We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort food, Thai style”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruan Thai

Ruan Thai
Ranked #79 of 365 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$26
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfort food, Thai style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a wonderful meal here on a rainy evening. The service was efficient and friendly, including bringing a variety of extra hot sauces for the more adventurous in our group. The curry, the drunken noodles, and the fried rice were all right on the mark, and the assorted appetizer platter was a great way to start.

This was our third visit here, and we will continue to return regularly in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob_B_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    124
    35
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

The spicy -but not too hot- curry dish at lunch was excellent. We asked for peppers, and the 4 containers of hot spices they brought out we're flavorful and really heated up the dishes. We almost ordered some take-out to take back to the room, but we decided to return tomorrow instead. James

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jgerntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food never disappoints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Bebe, our server each time was terrific...even remembered what we ordered! Favourite items, Tom Kha soup(add coconut milk!)
Thai Garlic and Thai Ginger on the lunch menu always fabulous.
Had various numbers in our party each time(from 4 -9) and Bebe served all with friendliness and speed. The children especially loved the fried ice cream(coconut)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummmmy!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I LOVE going to this restaurant every time we come to HHI. Everything is delicious. Were I am from there is not many thai places and none can compare to Ruan. If you are looking for some great thai food, this is the place to be.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch specials! Tasty Thai Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I love Thai food. In fact, I love it so much I eat lunch at the mid-Island Ruan Thai locate outside of Palmetto Dunes a couple of times per week. The traditional Pad Thai is my favorite with chicken and soup. It is only $8.90 during lunch! Besides the Pad Thai, I order the Red Curry with extra-vegetables (without rice) and soup. All of the items served as lunch specials are full portions from the dinner menu. I highly recommend Ruan Thai if you are in the area looking for a alternative from the traditional. The servers are very attentive and the food quality is very good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayPoocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruan Thai also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ruan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing