We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South of the Border
Nearby Hotels
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Economy Inn(Dillon)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
42
73
47
46
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
73
47
46
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblast from the pastmotor lodgetraveling downmilitary discountrv parkstayed one nightking roomreptile lagoonsombrero restaurantsouvenir shopstamalescarportsaunathrowbackpettelevisionrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I remember driving down to Miami Beach as a kid and visiting this place along the way when I was a kid in the 80s. Aside from new stuff they've added, it's a great flashback to when I was as kid, making sure my daughter knew that her Mom had taken a picture under the same Pedro statue when I was her age. Everything is clean and well maintained, nothing looking old or dirty, just old fashioned (and funny at that!). Stayed one night on way down to Myrtle Beach in their standard room. 1970's wood paneling on walls, drive up covered car port right in front of your room door. mini fridge with flat screen tv and cable channels. Overall perfect for a one night stay. One negative are the uncomfortable beds. Super lumpy, though clean. But if it's only one night, the $59 are well worth it! The overall place is hilarious. Shops are FILLED with touristy stuff, and the food was great. Nothing is expensive or priced over the top. Gas, pharmacy, food mart, all in SOB area, very convenient for road trips. Didn't use the pools, but they looked clean and well maintained. Great place to take fun pictures. KIDS WILL LOVE THIS PLACE. Will definitely stop here again if only for the hilarity and fun of it all.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are only $59 a night! Great for a one-night stay.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank icrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

this hotel is older circa 70's wood paneling. it was very clean pools were nice, staff very friendly. It was priced very reasonable. Plenty of rooms 2 pools restaurant next door. This is great for a stop over or mini getaway

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom-skilonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived last night late and were given 2 adjoining rooms. Smelled musty. looked like a room a hooker would rent. Blankets hard as rocks. Pillows stolen from an airplane. Bugs. Yes you heard me, BUGS in the bathroom. Slugs and some black millipede type things. Had a 3 year old to put to sleep so didn't call "consierge" (I'll get to that in a minute).... tried to sleep . We were dead tired from all the driving but the air conditioning was super SUPER loud and kept going on and off. Went to check it out and the whole panel fell off.

Ok."consierge". During checkout we told them all of the above. The manager, a young girl named Harley, was VERY rude. All she would say was "if that was the case yall shoulda cawled ain we woulda moved yall".....She said it like 6 times which is why I am able to quote her so well.

To be honest we wanted a discount because we didn't shower due to the fact that we are anti co-insect showering. No dice. The guy behind us said he went through 3 rooms before finding a clean one. With a 3 year old that's really not easy to do, (especially since we arrived at 11pm) as most parents out there will understand... plus, even without kids, if I'm paying for a place to stay, and is not a campsite, it should be insect free. I didn't even mention the mosquitos.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jedimomtrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We often stop here on our trips between PA and FL. Looks like there is remodeling going on in the motel. Fresh new exterior paint, and in the room new carpeting. Room very clean, beds clean, fresh and comfortable. Pets stayed free! The front desk help were friendly and always accommodating. We were pulling a utility trailer, and security assisted us to park easily and conveniently to our room. This exit is a one-stop deal: several restaurants, gas, shops, arcade, kiddie rides, mini-golf, and an awesome reptile lagoon. Two lovely pools for motel guests, indoor and an outdoor. Be warned, this motel retains it's retro family travel look and feel. If you want newness and flash keep going. Financially, and for fun it can't be beat. WILL stay again and again.

Room Tip: Free WIFI in the lobby and indoor pool area. One trip we stayed in a room in close proximity and we were able to use the WIFI in our room, but no guarantees.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAROL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and kids ages 10 and 6 stayed here on our way home to FL where we live, first of all the young lady at the front desk was rude, and looked and sounded bored and in no mood to be bothered, I have to admit it was kind of late when out of pure necessity we stopped at this ghost town for lack of a better word. The room had this smell that my son asked if he could sleep in the car, carpet was dirty but it looked cleaner that the blankets OMG those blankets :/ bathroom is old and there was hair in the sink yuck I would not want to stay here again!!!! Demolish this place build something new

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosie117118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews