We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thumbs Up - Oustanding Food!”

Peddler Steak House
Ranked #120 of 900 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up - Oustanding Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We visit The Peddler maybe 6 times a year. The food is outstanding! Steaks cooked to perfection. The salad bar is like no other. This restaurant has been in Greenville for many many years. It was a house converted to a restaurant with an added on porch for dining. It can be a romantic dinner or a birthday celebration..either the case..it fits the bill. The only downside of the restaurant, to me, is where the salad bar is located. It is near the kitchen and has a slight odor of dishwater, to me. I wish they would move it to another room. However, I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. It is one my favorites...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    40
    24
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Old House. Great Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

My husband and I tried this treasure last night. They do not take reservations, and as a party of two on prom night, we waited about 20 minutes after arriving at 6pm. There was a nice bar area to sit & wait. The menu was limited, but we chose some steaks (the meat cutter came out so my husband could choose his steak) and went to the salad bar. Great selection of veggies & toppings. The steaks arrived shortly after and were done perfectly... and were melt in your mouth delicious! The service was very good as well. We will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCFulcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A fabulous anniversary dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

This was our first time eating at Peddlers and we thoroughly enjoyed everything. Good service and an excellent ribeye. It was a rustic and romantic setting. We found that the little "hike" added to the charm.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmtrgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
248 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Nice Meal, Cozy Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This Peddler location is off the beaten track a bit in the woods. Inside, the atmosphere is intimate and cozy. It's a good place to have a leisurely, good meal and be able to converse without a lot of noise.

Helpful?
Thank 60742Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“O.K.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Pricy and overrated. Opens at 5PM but no seating for dinner until 6 PM. If you get there about 5:45 PM, usually an hours wait.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peddler Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Peddler Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing