We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy and disgusting stay at South of the Border”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hamer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South of the Border
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hamer
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Creepy and disgusting stay at South of the Border”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I needed a place to stay at the halfway point in our travels. Of course you see so many signs advertising South of the Border so we stopped there. We even drove a little farther just to get there. We were tired. My husband went in and got a room. We apparently got the "honeymoon suite" (who in their right mind would honeymoon here?). This room had an old creaky queen bed. The room looked like it had not been cleaned well in years. Carpet felt disgusting, bathroom was moldy smelling. Nothing felt clean and fresh! You park your car right at your door but I kept getting up all night to make sure our car was still there. Oh...our room had a wooden heart on the door..too funny.
We went to the cheesy gift shops to look around--dollar stores at home look like Saks compared to the junk in these stores. We were hungry but decided not to eat and went to bed hungry. There was no one in this road stop and we were afraid to go to one of their restaurants. The people that worked there were not friendly at all and made you feel very uncomfortable and not safe!
Guess we crossed that one off our bucket list but NEVER again! No recommendations to stay at a South of the Border.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    69
    46
    43
    62
See reviews for
108
65
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stopped at south of the border on our way further south...OMG it was horrible. The smell in the lobby should have given it away, and the fact that they handed us our towels at check in. We got to the room and I was disgusted. We ended up giving the key back and driving a bit further to stay somewhere else. Stay here at your own risk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jnsmom2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamer hotels

Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We only stopped for souvenirs and a restroom break. Seemed like there was a lot to do for the children. It was clean and easy to park. Kind of like Wall Drug in Wall South Dakota but not near as upscale for shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunjammerz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here June 10th 2014 on our way back to Florida. We upgraded to the "deluxe" room. If this is their upgrade, I would hate to see the regular room priced $20 less. In all fairness, the room was fairly clean and quiet. The downside is that the room needs to be painted. Also there was no alarm clock provided. The indoor pool was very nice. If you are into gift shops, this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4aces4me77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Normally we stay at Choice Hotels but thought we would give this a shot so the kids (and us) could play around at South of the Border, and we weren't disappointed. The rooms were well kept up and clean. Not the most comfortable beds but not the worst. The indoor pool was enjoyable and clean and although we didn't use it the outdoor pool looked the same. Nothing fancy but friendly staff and so much fun for the kids here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stopped here during a road trip from Maryland to South Carolina, since friends recommended South of the Border as a cute, corny place to stretch our legs. As expected, it was quite kitschy and humorous, with plenty of fun photo-ops with the quirky statues scattered around the property (dinosaurs, elephants, giant chickens, you name it). However, the place was mainly deserted and run down, and seems to be on its last legs, with a stereotypical gift shop - though it's worth stopping in for a souvenir magnet :) - and a moldy-smelling arcade. I would stop here again on a road trip due to its proximity to I-94 as a roadside stop, but only for a few hours.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GipsieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

after being sooooo tired, we checked in and we've been here many times and love it every single time; the friendliness, hospitality, cleanliness, food and activities, etc. are top notch and a great reprieve from any long drive up or down I95; my teen son had another great breakfast at the Sombrero and got an awesome dinner at Hot Tamale with huge portions; the workers r so friendly and always say hi and r always cleaning; it's a peaceful place like in the woods where u and your family can relax and there r tons of shops and activities for the kids too. we will definitely stop again; you will get a great night's sleep here and we'd stay for a week if we could.

Room Tip: rooms in the back r quieter and u will feel like u r camping listening to the crickets at night; ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nan895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamer
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Dillon
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn Dillon
Quality Inn Dillon
#1 of 7 in Dillon
77 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lumberton
Hampton Inn Lumberton
#1 of 23 in Lumberton
153 reviews
21.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 23 in Lumberton
166 reviews
19.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lumberton
Comfort Inn Lumberton
#5 of 23 in Lumberton
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South of the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South of the Border

Property: South of the Border
Address: 3346 Highway 301 North, Hamer, SC 29547
Region: United States > South Carolina > Hamer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hamer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
South Of The Border Hotel Hamer
South Of The Border Hamer
South Of The Border Motor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing