We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stables”
Review of Lawton Stables

Lawton Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lawton Stables offers horseback riding, pony rides, a small animal farm and horse-themed gift store in the heart of the beautiful resort island of Hilton Head, South Carolina.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great stables”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went horseback riding - $65 per person/for an hour...and it was well worth it (our booties were a little sore, but we toured the trails on the island that we wouldn't have otherwise toured. And it's just a relaxing atmosphere for kids and adults to pet the animals

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    96
    29
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great way to break up beach time”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to eat. Our youngest two enjoyed the pony rides and after they fed the animals in the petting zoo. We would definitely return!

Helpful?
1 Thank susieqmississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful trail ride”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful ride thru the Forest Preserve. We booked the 7:30am ride which had a total of 6 riders. Much more enjoyable than the big groups later in the day and a lot cooler. We saw turtles, birds, and gators. This is a must every year and the staff is great!

Helpful?
2 Thank hhigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
okieland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorable treat!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our party of five enjoyed every part of the trail ride. The guides were great about maintaining order while keeping an extra eye on the kids (9 and 11) as the horses tried to establish control (in the form of willful snacking) along the way. The facility is lovely, and the animals at the petting zoo seemed quite content.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chowfunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A great escape from the beach”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We like to take a bike ride to the stables and petting zoo in the hottest part of the day to break up the day and get a little excercise. The deer was very friendly this time, let all the kids pet her. The alpaca were hilarious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lawton Stables also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Lawton Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing