We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful kayaking tour”

Water-Dog Outfitter Kayaking and Biking Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hilton Head Island's premier kayaking, biking, and walking tour company. Offering kayak tours on Broad Creek, Pinckney Island National Wildlife Refuge, and the May River. Also featuring bicycle and hiking tours of Pinckney Island NWR.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful kayaking tour”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The kayaking trip was excellent. James, our guide, was very knowledgeable, having grown up in the area, and was very concerned with not disturbing the dolphin, oysters, etc. It was a great experience and will definitely do it again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    3
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Kayaking tour”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We took the 2 hour tour with Patrick @ Water-Dog Outfitters and had a terrifice experience. Patrick knows the Broad Creek best. He was indentified birds, plants, had tips on reading the tides and so much more. It kept the adults in our group of 4 kayaks engaged and interested as well as the pre-teens, our one 4yr old did great, but I wouldn't recommend it if your little one gets bored quickly. It's a full 2 hours. It was much better than the Shelter Cove tour we had taken the year before. We were on the first tour of the day so had great tides and were able to kayak through the reeds. The only draw back is the equipment could stand an update. We also got a wonderful recommendation for the Old Oyster Factory restaurant - fantastic!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 12bigfish34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect area for a kayak tour”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

It was hard to find but thats how hilton head is. Our guide was very knowledgeable of broad creek and the beautiful wildlife. The tour was with other groups which made it fun to be around other guests. The tide was dropping from mid tide at the beginning so we adventured in alot of canals to find many rare birds back in the spartina grass. Jason (our guide) had a keen eye and was very entertaining with the groups. We got to see a few pods of dolphin and a mink was also scurrying over the oyster beds. Over all this will be an adventure every trip we return!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank janet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fun and informative kayaking adventure worth waking up early for.”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We are from California so getting to a location at 8 a.m. on the East Coast is like getting there at 5. But we had such a great time, we would do it again. The spot was easy to get to and our guide, Pat, already had everything ready to go. He did a quick kayaking 101 for us before we got in the water and made sure we were comfortable once on the water and that our feet pegs were adjusted properly.

As far as wildlife, we saw dolphins even before we got in the water. We saw many more during the two hours along with many types of birds our guide pointed out.

We went though the reeds of the salt marshes, then we crossed the main channel and went over to Pinckney Island and drifted down an inlet.

Our guide was a wealth of knowledge and knew all about the wildlife (both birds and marine life), as well as the plants and even local history. He was great about sharing the information and pointing everything out.

Overall, it was a great way to start the morning.

Helpful?
1 Thank ADortay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fawn Grove, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Okay sights but weak tour overall”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Took the 8:30 tour with a fairly small group of six. Equipment was a bit rundown with many of the seat backs in the singles broken. Life jackets were very worn and not well taken care of. The guide seemed to want to be in another place and we spent long periods sitting still in silence. He did not offer much info for the new kayakers as three of the six were paddling with the paddles upside down. Have been on other excursions with this group in past years and had a much better experience. hopefully it was an off day and not indicative of their norm.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kimcol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Water-Dog Outfitter Kayaking and Biking Tours also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Water-Dog Outfitter Kayaking and Biking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing