We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bluewater Resort and Marina
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$153
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Heritage Club(Hilton Head)
US$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hilton Head(Hilton Head)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$370
US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$367
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
82
51
15
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
51
15
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverskull creek boathousebeautiful pierintercoastal waterwaygolden bearavoid traffichilton head islandminor maintenance issuesoutdoor poolsales presentationresident alligatorcart feepool towelsbasketball courtbedroom unitthe north endgreat seafood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We own time share here and found it to be nice and quiet. Very good Marina and most of the boat excursions can pick up from here. Outdoor and indoor pools are clean. Staff is friendly.
They are building a lazy river pool.

Room Tip: Third and fourth floor three bedrooms are nice
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HardSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent a week here and had a very relaxing time. From looking out over the water from your balcony to watching the sunset on a swing by the dock, the location is wonderful. The resort is smaller, but the grounds and buildings are attractive and well maintained. They are finishing a third building and putting in another pool with a lazy river, but we were not bothered by construction noises. We actually didn't hear or see many of the other guests. We stayed in a two bedroom unit, and it was very comfortable. There were restaurants and a Publix not far from the resort, and it wasn't a long drive to other parts of the island. We only went to one of the activities at the resort, but they offered a number of choices. It was a great vacation.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Batmom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent a week at The Bluewater Resort and Marina property. We did a timeshare exchange through II. The property is located distant to the main areas of Hliton Head Island. To get to the Bluewater Resort you have to drive through a depressed area of the island. There is a toll bridge to get to downtown or a much longer traffic filled road to downtown. There is no restaurant or convenience store on the property site. There are 2 lunch and dinner restaurants just down the road which were convenient but crowded. One had over an hours wait both nights we tried to go there. The other had at least a 45 minute wait. We just ate at the bar both nights.

The construction noise was inconvenient but expected based on the reviews we had read. Our biggest negative was the floor plan of the unit. We were in a 2 bedroom apartment. The living area was on the rear and had a view of the adjacent building and the pool construction site. The two bedrooms were on the front separated by the entrance door, each bedroom had only one window looking out onto the hallway. You had to keep the window treatments closed so other people did not walk by and look into the bedroom and you could not open the window for ventilation without inviting anyone else to push open the window from the hallway. The bedrooms seemed like caves because they were so dark even with the window treatments open during the day. At night the stairway lights were right outside the bedroom windows so the window treatments had to be closed as tight as possible.

The dock area is very nice. They have enough kayaks that we never saw anyone waiting to kayak. They also do not restrict where you can go in the kayaks. There was fishing equipment to check out, also a nice activity.

We love to BBQ and they have nice propane grills. The ignitors did not work. When we mentioned this at the orientation, we were told that they all worked and the batteries needed to be changed. We told the staff on two different occasions that the ignitors did not work. They told us that the batteries would be replaced that day. I doubt anyone bothered because the ignitors never worked. We bought a fire stick at the grocery store to be able to use the BBQs. The deck had a table about half the size of a folding card table with 4 chairs. 2 placemats filled the table, it was a tight squeeze for the 2 of us to eat on the deck. We had to sit salad dressing, salsa and chips on a chair. There is no way 3 or 4 people could have eaten on the deck.

Overall the staff was pleasant, the buildings new, and the construction noise manageable. They will be building for the foreseeable future with the number of buildings on their site plan. If we return to Hilton Head, we will try to stay at a different resort.

Room Tip: Units on the end of the buildings would have bedroom windows on the side of the buildings and likely have 2 windows in the bedrooms so you could open the window treatments and the windows for ventilation. There is no way to avoid the construction noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LivingLifeonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This resort is still in the process of being built; two of the three buildings are done. We did not notice too-early construction noises at all. The setting is a little out of the way from the beach area, but a quick 15 minute drive was not bad at all. We visited in late March/early April, spring break time but not too crowded. We had a 3 bedroom end-unit, which was beautiful. The one bedroom that shared a wall with another unit could hear the water running, toilet flushing etc. Nice balcony with views of the water & Pickney Island. Nice workout facilities; the indoor pool was closed at this time but we did not miss it. This resort is located right next to Hudsons Restaurant; we could literally walk there (road side, not shore line). We had one call right after we checked in about joining a timeshare sales pitch (she called it something else) but we declined, and after that just one note on the unit door, which we ignored. Each bedroom has its own bathroom, all with a tub and separate shower (pull the shower handle out to start the water; we learned this the hard way). Gated entry; free kayaks and gas grills are available for use, along with a shuffle board court, ping pong table and tether ball.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank JulieO167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Bluewater Resort was very nice. We were lucky enough to stay there for free thanks to my husbands parents timeshare. We had a two bedroom two bath room. The bathroom are awesome, large standup glass showers and jet tubs. It felt great taking hot showers after hanging out on the beach all day (we went in November so our beach days were a little chilly). Hilton Head is awesome, the way the town is set up you hardly see the buildings because they have to be so far from the road and cannot be over a certain height, and that goes for all billboards and signs too.
Two complaints, there seemed to constant construction going that stopped us from enjoying our balcony overlooking the property and had I been more familiar with the island I would have chosen to stay on the beach lined outer rim of the island instead of the inland facing side. I had fantasies of taking morning jogs on the beach that didn't happen because the inland side of the island is mostly swampish.
That being said the best part of the Bluewater marina besides the huge rooms, awesome bathrooms and nicely kept grounds with lots of activities was the delicious restaurant "Hudsons" located almost right beside us. It was very nice to have a five star dinner and be able to be in walking distance of our room.
I would recommend Bluewater for people who want a slower paced vacation. The inland side of the island seemed to calmer than the ocean side. Keep in mind the oceanside beaches are only a 5-10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews