We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Close to great restaurants within walking distance. And that's a good thing because the food was mediocre at best. Seems like a lot of out of the box food and little cooked in house. Other than that, room was clean and very spacious. Great atmosphere with a huge mural tv that plays landscapes during the day and games at night. People are friendly and price is ok for a Hyatt

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelG418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenville, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to complete a review on your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your visit and our hotel's convenient location. We apologize for your disappointment with the food, but we want to ensure you that the food we serve is freshly prepared from scratch on a daily basis.

We hope you will return soon and give us another try. Contact me personally and I will assist you with your experience at Roost. I'm sure you'll love it the next time.

Larry Bell
larry.bell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    279
    136
    65
    30
See reviews for
199
187
28
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ooltewah, TN
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Hyatt Regency in Greenville, SC. YES- it was one of the more expensive hotel nights we've ever spent- but this may be the best hotel we've ever used. From the vallet parking to a quick check in- just perfect. The room was quiet- comfortable, and the baby grand piano was an amazing surprise.... If you're looking for a very special place..... and a great night's sleep... this one is the best. Now for the negative.... Greenville has some one way streets, and the hotel entrance is NOT on Main Street..... so expect to wander around- seeing where you want to be- but not getting there on the first try. Billooltewah

Room Tip: If you are arriving by car- search out the exact street you need- and alternates. There are many o...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has a warm and friendly environment..... not sure it's saving the planet- but it's sure a fun place.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billooltewah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenville, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
First off, congratulations on your 30th Anniversary! I am about to celebrate my 33rd Anniversary soon, so I understand how important your weekend was to you. Also, thank you for taking the time to post your outstanding review of our hotel on this website. We appreciate you sharing with other potential guests what you enjoyed about our hotel.

One suggestion, on your next trip here you can use the direction feature on our website to make you a customized set of directions from your driveway to our front door. We hope to see you again soon, please don't wait for your next special occasion.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

The Hyatt Regency is a very nice hotel. The staff is great and the conference rooms were great too. The room I had was lovely - the bed and pillows were terrific - I had a great night's sleep. The only reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars was because there wasn't much counter space in the bathroom. I'm a girl and have lots of products lol! That is my only negative. Everything else was wonderful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MiddyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenville, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Middy Blue,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your experience on this website. We appreciate your comments about the comfort of our Hyatt "Grand Bed." It is hard to beat those posture-pedic mattresses and high thread count sheets for a great night's sleep.

Finally, as for the counter space in your bathroom, please let us know you are coming before your next visit as I am confident we can find you a different room configuration that will meet your needs for space for your cosmetics and other items.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Hyatt as part of trip to move my daughter home from Clemson University. The room was spacious and comfortable, the staff was very welcoming and location is fabulous...central to all the "happenings" on Main Street in Greenville. If you arrive on Friday, they have great street fair with music and food and centered around the Hyatt.
We've stayed several times and never disappointed. I found the hotel to be very clean, well maintained and fresh from a new renovation. Property looks great and great place to stay for enjoyment in Greenville!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank progersCharlestonSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenville, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your outstanding review of the Hyatt Regency Greenville. We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent visit and look forward to your return trip in the fall with your daughter when she starts her fall semester at Clemson.

We will share your nice comments with our team and they'll be excited about your great experience with us.


Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you want a quick summary, this is the worst Hyatt I have ever stayed in. And this is coming from a Hyatt Platinum member.

Starting with a drive that is completely out of control. The valets have no idea what they are doing. We waited 20 minutes to get someone to park the car because people were just leaving their cars wherever and the limo drivers were blocking traffic. A complete abomination.

Then we finally got to the door, there was no bellman in sight even though it was about 10:30 at night. A security guard went in and got us a luggage trolley for our bags, but had to argue with a bellman hiding in their booth about giving us the trolley.

I had reserved a king room and a double room. They had no kings left; one of the two doubles was a handicapped room, which I absolutely hate to stay in. And we were on different floors.

We left the following day around noon with a quick stop back to change clothes and out again. In the cafe an order of hummus and crab appetizer took an hour to get served. Later that day, my guests ordered room service which never showed up before we had to leave, so the order was canceled.

When we arrived back that night, one of the rooms had not been serviced at all. Beds unmade, garbage not emptied,towels not refreshed, nothing. It was late enough that calling for someone on night duty to clear the room would have been a worthless exercise.

On Sunday morning we went to breakfast at 9 to beat the mothers day brunch crowd. It took us one and a half hours to get our breakfast and pay our check. The waiter would appear and then disappear somewhere else in the restaurant for 15-20 minutes. Never checked with us to see if we liked the meal, never gave us more coffee - we got that from a busboy in the area. When we asked another server to find our server, she said she didn't know who he was and ignored us for the duration.

When I checked out and told the desk clerk about this, he apologized and made a small adjustment in our bill. He also said that they were very busy that weekend. So let's review why they were busy.

They had two weddings and a business meeting in the hotel. Not anything that popped up at the last minute. Again, it was Mother's Day on Sunday, not a surprise day of celebration, brunch, visits, etc. And finally some big art fair was going on downtown - the tenth annual. No surprise that this was going on.

So in reality, any shortcoming in service at this hotel was the fault of inadequate planning by the management, not that they got slammed at the last minute by something. The only person who apologized was the desk clerk.

Who then gave me a comment card addressed to the hotel with postage due! Talk about adding insult to injury. They obviously aren't very anxious to hear from their clientele.

I will NEVER stay in this hotel again. The abominable service far outweighs the convenience of being downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenville, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent visit to our hotel. Obviously, it is embarrassing to read about your experience and based on your remarks, your frustration with us is entirely understandable.

I'd like to sincerely apologize for causing you and your family such a miserable weekend. Although you might not believe it after your experience with us, we do take these reviews very seriously and have discussed your comments about your stay with our team so that we will perform much better in the future.

Finally and perhaps most importantly, I would be happy to discuss the situation with you and do my best to make things right for you on an individual basis. Should you read this response, I would welcome an email from you so that we can talk.

Larry Bell
larry.bell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Nice lobby but you don't get to sleep there sad to say. You will hear LOUD slamming of very heavy room doors from housekeeping and guests all day and night. The light around the bathroom mirror, which does not turn off, will light up your room making it difficult to sleep. The 'adjoining" room door is so thin that you can hear every word spoken in the room. Housekeeping bangs the walls and slams doors with no regard for their guests. Thankfully we are leaving tomorrow.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overdoityks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate S, Director of Operations at Hyatt Regency Greenville, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
overdoityks,

I am terribly sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience dealing with the noise that disrupted your stay. It is always our goal that all of our guests receive a peaceful and restful stay with us. I apologize for falling short of that expectation, I hope that at some point you will return to find that your visit is the exception and not the rule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
195 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I've stay at this Hyatt near Main St. in peaceful Greenville many times. The recent remodeling is fantastic, and the rooms are comfortable. In addition, it is very close to a few local eateries and other places of interest.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PTRBIGEBA364WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate S, Director of Operations at Hyatt Regency Greenville, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Ed A,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your kind words about your stay. We at the Hyatt Regency Greenville are so proud of our hotel and being a part of the downtown Greenville community. Please come back and see us when your travels allow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.3 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#17 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Greenville

Property: Hyatt Regency Greenville
Address: 220 N Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2161
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Greenville
#9 Business Hotel in Greenville
#14 Family Hotel in Greenville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Greenville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Greenville is ideally located in the heart of downtown Greenville only steps from dining, shopping, and nightlife. Enjoy the close proximity to Main St. Jazz, Downtown Alive, BI-LO Sports and Entertainment Arena, Peace Center for Performing Arts, and much more. Hyatt encompasses 328 total guest rooms, 17 luxurious suites, and 25,000 square feet of flexible meeting space featuring Greenville's largest hotel ballroom. Hyatt Regency Greenville is THE location for your next meeting or weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Greenville Hotel Greenville
Greenville Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing