We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ahh the taste” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antonino Bertolo's Pizza and Wine Bar

Antonino Bertolo's Pizza and Wine Bar
Ranked #69 of 886 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The tradition of hard work and dedication with the Bertolo family began when Pete Bertolo had to start working at the age of 7 due to the sudden death of his father. At the age of 9, he became a full-time painter. At the age of 15, he and his family were driven out of Italy and chose to start a new life in America. He began working at a sewing factory in New York where he met his wife, Josephine, 4 years later. They both worked at the factory until 1977. In 1978, Pete and Josephine started from scratch a family business in Greenville, South Carolina.The success of the family business is based on both a strong work ethic and recipes steeped in Sicilian heritage. Antonino Bertolo went back to his roots and all the recipes currently being used in the restaurant can be traced back through 5 generations of Sicilian tradition. Antonino Bertolo realized the importance of the perfect balance of tomato sauce and spices when it comes to pizza sauce. The dough is made with 100% pure olive oil with a hint of honey. And Lastly, the Mozzarella cheese is still the same high quality “Grande Cheese” used when the doors opened in 1977 to give Antonino Bertolo’s Pizza its unique rich flavor. Antonino Bertolo’s signature pizza sauce uses the freshest and finest ingredients mixed together to make the perfect New York style pizza with a Sicilian influence.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ahh the taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Moved to Greenville 3 years ago from Florida and although my wife and I have tried to find the taste of our favorite pizza...until now we've been disappointed. A couple of the "New York style" places were fairly good, but they just didn't have the right thin crust or the amazingly rich & chewy mozzarella that we missed so much. We took notice of a nice selection of other menu items, however I can't see us ordering anything else on our next few trips downtown. That brings up Main Street in downtown Greenville, SC... what a wonderful place to walk, shop, and enjoy some great places to eat. Make this yours for casual Italian and delicious pizza.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Casey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    42
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I often have to visit Greenville for work. And my place of work is close to the Main St, downtown.

I make it a point to have lunch here evry time I am in Greenville. A salad and slice combo is less than $6 and the delicious pizza slice is quite large and served hot. The pizza is thin and crspy and made of regular dough.

The place has a full bar.

The service is good and provided with smile.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Midcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Staff was friendly and the pizza was on point for a late night snack. I would go there again as it's far better than hotel food and the prices are reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank TheRealW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pizza is just like back home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Some of the best pizza we have had in a long time. Just like back home in the northeast. Great staff, very friendly and interested in the customer and customer satisfaction.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

The restaurant was an easy 2 block walk from the hotel, didnt need to move the car at all. THe pizza came fast and was very good, I had the pineapple and ham special pizza. Well worth the visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank schoolcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antonino Bertolo's Pizza and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Antonino Bertolo's Pizza and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing