Our extensive wine menu features over 100 of the most exclusive wines one may find.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
279 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Ate there for Brunch, Eggs Benedict w/ old dry OVER-SALTY ham! Disgusting!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ate brunch on a Sunday and ordered eggs benedict. The ham was old, dry, smelled, and was way way salty! Ham was NOT edible. Not worth the $12 cost although service was excellent. Manager came by to ask how meal was, and comp'd the benedict due to the disgusting ham - although he insisted their ingredients were always fresh. Maybe HE should eat the food once in awhile, specifically, the ham on the Eggs benedict. is Gross!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimB_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    118
    67
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If you are a "foodie", avoid this tourist trap ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I just don't understand how this establishment can pull off being upscale. Yes the location is incredible in Greenville. Yes the lights and layout are nice. However, the food quality and service are very low end. The servers are all "one step up from low end" wait staff. Their knowledge of wines, the menu particulars, chef specialties, etc., are minimal. Our waitress only knew Red or White wine. She didn't understand the menu. And the food itself was undercooked, poorly prepared, and they main courses were not served together. A full 5 minute wait for my wife's meal so thus mine was cold before her's arrived. Recommendation; do NOT pay for this location. Until the owners take food quality and service professionalism seriously, this place is an overpriced tourist trap.

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Falls, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Dinner was fantastic. They were told about our anniversary by the hotel and mentioned it along with a comp dessert! Rack of lamb was delicious and my wife's fillet was perfectly cooked.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place for Drinks and Quick Bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped by High Cotton for drinks and a quick bite before going to a wedding. We sat at the bar and enjoyed the company of the other guests and bartender. The service was very good and we enjoyed our selection of appetizers. We will definitely be back when we are in town again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlestonGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as the original”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've dined at High Cotton in Charleston and it was fabulous - like a photocopy of an original, the Greenville version didn't quite live up to the original. My son and I went for seafood, but the limited selection didn't appeal to either of us - so we had steaks instead.

We started with the fried green tomatoes which were OK, but not great. My filet was cooked perfectly and the blue cheese gratin added a terrific flavor. I was very happy with my selection of the filet over perfectly cooked asparagus. My son had the New York Strip and his steak wasn't quite as good. He said it had great flavor, but had too much gristle.

The service was very good, with a slight miss when I had to remind my waitress to bring the glass of wine that I had asked be brought out with my dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bajaboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halls Chophouse also viewed

 

Been to Halls Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing