We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayaking”

Hilton Head Outfitters
Ranked #2 of 43 Shopping in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hilton Head Outfitters provides equipment rentals for fun-filled Hilton Head Island adventures, like biking, kayaking, canoeing, and fishing, that the whole family can enjoy. We are located inside Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort and situated right on the banks of an 11 mile lagoon.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ridgely, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kayaking”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a great time and our guide was very knowledgeable. Mixed group (adults & teens) and all had fun!! I would recommend this as a fun outing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank quilt4cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    51
    13
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Bike Service”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Thank you David for saving our inaugural bike ride today! We noticed that our brand new bikes that we had purchased made a clicking noise so we stopped by Hilton Head Outfitters to see if they could check them out and find the problem. Both David and Anthony were very friendly and completely welcoming to take a look right on the spot! Within five minutes David had my kids bikes working perfectly! I really appreciate your helpfulness and immediate attention. For a business that does the volume of rentals that they do, it's impressive that they have such great customer service. I am now very much looking forward to renting a canoe or kayak from them. Wouldn't dream of going anywhere else!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charisse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Kayaking”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a great time with a great guide. The tour was at high tide. The equipment was in excellent shape

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“They have everything you need but it comes with attitude”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very well-appointed rental facility in Palmetto Dunes. You name it, they have it. The prices are good as well. We rented bikes and a canoe. I liked that they come to pick the bikes up on the last day of your visit so you don't have to deal with that. However, that is perhaps the only convenience offered. It is run by kids who treat customers apathetically if not with distain. I suppose they are the only convenient game in town if you are staying in Palmetto Dunes so having a captive audience has lead to a lack of emphasis on customer service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmettoDunes, Manager at Hilton Head Outfitters, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent experience at Hilton Head Outfitters. We apologize that you were not treated in a courteous fashion - we do have some youngsters that are in training for the summer.
Customer service is a very important part of our business, and we strive to exceed expectations with every interaction. Clearly, we have some training yet to do with this team. Rest assured we will work with them on it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“20 lb. redfish on lagoon caught!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The fishing guide Stacy took us to where my husband caught a 20 lb. redfish, and as a guide he also provided us with wonderful little factoids about Hilton Head Island and the wildlife about the lagoon in general. I would even recommend hiring him for a couple hours just to tour the lagoon and listen to his tales of fishing, birding and Hilton Head Island history. He was amazing, and we truly enjoyed our two hour excursion on the Palmetto Dunes lagoon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank healthnmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hilton Head Outfitters also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hilton Head Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing