We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad business practice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad business practice”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We made reservations to meet with another couple in Greenville and chose this property. About 3 1/2 weeks before our planned get-away, we had some bad news that precluded our trip and we immediately called to cancel our reservations. We were told the room deposit was non-refundable, and we understood that. We only asked that the deposit be held to be applied when we rescheduled a new date. We were told "it was too much trouble to keep track of, so we had to forfeit our deposits."

This is such a demeaning attitude and certainly says a lot about the lack of business sense of this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pettigru, Owner at Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Mary A.,

I am sorry that we were not able to reschedule your trip. We charge a nominal deposit of $25 per booking, only to avoid people taking advantage of our reservation system. When someone has a legitimate reason to cancel, like you, we try and transfer the deposit to the new date of arrival. If no alternate date is available, we have no way of keeping track of that deposit. I hate that this came across as being demeaning. We love our guests and want them to feel important in all our interactions.

Enjoy your travels, wherever the road leads you,
Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    14
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
134
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Me and a girl friend went to this bed and breakfast to getaway. It is very nice, quite, pretty and a great place to stay. You will want to return all the time. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. There are rooms with wonderful private patios. The breakfast is fantastic and homemade.

Room Tip: Rooms with a private patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pettigru, Owner at Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We are so glad you ladies enjoyed your visit. It's always nice to have a relaxing getaway with a beautiful location, yummy food, and great friends. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Beautiful B&B! Tastefully decorated and spotless! Perfect location for visiting downtown. Lori, the owner was so friendly and helpful during our visit. She showed us to our room and served afternoon snacks. We are considering relocating to Greenville and Lori provided so much useful information for us during our stay. Our room, the Carolinian, was so romantic. The balcony off the bedroom was wonderful as well as the jacuzzi. Breakfast was delicious. We fell in love with Greenville and Pettigru Place! We will definitely return for a stay during our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb8167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC Metro Area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We've stayed at a lot of B&Bs over the years, but whenever we think of them, Pettigru Place always zooms to the top of our list of favorites. We first stayed there when our son was a sophomore at Furman University -- nearly 10 years ago -- and never stayed anywhere else on our frequent trips to Greenville. Unfortunately, our son is now in Florida and we haven't been able to make it back to Greenville in many years. One day we will return, and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. We always felt like we were coming to our home away from home and always hated to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Pettigru Place is on the top of our list for bed and breakfasts - and we stay in many. The house was beautifully decorated, but very comfortable - even a room set up for puzzle working. Close proximity to the town. The breaksfasts were outstanding - we stayed for three breakfasts and was overwhelmed at the creativity and taste. But our more fond memory is about the owner, Lori. She is world class, talked with us over wine and cheese, provided information about the city, relocation advice. The owners are what make a bed and breakfast stay special and she did. We certainly hope to return sometime in the future and fatten up on some of that french toast!
Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Recently, I traveled to Greenville for their yearly Euphoria food and wine festival with 4 other girlfriends. We opted for Pettigru B&B and we weren't disappointed!

This historic B&B is a short walk (8-10min) from downtown Main street. The house is very well kept and the owner, Lori (or Lauire) was friendly and welcoming. We arrived a bit early and we asked for some suggestions for brunch near by while the rooms were still being cleaned. She was cheerful and happy to assist.

This B&B has 5 rooms, 4 on second floor and one on bottom floor. I got to see 3 of the 4 rooms located upstairs and each one was cozy looking and well decorated with their own themes. Each has it's own bathroom as well which is a great convenience for all guests. The largest bedroom has a private balcony which was large enough to fit the 5 of us comfortably.

Lori offers a happy hour with cheese, crackers and fruit with domestic beer or wine. We had this in the sitting room the first night that we arrived and it made us immediately feel welcome and like the house was all ours.

Each morning breakfast is served when you like and is enough to keep you satisfied well into lunch time. Upstairs you'll find a fridge, coffee makers and homemade cookies to snack on.

I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone and next time I'm in Greenville, I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask how big the room is, one of the 3 upstairs was much smaller than the others but ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barboursville, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was my first time staying at a B&B and I loved it! It was very clean and the decor was just beautiful. The hospitality was wonderful and breakfast was fantastic. If I am ever in the Greenville area again, I would definitely stay at Pettigru Place!

Room Tip: I stayed in The Green Room and would request this room on a future visit. It has a separate sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.6 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#12 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.6 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#17 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 302 Pettigru St, Greenville, SC 29601-3113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the heart of downtown Greenville, South Carolina surrounded by the gracious homes of the Pettigru Historic District. This perfect romantic getaway features beautifully appointed common rooms, six luxurious guest rooms, and a wonderful English garden providing superb Greenville lodging in the northwest corner of Upstate South Carolina. More than just a hotel, the inn will immediately make you feel right at home as the innkeeper greets you with a smile. You will soon be tucked away in your room relaxing while enjoying a glass of wine and cheese board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pettigru Place Hotel Greenville
Pettigru Place b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing