We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOOOONG round!”

Oyster Reef Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging, but not threatening, golf course that features a collection of interesting holes including one with a beautiful coastal marsh as a backdrop.Carved out of 190 acres of breathtaking low country terrain, Oyster Reef Golf Club's spectacular 18-hole championship course is surrounded by winding lagoons, lush vegetation, and scenic views of the Island.Golf course architect Rees Jones used the natural landscape to create an inspiring course that combines challenge with a sense of fair play. Ranging from 7,014 yards from the championship tees, to 5,288 yards from the forward tees, the course rewards and tests golfers of all skill levels. Oyster Reef Golf Club is home to one of the most spectacular golf holes on the entire island, the Par 3 #6, which plays 192 yards from the championship tees to a green that is set against the backdrop of the beautiful Port Royal Sound.
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I am an average golfer and heard that this course was gorgeous. It is pretty, but lots of sand traps! A little too challenging for me! They rushed us to go to the first tee and then we sat for at least 20 minutes while three groups of 2 played in front of us. We always waited on every hole, and quit after 15 holes and 5 hours of play!

1  Thank kilroy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

It is just a fun course to play. Nothing fancy, a typical straight forward HHI kind of course. The course is well maintained and the greens are pretty challenging.

Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, General Manager at Oyster Reef Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am glad you found the course to your liking. Our superintendent takes great pride in provide wonderful greens on our Reese Jones design golf course. We hope that you come back and play at Oyster Reef again the next time you are on the Island.
Thank You,
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I love Oyster Reef. It is my favorite course on Hilton Head Island. It didn't appear that busy and we were under the impression that our golf game would be very fast as the cart guy said that he hadn't let anyone off in about an hour. Well, we get to hole one, a single in front of us, a 4 some waiting, a group on the tee, a group on the fairway AND one on the green. Back to the cart guy who said, oh, maybe the groups who started on 10 are now there. Has he never heard of asking the Marshall as to what or where people are? Fortunately the groups were good golfers and fast. The bad thing: cart paths as in horrible shape.

1  Thank ShineshineOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, General Manager at Oyster Reef Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Oyster Reef Golf Club.
I am glad that you consider Oyster Reef one of your favorite golf course when you are visisting Hilton Head. I apologize for the missed communication between our outside operations person and the starter on the day of your visit. Just to let you know, we will be starting a major cart path renovations within the next 30 days. Thanks again for your comments and feedback about Oyster Reef Golf Club. Tom Kern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

One of the better courses I've played on. Lots of bunkers ans some water. Friendly staff and well appointed clubhouse. I would play here again.

Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, General Manager at Oyster Reef Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Oyster Reef Golf Club.
We are please that you found the course challenging and met your expectations. We take pride in trying to provide a well manicured course for all of our guest. We hope you come back and play again the next time your in Hilton Head. Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The weather in December was perfect, almost 70 degrees and a slight breeze off the ocean. This course and clubhouse are well kept, the staff was welcoming and helpful. We had a 10:30 tee time and finished in under 4 hours. The course was almost empty on a weekday, providing an unhurried and very enjoyable round. The fairways are not so generous (wide), and trees line the roughs. I'd really enjoy going back.

Thank peteroo820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, General Manager at Oyster Reef Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Oyster Reef Golf Club.
We’re please that you enjoyed playing our Rees Jones Designed golf course. I am glad our staff met all of your expectations and made your visit enjoyable We hope you come back and play again the next time your in Hilton Head. Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oyster Reef Golf Club also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Oyster Reef Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing