We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DC Metro Area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We've stayed at a lot of B&Bs over the years, but whenever we think of them, Pettigru Place always zooms to the top of our list of favorites. We first stayed there when our son was a sophomore at Furman University -- nearly 10 years ago -- and never stayed anywhere else on our frequent trips to Greenville. Unfortunately, our son is now in Florida and we haven't been able to make it back to Greenville in many years. One day we will return, and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. We always felt like we were coming to our home away from home and always hated to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    14
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
134
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Pettigru Place is on the top of our list for bed and breakfasts - and we stay in many. The house was beautifully decorated, but very comfortable - even a room set up for puzzle working. Close proximity to the town. The breaksfasts were outstanding - we stayed for three breakfasts and was overwhelmed at the creativity and taste. But our more fond memory is about the owner, Lori. She is world class, talked with us over wine and cheese, provided information about the city, relocation advice. The owners are what make a bed and breakfast stay special and she did. We certainly hope to return sometime in the future and fatten up on some of that french toast!
Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Recently, I traveled to Greenville for their yearly Euphoria food and wine festival with 4 other girlfriends. We opted for Pettigru B&B and we weren't disappointed!

This historic B&B is a short walk (8-10min) from downtown Main street. The house is very well kept and the owner, Lori (or Lauire) was friendly and welcoming. We arrived a bit early and we asked for some suggestions for brunch near by while the rooms were still being cleaned. She was cheerful and happy to assist.

This B&B has 5 rooms, 4 on second floor and one on bottom floor. I got to see 3 of the 4 rooms located upstairs and each one was cozy looking and well decorated with their own themes. Each has it's own bathroom as well which is a great convenience for all guests. The largest bedroom has a private balcony which was large enough to fit the 5 of us comfortably.

Lori offers a happy hour with cheese, crackers and fruit with domestic beer or wine. We had this in the sitting room the first night that we arrived and it made us immediately feel welcome and like the house was all ours.

Each morning breakfast is served when you like and is enough to keep you satisfied well into lunch time. Upstairs you'll find a fridge, coffee makers and homemade cookies to snack on.

I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone and next time I'm in Greenville, I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask how big the room is, one of the 3 upstairs was much smaller than the others but ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barboursville, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was my first time staying at a B&B and I loved it! It was very clean and the decor was just beautiful. The hospitality was wonderful and breakfast was fantastic. If I am ever in the Greenville area again, I would definitely stay at Pettigru Place!

Room Tip: I stayed in The Green Room and would request this room on a future visit. It has a separate sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Over the past 26 years of marriage, we've stayed in several B&B's and Pettigru Place tops them all for food, hospitality, and comfort! (The bed was so comfortable we wanted to take it home with us!) We're considering re-locating from the Northeast to the Greenville area and we picked Pettigru Place as our "base" as we toured around the Upstate area. We could not have made a better selection! We were looking for a place that was restful and just "lovely". That is Pettigru Place. What a treat! The breakfasts were truly gourmet (the "Golden Souffle" with berries was scrumptious!). The staff was warm and friendly. We just felt so welcome there. Also, loved the "dessert" puzzle on the felt board in the side room where anyone in the house could "tinker" with it if they wanted to take on the challenge. Thank you, Lori and staff, for being such wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butch_and_KJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level Contributor
218 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The b&b is situated close to main st greenville and the falls parks. The b&b is exceptionally well maintained inside and out. The staff are friendly and always offering there assistance. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. It has the class of European hotels and elegance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyBenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDERSON
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed in Bed and Breakfast establishments in several different cities.
Pettigru Place is among one of the best that we have been in.
The setting is lovely. When walking up to Pettigru Place, the grounds are inviting and pretty. There are flowers everywhere. The yard is well kept and in great condition. It seems as if you are walking in a small English garden (or how I imagine such a garden would be like).

We were met, at the front door, by the manager she was friendly and welcoming. She walked us to our room and gave us information along the way.
I love antiques and there are really pretty antiques on display, as well as, an antique refrigerator being used to chill sodas, at the top of the stairs. That was such a neat and unexpected touch!

In the hallway, there is a station where guests can make fresh coffee (a Keurig is there). The owner had some really good oatmeal chocolate chip cookies on the little coffee station. They were so good, I had to make sure I only ate two. I was tempted to have more.
There are also other breverages available, for guests.

Before we arrived, Lori emailed to ask if we had any dietary restrictions. I was pleased and impressed that she remembered what we told her.
The breakfast was outstanding. We also shared breakfast with other guests (which is one of the bonuses of eating at a B&B) everyone seemed to be relaxed and Lori made sure that there was plenty of coffee, juice, and fresh fruit to go around. We had french toast and a creme brulee that was just outstanding. The breakfast along is worth the stay.

Our room was so charming and peaceful. We stayed in the Rosamunde room. The adjoining bathroom had a claw foot tub! I was so excited about it, I could hardly wait to use it. The shower head was great, according to my husband. The room is not very spacious, so, if you need a larger room, you might need to enquire about another one. The space was large enough for me and my husband. He is a taller and larger man, if that is helpful.

Lori brought up some cheese, grapes and we had a nice tea on the evening that we arrived ( she also offered wine so I know that this is an option).

I cannot say enough good things about our experience here. It has been a rather trying last few weeks and coming to Pettigru Place was a welcome respite.
The host was friendly and welcoming. Our room was tranquil and really pretty.
Everything looked clean and well cared for.
We had a wonderful time and I would recommend this B&B to anyone in the area.
I will say that from the Rosamunde Room, I could hear people when they arrived at the B&B around ten in the evening but the noise level was not high it was just noticable.

I hope to visit thisPettigru Place again. It was amazing I hate to continue complimenting this place, as I want my review to seem objective. However, they truly went out their way to ensure that our stay was as positive as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.6 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#14 of 64 in Greenville
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.6 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#17 of 64 in Greenville
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 302 Pettigru St, Greenville, SC 29601-3113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the heart of downtown Greenville, South Carolina surrounded by the gracious homes of the Pettigru Historic District. This perfect romantic getaway features beautifully appointed common rooms, six luxurious guest rooms, and a wonderful English garden providing superb Greenville lodging in the northwest corner of Upstate South Carolina. More than just a hotel, the inn will immediately make you feel right at home as the innkeeper greets you with a smile. You will soon be tucked away in your room relaxing while enjoying a glass of wine and cheese board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pettigru Place Hotel Greenville
Pettigru Place b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing