We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great golf course with unfriendly pro shop staff”

The Golf Courses of Palmetto Dunes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Palmetto Dunes is a thriving resort community with three popular and award-winning golf courses as well as condos, villas and vacation rentals. This oceanfront Hilton Head golf resort provides three championship golf courses to choose from: The Robert Trent Oceanfront Course, The George Fazio Course and the Arthur Hills Course!
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
307 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great golf course with unfriendly pro shop staff”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I recently played this Trent Jones course again. I have played here several times over the years while staying at Palmetto Dunes. The course is in great condition, and the renovation of a few years past has remained in top shape. However the staff inside the pro shop were, as always, brusk and business like. Unless they know you ,there is never any warmth or friendliness or indication they are glad you are playing. The starter is very friendly

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 193barryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmettoDunes, Manager at The Golf Courses of Palmetto Dunes, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for playing the Robert Trent Jones course again, and your kind comments about condition are most welcome. We regret that you did not receive the customer service you expected from the staff; it is always our goal to exceed guest expectations. Would you be willing to speak directly to the Course Manager, Nathan? He would like to get some further feedback on your experience. You may reach him directly at (843) 785-1105.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    56
    15
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Trent Jones course still one of the best on the island”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I met a friend there and it was his first time playing this course. I am glad to say the course didn't disappoint. The course is well maintained and has a great layout. It is a bit difficult as some of the carries from the blue tees require both distance and accuracy. The greens were fast but fair. I especially liked the onboard GPS as it showed the hole layout with all visible hazards. You could even touch the screen and it would give you the required distance to that area. It was a great day on the links for both of us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank adw49673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“RTJ was the best!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We played both Arthur Hills and RTJ at Palmetto Dunes. AH is very hilly and challenging. RTJ was by far the best of all that we played(Oyster Reef and Heron Pt.)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was the dearest of the 4 courses we played and in the worse condition. The tees were dry, the fairways patchy. The greens were fine though. We thought the first 9 ordinary and the second slightly better. The signature hole looking out to the ocean was just ordinary compared to other courses we have been on. It was disappointing as were so looking forward to playing it as it was the last course we were to play before coming home. Hilton head national was in much better condition and a more exciting course to play.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fayandgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmettoDunes, Manager at The Golf Courses of Palmetto Dunes, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback about playing the Robert Trent Jones course. We regret that the conditions did not meet your expectations; we have actually just closed the course for aerification, which should take care of any conditioning problems you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk region
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great courses”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our heads dropped when the girl in the pro shop said that they had cored the greens , but we should not have worried , she moved us onto one of the other courses and it was superb.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DouglasFalkirkregion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golf Courses of Palmetto Dunes also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Golf Courses of Palmetto Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing