We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place to Rest Your Weary Bones”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Rest Your Weary Bones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

On our visit to Greenville, my wife and I had occasion to stay at the Pettigru Inn. Our stay could not have been better! Owner (Lori) and staff are very warm and friendly. Lori is extremely knowledgable about the area and provided us with local maps to get around town. The location of this bed and breakfast is ideal. It is close to all the interesting sights. If you are planning a trip to Greenville give this place a try. It is much more friendly and comfortable than any hotel!

One another thing! The BREAKFASTS ARE OUTSTANDING GOURMET!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank BILLB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    14
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
131
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tunnel Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2008

This is the best place to stay. We had to arrive late due to our work schedule but Lori was waiting for us. She got us a glass of wine and let us relax in our room.
Very comfortable room with plenty of hot water and very clean. Wine with cheese and cracker plus pleasant conversation every afternoon.
Lori was nice but never intrusive.
Great location to walk to downtown Greenville, We will stay here again.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

Pettigru Place is very pretty and even more so after driving in from Birmingham. It was a good decision to stop in Greenville especially when I was shown a delightful room... then offered an afternoon repast. Which was served to me in the garden. Loved it!

There was a room of books and magazines if I wanted to read. MY room had a TV. My bath was large.

Breakfast was a lovely meal of fruit and a perfect soufflé ...which Jenn timed to your stated arrival for breakfast. Yummers!

Lori , the Inn Keeper is a perfect hostess.
Tea, coffee and cookies abound just for you.
Off street parking . Close to town.
Can you find the church with the Tiffany window?
Stay here. Value for your money.

  • Liked — A beautiful day and stetting and meal!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloriaMunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

From the flexibility of the host for our late arrival (flight delays) to the restaurant recommendations to the rooms with attention to detail to the thick towels to the many beverages available to drink to the fab breakfast, we cannot say enough about this experience at Pettigru Place. Walked into downtown several times - a little exercise, but not too far. The historic neighborhood was a pretty setting for this B&B. We have stayed at many B&B's thru the years and I feel that Lori was the perfect blend of friendlness but not intrusive. The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful! Our room and bath was attractive and very comfortable. My hubby purchased the romantic package - choco-dipped strawberries, wonderful heart-shaped cheesecake, and gorgeous roses! Would absolutely recommend this B&B - much better than an impersonal hotel. Lori also gave us a B&B book that after 3 stays at a SC or NC B&B, we can enter a drawing. Appreciate the extra effort. Grounds and gardens are beatiful, too.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totallytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

We just returned from a four day stay at the Pettigru Bed & Breakfast and the entire experience was first class and in our opinion, no hotel could come close to providing the type of personal service, wonderful atmosphere and above all, the food we found at Pettigru's. We have stayed at five star hotels that could not match what this B&B offers.

My husband had never stayed in a B&B and was a little apprehensive about this experience, but his parting words " I will never stay anywhere else based on this experience" says it all.

The charm and warmth of the owner was obvious from the moment we arrived. After showing us our loveley accomodations, she served us a glass of wine and provided us with great information on the Greenville area. She also provided us with maps, flyers and magazines for the area. What a help, since we had never visited the area before.

We can not say enough about the food and the thoughful little things like the jar filled with home made cookies and the hot or cold drinks always available to us. The breakfasts were truly amazing with wonderful fresh fruit and main courses to die for. They were served in a lovely dining area filled with warmth and charm that over looked the beautiful gardens. We recieved such personal service and the owner was never too busy to help answer any questions we had or provide additional directions to shopping areas etc. Her staff was also extremely friendly and helpful and everyone treated us like family which immediately made us feel comfortable and at home. If you are visiting the Greeenville area, don't miss a truly exceptional experience and stay at the Pettigru B& B.

  • Liked — The food and warm atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alex097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

We just got home yesterday, and we were so sad to have to leave!!! This place is full of southern hospitality and charm. We stayed in the Green Suite, and loved it!! We were treated like family here. The food was great, and we appreciated the "bottomless cookie jar" right outside our door on the coffee station. Rooms were extremely clean and well appointed. Lori and her staff bend over backwards for you. The feather bed was very comfortable, and we slept like rocks. You can feel all of your tension melt away here. Peaceful, quiet, and just what the doctor ordered. If you pay $125 for a hotel that offers you nothing, YOU'RE CRAZY!!!!

  • Liked — Cold A/C, comfortable suites, GREAT FOOD
  • Disliked — Nothing....
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank girlwkaleidoscopeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2008

Could not have been happier with our lodging choice in Greenville. The staff was very helpful and provided us with several maps to find our way around. Restaurant recommendations were good. Especially loved the complimentary wine and cheese tray every afternoon and the ability to enjoy it in the lovely gardens! Stayed in the Brass Giraffe and loved its 1st floor location near the back door. Not alot of room but comfortable for the 4 days we were there. Breakfasts were outstanding and unique. 10-15 minute walk to downtown and always felt safe walking back at night. Definitely one of the best B&B's we have stayed at.

  • Liked — Location, staff, breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wally13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.6 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.6 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#19 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 302 Pettigru St, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the heart of downtown Greenville, South Carolina surrounded by the gracious homes of the Pettigru Historic District. This perfect romantic getaway features beautifully appointed common rooms, six luxurious guest rooms, and a wonderful English garden providing superb Greenville lodging in the northwest corner of Upstate South Carolina. More than just a hotel, the inn will immediately make you feel right at home as the innkeeper greets you with a smile. You will soon be tucked away in your room relaxing while enjoying a glass of wine and cheese board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pettigru Place b&b
Pettigru Place Hotel Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing