We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hamer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South of the Border
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hamer
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

The place needed to be painted the food we ate was horrible do not stop there way to high on everything the place we ate at was clean sombrero. Bad service for a 12oz drink was $2.50 plus $2.50 for each regill

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Littlereba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    69
    46
    43
    62
See reviews for
108
65
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The last item on our week's vacation was for my family of 6 to visit South of the Border. We arrived in the morning and decided to have breakfast at The Sombrero Restaurant. The restaurant was not busy, maybe 5 tables had customer's. We ordered and waited 30+ minutes for our food. The waitress had an attitude, not all food was brought out. Had to wait on a kids meal of chicken tenders that we were told took a long time to deep fry. Hello, mother of 4, Queen of chicken fingers. The place as a whole was run down, same items in all stores (felt like I could just order from Oriental Trading Company) and no customer service...not even a "thank you" for your purchase. Ok to stop once but don't go out of your way to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamer hotels

Newark, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Straight out of 1950. The steakhouse could be a set for a period movie. Tons for the young one 5yoa to do. Excellent road food, (no really very good). Very clean deluxe room. Only complaint, the mattresses were ok but old. On the upside, no wi fi in my room so my family actually talked to each other. As long as your expectations are in line (think motel, not hotel) you will be pleasantly surprised. Everywhere we went put a smile on your face.

Room Tip: Spring for the deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Been stopping at south of the border for years and years. Mainly for the memories. Before the US 95 there was 301 for us old timers. Always something good to eat. always something to do. And always those memories. Try it. It's an institution.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JP J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

No Wifi in the rooms, old, smelly rooms. The humidity was high, the air conditioning was set on cold, very cold, and this lead tower slippery tile in the bathroom. My Dads cane went right out from under him. Tough parking for towed vehicles. No coffee in the room. Crappy customer. Last time, past this one by.

Room Tip: another hotel, somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CayoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Room was sparse and smelled funny. No microwave, no coffee maker. A cool, not cold, dorm fridge. Shower was loud and poor.
No coffee at the desk either.
The place has potential, but it's a dive. I would put it in the 25/night category.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Oldchevys4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

For many years in the late 60's and early 70's I drove down route 301 and enjoyed all the signage for about 300 miles. As a kid, my parents never would stop there, so finally 32 years ago I did and I have stopped there several times since. The rooms are now a bit dated but I got a good nights sleep. The parking was perfect. The restaurants were top notch. I feel it is good value for the money. The bed was comfortable and the a/c worked well. I will stay here again. There is lots to do if you have kids along.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamer
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Dillon
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn Dillon
Quality Inn Dillon
#1 of 7 in Dillon
78 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lumberton
Hampton Inn Lumberton
#1 of 23 in Lumberton
155 reviews
21.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 23 in Lumberton
166 reviews
21.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lumberton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South of the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South of the Border

Property: South of the Border
Address: 3346 Highway 301 North, Hamer, SC 29547
Region: United States > South Carolina > Hamer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hamer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
South Of The Border Hotel Hamer
South Of The Border Hamer
South Of The Border Motor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing