We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool stop on a warm day”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Smoke On The Water

Smoke On The Water
Ranked #8 of 900 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Spring Hill, Fl
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Cool stop on a warm day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

A very busy restaurant that really knows how to handle a crowd, now that just isn't as common as it should be

I had the pulled pork sandwich and a Woodchuck Cider or two. Our party of five were not only satisfied but really pleased with the service, food and drinks. Even with the noon crowd we were soon back on our way thanks to our server, Jonathan and the kitchen staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a410traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    419
    138
    37
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So-so Food, Nice patio”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had ribs and a combo platter and both were overcooked and dry. No amount of the 5 varieties of sauces could rise above that. Sides were unremarkable. I expect a lot more from a barbeque restaurant. The patio, however, was nice and a great place to watch the world walk by. Margarita was very good and very generous.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron (Portage Lakes), Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Grillin' & Chillin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were walking through downtown and followed the live acoustic guitar music to this restaurant. What a find! The evening special was 1/2 price bottle of wine night. The entrees are delicious and abundant! Such an enjoyable evening sitting on the patio, listening to great music, sipping wine and enjoying a wonderful meal & evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FiveOus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A standout among Greenville's great restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

While traveling through South Carolina, we took a short diversion into downtown Greenville. What a great surprise - a wonderful walking city with many great choices for restaurants. We asked locals for their recommendations, and Smoke on the Water was a local favorite. It was easy to see why . . . great atmosphere, inside & out; delicious food;and very friendly service. We absolutely enjoyed every aspect of our dinner. BBQ was wonderful and so were the salads and desserts. Other entrees that were delivered to neighboring tables looked equally yummy. I highly recommend this restaurant whether you're staying in Greenville or just passing by - it's worth the short drive from the interstate.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraJean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Coming Back For Seconds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I grabbed a cocktail here prior to heading down to The Peace Center for a concert. Very cool place ~ inside/outside dining. Although we were there just for cocktails ~ the parade of entrees being shuttled around the place looked and smelled fantastic. So we just HAD to at least order some cornbread (perfect). Next time (and there WILL be a next time) we'll return when we weren't on a schedule and will dive into their menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smoke On The Water also viewed

 

Been to Smoke On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing