We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Holiday Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Open plan living with seating for eight around an Inglenook fireplace. 40' 4k Smart TV & Sonos.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living with seating for eight around an Inglenook fireplace. 40' 4k Smart TV & Sonos.
Outdoor pool heated all year round! 41 Mill Village - Pet friendly contemporary Cotswold stone cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Open plan living with seating for eight around an Inglenook fireplace. 40' 4k Smart TV & Sonos.
Outdoor pool heated all year round!
41 Mill Village - Pet friendly contemporary Cotswold stone cottage
The perfect getaway in both winter and summer months
Spacious and luxurious dining
Dining area leading to kitchen
Fully equipped and stocked kitchen
Master bedroom with king size oak sleigh bed
View from the master bedroom balcony over Mill Lake
Plenty of storage with space to work or relax
Family bathroom with mains fed shower over deep steel tub bath
Ensuite again with king size oak sleigh bed
Ensuite with walk in shower
Twin room with roll out trundle bed
Bunk room with full size adult singles
Pet friendly
Outside space and seating for eight
Part of the exclusive and award winning Lower Mill Estate
On site Ballihoo restaurant and bar
Equally suited for gatherings of friends or family
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Somerford Keynes, Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Callum W
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Really enjoyed our stay at 41 Mill Village. Robin (the host) is fantastic - incredibly helpful and friendly. The cottage is lovely and modern; great for dogs; lots of space fot entertaining and a lovely location surrounded by things to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
Thanks for the kind words Callum. It was a pleasure welcoming you as guests and we're glad you had such an enjoyable time... safe travels!

Rgds

Robin & Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg b
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage in beautiful and tranquil surroundings.”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Ariived on site four adults four children aged 5 to 11 and two dogs, were met by James who was very helpful with all our questions. Thoroughly enjoyed the lovely walks, wildlife and even went in the pool twice ‘in February’! Had three nights here with great log burner and plenty of kids tv and games for kids in the evening. Definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
Thanks for the lovely review Greg! We’re glad you enjoyed all the facilities and especially the new log burner. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Robin & Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic break”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Lovely cottage, there were 6 adults, 2 children and 2 dogs in our group and still plenty of space. The beds are comfy, showers excellent, kitchen well equipped. Loved having lots of footpaths very close to cottage where dogs could have a good run around - hardly saw anyone else on our walks! Play grounds close to cottage for kids also and although lots of the attractions in the area were closed due to winter season, there was still enough to do within a short walking /driving distance. On-site restaurant nice for drinks /simple food, convenient but expensive shop within. We also used the tennis courts and hired bikes from Activity Hub - staff very helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Hi Tanya

Thanks for the review and we're glad you had an enjoyable stay over New Year's and made the most of the estate and all it had to offer :)

Rgds

Robin & Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 18 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Location is pleasant but the cottage is part of a very large estate with holiday homes just about everywhere. It has a nice view of one of the lakes from the back end of the property. The cottage is a little smaller than the photos but looked as expected. It is not suitable for 8 adults. It caters for four to six adults and two or four children. Upon booking, a charge for professional cleaning was applied to the rental cost. When we arrived, the television unit was very dusty and the hoover, a large coat rail and battered ironing board had been left in a cluttered, hazardous state in the far-end of the hallway. The cottage was also freezing cold.
The heating was on a very limited timer which we were not permitted to touch and an unpleasant draft came in through both the front and back doors. We sat in our coats for most of the time. It was snowing, minus six degrees outside and we were left without heating and a bitter draft. We had logs for the fire, but no gas in the lighter provided by the cottage. It didn't make for a pleasant stay indoors. We were given a number to call should we need any help but we were then informed that the person was not available on the estate. There was a short supply of basic provisions of which we were told would be enough to start us off. We were asked to leaver earlier than the usual check out time due to other guests arriving (oh thanks)! We were not even asked if this was acceptable. After we left the property, we were then invoiced (out of a refundable deposit) for various things such as a broken toaster, an ironing board cover (which had already fallen off before we arrived) and additional cleaning. We left the place tidier than we found it and certainly didn't break anything. We booked this cottage based on the wonderful reviews but are left feeling utterly disgraced. I dislike leaving negative reviews but sadly, this was our experience. Purely about making more and providing less. Sorry to the owners but complete disregard for your guests.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2017
Thanks for getting in touch Victoria.

We're naturally disappointed you've felt the need to leave a bad review of 41 Mill particularly given the positive review you gave us via email at the end of your stay and also in writing in our guest book. The fact that not one of the points you raise above was mentioned either to us or to James who meets all our guests either after you arrived or before you left is equally disappointing to us.

Tripadvisor sadly doesn't allow us to attach a picture here but we have posted a picture of the review you left in our guest book to our Facebook page where you also left the above should anybody care to take a read.

Copying the wording here:

"Lovely location and cosy cottage. We were lucky enough to be here for 3-4 inches of snow. Although we were snowed in we had plenty of games to entertain ourselves and made plenty of use of the fire. The walks were enjoyable and it was lovely to come back inside to relax afterwards"

The decision to withhold deposit from guests is never an easy one as it always leads to a degree of bad feeling by both parties. Given the multiple issues we faced we took the very rare decision (only the second time in over 60 sets of separate guests) to withhold some of your deposit with photos of the issues provided to you. Rather than look to discuss this further with us you have instead taken the decision to post the above review to both Facebook and Tripadvisor which whilst we are disappointed about, we won't be contesting via the Tripadvisor site. We believe honesty and openness are always the best approaches with such disagreements.

There will always be glitches and we're sorry in this case we weren't able to resolve your disagreement with the charges in a more satisfactory way for you.

As Tripadvisor certificate of excellence holders (and also Air bnb superhosts and Owners Direct premium partners) we treat providing our guests with an excellent cottage with excellent service very seriously. We're 4/5* reviewed across the board as other guests will see across all the sites mentioned above.

Rgds

Robin & Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1982markb...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely winter weekend away”
Reviewed 18 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed for a weekend in Mill Village the weekend just gone. I can imagine the Estate can get rather busy in school holidays but was lovely and quiet when we visited. The outdoor pool and sauna were great fun. Lots of lively walks just from the front door. Visited nearby Cirencester for some Christmas shopping. Well appointed cottage had everything we needed. We shall return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2017
Hi Mark & Family

Thanks for the review of the area and especially of 41 Mill Village! We're really glad you all enjoyed your trip and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back next year (we've just published our rates for 2018... do take a look!).

Kind words like this make it all worthwhile. Thank you and have a super Christmas!

Rgds

Robin & Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Family Get Away”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Lower Mills Estate was well laid out, little traffic and very close by acres of nature reserve to explore on foot and by bike. The heated swimming pool was great for the kids, young and old. The house was well fitted out for 8 people and our dog was well catered for and welcome. The items in the Kitchen were just sufficient and if like me you like to cook somewhat limiting. However there was a dishwasher which was well used and kept us going, coffee maker was great but missed having a teapot. It was a really great location, and property and I would definitely recommend it. We were three generations and it worked for all of us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Hi John

Many thanks for the kind review and words. Do let us know what extra items would be appreciated as someone that cooks a lot and we'll be sure to stock up. Comment re. teapot noted and or order!

Thanks again for staying with us and the recommendation and looking forward to welcoming you back as guests in the future.

Rgds

Robin & Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rallan07
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great stay at 41 Mill. Good sized rooms, all in great condition and very family friendly. Excellent location on the development close to some lovely walks. Cottage has some great facilities with modern TV, Netflix, Amazon Prime, Nespresso machine, sonos etc. Would be great to have some outdoor storage for bikes, prams etc. Owners very friendly - lovely welcome gift when we arrived,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Hi Rob

Thanks for the review and feedback and glad you had an enjoyable stay! Yes, storage outside is a good thought. The space is there, we just need to look at logistics for attaching things externally to the house. Thanks for the idea and we'll be sure to look into it! The welcome gifts seem to be going down well and glad they were enjoyed by all!

Rgds

Robin & Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing