We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Front Desk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Greenville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Greenville
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Front Desk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Your front desk staff was very helpful thru out our stay. Dale gave us a dinner suggestion that was fabulous. Keep up the great work! The indoor pool was the perfect temp. My room was on the 4th floor and i did not hear any noise from above which is wonderful. The ac/heating unit was no where as bad as many hotels i have stayed at recently. Loved my stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Heather, thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your visit to Greenville. Your kind review is much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. I will gladly inform Dale that his dinner recommendation suited you very well. Please come back and see us again soon. Until then, take care, and thanks again! Sincerely, Christina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    93
    23
    21
    7
See reviews for
55
38
28
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

There was renovation going on at the hotel, but it did not affect the area I was staying. The loby has several computers available. The wi-fi in the room was free (quite slow) or for a fee one can get 3MBs. I chose the free and must admit that compared to my Charter at home with 30 MBs it was very slow.The room was perfect except for no microwave.I was offered free breakfast at Ruth's steakhouse insiidew the hotel. I do not know if everyone gets the breakfast or just Elite members of IHG.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notmuchifnotDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Greenville!

Sincerely,
Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLUMBIA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel is a couple of miles away from downtown Greenville but it is right on the expressway that gets you downtown fast. The advantage to staying hear is that the rates are usually much less expensive than the downtown hotels.
The hotel has recently been renovated and is very nice inside. There is a large open lobby/bar area and the elevator is located past the lobby. Using the side entrance near the elevator is useful, especially with luggage. Our room was very attractive, clean and quiet.
Breakfast is offered in the Ruth Chris restaurant area. While the food is not prepared by Ruth Chris, the room is very pleasant and the lady who oversaw the area was extremely pleasant and helpful. Food was very good.
This is a good alternative to downtown Greenville hotels when living on a budget.

Room Tip: Join Priority Club to get upgraded rooms when available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyD777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Good stay. Comfy beds. Clean rooms. Best crown Plaza I've stayed in yet! I will be staying here again next time I am in town.

The wifi signal was very weak and spotty, may have something to do with room being on 5th floor. May need to add some more routers.?

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sirthor1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time complete a review of your stay at our property. Your feedback allows us to continually improve our service and better assist our guests. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Greenville. Thank you again, and enjoy the Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have been traveling for years and new to the reviews. I stay in Greenville a good bit and wanted to take time to say how amazing everything looks after the transformation your property has gone threw. With the sparkling new location and the wonderful team. A professional front desk that knows me by name and has taken care of me for years. It was rough during some of the constructions and I may have stayed elsewhere some, However my home away from home is back. I dont rent a car when in town and that is a major amenity that causes me to try and stay at crowne plaza and the new chariot is quite lovely, however very high and the plastic stool is a nice gesture yet with a shiny new Mercedes step bars would be a bit more appropriate and stable as an elderly gentleman from the airport about fell off the plastic stool. The extremely helpful van driver (Allen I think) and another of your guest gave aid to the older man but was still very difficult and dangerous entering and exiting. Great Job CROWN PLAZA GREENVILLE it wil be great staying with you for many years to come.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the new Crowne Plaza Greenville. Your kind review is very much appreciated and will be shared with our team. We look forward to hosting your future visits to our city. Again, many thanks, and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The renovation has given me a whole new view of the Crowne Plaza. It now looks more like a Westin, which is clean and modern - a welcome change from some of the Crowne Plazas I've run into! The rooms are well appointed, and I was pleased to find an extremely clean room (tipped the housekeeper well for that! Always tip your housekeeper!) wonderful toiletries with this "relaxation kit" that I adored -- it had a nice smelling spray in it, and some lotions. Also, a fridge!

I was extremely comfortable during my trip, and the hosts were all very pleasant and knowledgeable -- not to mention empathetic when I explained that United had lost my bag!

If I were to pull in any negatives, they would be minor -- just the breakfast select (as I understand it is not comparable to what it was previously -- and it is much smaller and less varied than the Holiday Inn breakfasts -- which are free of charge), and I would also just say that I wish all Crowne Plazas offered the same amenities such as this, so I could always know what to expect.

I will stay here again when I visit Greenville!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mulldacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for selecting the Crowne Plaza for your recent visit to Greenville. I am delighted to read your warm compliments, and I will share your comments with our team. We look forward to serving you on your next stay. Thank you again, and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel is good and comfortable for the price. However, there is a major issue with connectivity if you dont have your own car. Although they have a hotel provided shuttle service, there is just one of it with far too many guests and rules like "we dont go to downtown on the weekend". To make matters worse, the taxi company (yellow cabs) used by the hotel is very unprofessional. Twice, i got late for meetings because the taxi didn't turn up on time. On a particular day, i had to go to a place that was 3 miles away and the cabs didnt want to go there. The only option given to me by the hotel was a 50$ ride for 3 miles!! Again, the hotel is not willing to help here other than dial me a number and ask me to talk to the cab company.
This is not a good place for vegetarians as there are no veggie options (even the breakfast has no options) other than going to the haywood mall for which again one has to rely on the hotel shuttle.
I would not recommend this place for people who dont have their own rental car.

Ps: If you have to use cabs, use Budget Cabs

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuj O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Greenville, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your recent visit to Greenville. Your feedback is extrememly valuable, and assists us in better serving our guests everyday. I regret that the shuttle service offered by the hotel did not meet your expectations. Please know that your comments regarding the cab services and breakfast options will also be addressed.

We sincerely hope for another opportunity to serve you. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and we hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road
1.7 mi away
Hilton Greenville
Hilton Greenville
#13 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#4 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Haywood Mall
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Greenville
Candlewood Suites Greenville
#25 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Greenville
Hyatt Place Greenville
#15 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Greenville

Property: Crowne Plaza Greenville
Address: 851 Congaree Road, I-385 exit 37, Greenville, SC 29607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#14 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Greenville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza hotel is located directly off Greenville's I-385 inner loop 8 miles from Greenville- Spartanburg airport (GSP). Just minutes from Greenville's vibrant uptown entertainment and dining district, the Bon Secours Wellness Arena and T.D. Convention Center with plenty of free parking for cars & motor coaches. Complimentary shuttle service is provided to the airport, downtown Greenville and within a 5 mile radius of the hotel from 6am- -11pm.Downtown shuttle service is not available after 5pm on Friday or on Saturday.Just up the street from the Haywood Shopping Mall with a wide variety of dining options close by.Your will enjoy 202 beautify appointed deluxe king and double bedded rooms all with Crowne Plaza's plush pillow top Sleep Advantage beds. For your comfort and enjoyment we provide the following amenities and services... 5MB of Complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet Service in all guest rooms and public areas ,24 hour fitness center,Indoor heated pool for year round enjoyment ,Room service form 6am -11pm daily,The award winning Ruth's Chris steakhouse located in the hotel. Our lobby lounge and all day dining room located in the hotels sky- lit atrium provides all day dining with a great selection of appetizers, sandwiches salads and your favorite beverages • National Winner of Crowne Plaza Hotel's Quality Excellence Award. Ruth's Chris provides all food and beverage service throughout the hotel including room service, all day dining and banquets and of course visit their main dining room to enjoy their famous mouth watering custom aged Midwestern beef broiled to perfection. The Crowne Plaza is the "The Place to Meet" with over 7,000 sq.Ft. Of event space, the hotel can host meetings and banquet from 10-400 guests and earn IHG Meeting Rewards Points for your events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Greenville Hotel Greenville
Greenville Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing