We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was really tired!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Hardeeville
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hardeeville
Vaughan, Ontario
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Was really tired!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Still driving to Florida and after the detour Maggie took us through, again, late we stopped at the first place, literally, off the highway. The front desk is ancient(I'm being kind) and when the father ahead of us said it was just to sleep after they used the pool, we decided to stay. The room provided sleep. In the morning, hubby went to check the pool and came back with a disgusted look on his face. He said the water was green and had grass in it. I refused to go see it. No funky smell in the room and the night clerk was very nice.

Room Tip: If not too tired keep going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightsInn203, Manager at Knights Inn Hardeeville, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
I saw your review on tripadvisor. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience online. It means a lot to me and the staff that you took the time from your schedule to write about your experience at the Knights Inn of Hardeeville, South Carolina. I will tell the staff about your comment.
The pool had grass clippings from the landscapers mowing.
The pool operator adduced chemicals in the morning, before the grass was cut, to
maintain proper levels so you would you clear blue water, but it takes approximately 30-40 minutes for the chemicals to affect.
Once again we would like to apologize for bad experience.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    3
    8
    35
See reviews for
23
15
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We booked a room and immediately went back to the front desk for a refund. There was a dead cockroach on the floor, the bathroom door didn't even shut, hairs in the sink.... absolutely disgusting. Then the front desk gave us a hard time about giving us a refund. We watched 3 other people leave besides us. I would never recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lndzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYLVANIA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Don't expect much and bring what you need. They have no coffee pot, no hair dryer, no ironing board, no alarm clock, no microwave and no fridge. They do have an ice bucket, but I couldn't find any ice and none of the soda machines worked. Not to complain but the carpeted floor could trip you if you weren't careful. All in all it sufficed for a place to stay to so I could visit friends in Beaufort SC and not have the hassle of a 2 1/2 hour drive from my house. one way. And oh yea they did have a 19" tv with good reception and I only killed 1 small roach. Thank goodness for Wyndham Points. One more thing I would like to add, in 2010 they had an award for the best remodeled motel. Imagine what it was like before?

Room Tip: Stay here only in a pinch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OWEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightsInn203, Manager at Knights Inn Hardeeville, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
First I want to thank you for taking time to post your comments. The management would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had gone through. We have rooms with microwaves and fridge. If you had requested that you want a room with microwave/fridge we would have given you a room with these in the room. Iron, Ironing board and dryer are available upon request. We do not have coffee pots in the room, but we serve a hot breakfast in the morning. We do not have alarm clocks in the rooms we provide a wake up service upon request. The ice machine is located in the breeze way. We are proud of the award we received and we continually strive to maintain the award status. Once again please accept our apologies THANK YOU
management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
233 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Usual booing in advance for the online discount. 2 minutes off I-95.Quite a few motels in the area so good choice of places to stay. Very nice motel, quick check-in.Very nice clean room, well-prepared, no problems, and had a good nights sleep. Plenty of eating places the other side I-95 just a couple of minutes drive away, just a Wendy's within walking distance if you want a quick bite to eat.Gets my vote.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john461212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightsInn203, General Manager at Knights Inn Hardeeville, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
I saw your review on tripadvisor. It made my day! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience online. It means a lot to me and the staff that you took the time from your schedule to write about your experience at the Knights Inn of Hardeeville, South Carolina.
I will tell the staff about your comment. They will be thrilled that they did a great job to
make your stay at Knights Inn a pleasant one.
Please inform your friends about Knights Inn and come back and see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

First off we found a dead water bug in the room and another in the shower. The AC was not working properly and the tissue box was empty. The towels are tiny and only three were provided for the two of us. The breakfast gave a new definition to the word minimal. Definitely a bottom-of-the barrel experience. Roro

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rororo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

If you want a decent hotel that will do its best to please their guests and give reasonable service so that you better enjoy your stay, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!! This place was a nightmare! Our smoke detector was hanging by wires in the room, the hinge to one side of the toilet was missing (so you slipped to one side when you sat down) the latch to the bathroom door didn't work, there were ROACHES crawling in our beds, cigarrette burns on our pillows and sheets, the tub WOULD NOT DRAIN and the maid attempted to enter our room without even knocking, thank goodness we had the door latch on. When we brought all this to the managers attention we were yelled at and made to look like liars that "should have said something when you got here" about all that was wrong and whats worse, NOTHING was done to remedy ANY of the problems we were expiriencing. Please do yourself a favor and don't stay here, they suck at what they do!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Traveled with husband and son. We were not expecting much but just a clean place to rest our head. The place was extremely dingy, the sheets were worn almost see thru and stained. The bathroom was tiny with no exaust fan. The dampness had caused bulges and cracks in the ceiling. The shower was so short that it hit about shoulder height (I'm only 5'4"). They offer a 10% discount to the Chinese buffet next door. Worst food ever! Spend a few bucks more and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go down the road to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank websta'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hardeeville
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hardeeville
Red Roof Inn Hardeeville
#4 of 12 in Hardeeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hardeeville Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hardeeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Hardeeville-Hilton Head
8.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 12 in Port Wentworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
15.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hilton Head
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Hardeeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Hardeeville

Property: Knights Inn Hardeeville
Address: 19527 Whyte Hardee Blvd, I-95 Exit 5, Hardeeville, SC 29927-5453
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Hardeeville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hardeeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Hardeeville 1.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Hardeeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hardeeville Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing