We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here while golfing in October. We had a 3 BR cottage and it was excellent with los of room. Port O"Call is central to most amenities on the island. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

Having booked a one bedroom at Port O'Call I read some of the reviews here and was very concerned about a review that stated the one bedroom was very small and poorly appointed. I was afraid my wife would insist upon returning home if the one bedroom was as described. Thank god we went to check it out because it was like heaven on earth. The one bedroom unit we stayed in had one regular sized bathroom with a tub/shower combo and one over sized bathroom with a jetted tub, shower, and big closet. The bedroom was large by all standards, the kitchen was a full sized one, and the living room/dining room area was also quite large. By my estimate it was very close to a thousand square feet in all. It was one of the roomiest one bedroom units we have stayed in. It also had a balcony off the bedroom and ours happened to overlook the outdoor pool. Wireless internet access was great throughout the week, but we did happen to have a unit with it's own WAP/router.

The reviews of the restaurants we read here were right on so we got some great meals while we stayed there. The only dining problem was that we saw a Five Guys and thought it was open, but it apparently hasn't opened yet. I'm sure we will stop there for burgers on our next trip which we both are looking forward to.

Make sure you rent bikes and the best price I found was the deal through Hilton Head Bicycle which was recommended by Port O'Call. The walk to the beach only took about five minutes for my wife and I but she does walk fast and I struggle to keep up. The beaches are wonderful, the water was warm, and bike riding on the beach is great, but best done during low tide when there will be lots of open space on the beach. While the beach probably had as many people on it as a busy beach in Miami, since it was over a hundred yards wide during low tide, it seemed almost empty.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank One_Lucky_Guy_in_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

It is always nice to go back to Port O'Call. It's like a home away from home. You are nestled on a plantation with trees. There are two pools, tennis and water activities for both adults and children. The units are clean and updated. You are only a few blocks away from the ocean. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Room 103 I believe is a great room. You come off the terrace and your poolside.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chrissie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I have been going to Hilton Head for summer vacations with my husband and kids for years and this is the first time that we stayed in Port O'Call, but it won't be the last! The 2 bedroom unit that we had on the third floor (there is an elevator) was an end unit and it was perfect for us. Both bedrooms were like masters because they each had a king size bed and a master bathroom--but one of them had a door out to the living area, so we considered this one the kid's room! The kitchen was small, but functional--we don't do much cooking on vacation anyway. The floor plan was open--the dining room and living rooms (there were 2) were all open to eachother--and to the kitchen. The sliding glass doors in the living room led to an open balcony over looking the pool area, and the master bedroom had a screened in balcony facing the same way. The master bathroom had a jacuzzi tub large enough for multiple people! I liked that the two bedrooms were not side by side, but rather on opposite sides of the unit.

The grounds were well kept and the pools (there are two of them--one is heated) were clean with plenty of tables, chairs, lounge chairs and umbrellas. The tennis courts are located right next to the pool and were available most of the week--it was May when we were there.

The beach is a short walk from the units--down a quiet street--the beach here is not supervised by a lifeguard--for the "public" beach, you have to walk almost a mile. There you will find rest rooms, showers, changing rooms, umbrella & chair rentals, and access to the outdoor bar and restaurant at the hotel. Coligney Circle is right there and you have all the restaurants, shops and supermarket. We rented bikes so this was a nice option some days instead of going to the same beach spot every day.

The fitness center is at the Coral Sands Resort welcome center where you check in--about a mile away. I didn't use it, but it's new (about a year or two old) and the lazy river pool is there too. We did the time share presentation and found that they were not too annoying--we were well compensated for our time. We usually pass on this, but everyone always tells us about the freebies they get so we tried it!

Room Tip: I've been told that the one bedroom units do not have a balcony, so if you like to sit out witho...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nairb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We traded our timeshare with RCI and got a three bedroom to Port O'Call. I had read the other reviews and was hoping I had made a good choice. Got our info packet from Coral Sands Resort and headed on to Shipyard and the Port O'Call development. The three bedroom units are the houses located around the three floor units. We were in villa #35 and found it clean and well stocked. The master bedroom was large and the two other bedroom's had two single beds (small) but comfortable, each with its own bathroom. The living area had a nice flat screen TV, but the three bedrooms had older model TV's and did not get all the cable channels. The master bathroom had a nice large jet tube, but you have to know the hidden location for the on/off switch. ( Look behind the bathroom door and no label) Had to call management and asked why the switch on the tube was not working.

The WiFi was good, so you have computer capability if you want. Daily activities at the pool and other buildings if you want to participate. On Monday, there was a breakfast for all and the local vendors are there to let you know about there offerings. Bicycles are nice and no parking issues. The pool was clean and the hot tube was 103 degrees. There was a locked gate that you have access to the beach, close to the villa. Nice screened in porch for eating or just relaxing. The upstairs bedroom was the big hit for the grandchild, called it her "hideaway room". She could play, and we could rest downstairs.. LOL

Some maintenance issues we had were the dishwasher had an issue when closing the top slide. The outside grill, had a broken igniter so matches were needed if you wanted to use. We had 2-roaches seen and did a write up when we left.

All considered, we had a good week and I would trade back there again. Hope this is helpful to readers.

Room Tip: I liked the villa better than a the three floor 2 bedroom units.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have been going to Hilton Head since I was a little girl. It has something for everyone. This summer my husband and I are taking our two young children there along with my parents. It's been a vacation for our family from one generation to another! Shipyard Port O'Call is a lovely place to stay with activites for young and old and is just a short walk to the beach!

Room Tip: Whether you want a single condo or a two or three bedroom condo or a cottage. All of the rooms are g...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLNB_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here the first week of April 2012, having traded thru RCI. We had a two bedroom condo on the 3rd (top) floor of the 900 building overlooking the pool and adjacent tennis center. The unit was large, in impeccable shape, well furnished and well stocked. We had a screened-in balcony off the master bath and a balcony with screen door off the master bedroom (the balconies are only off the end units). The master bath had a 2-person jacuzzi. The living room has a large flat screen TV and DVD player. The bedrooms had somewhat smaller flat screens (maybe 26").

This part of Shipyard backs on to North Forest Drive, so is quite close to the beach and less than a mile to all the shopping and restaurants of Coligny Plaza. The biking is terrific. The island is so flat you don't need gears (most rental bikes don't have them). [Tip; to visit Sea Pines by bike you must ride down the beach and come in via path; they won't allow visitors to enter by bike at the gates.] Much of the beaches are very hard packed sand and biking on them is easy.

Cons are few. Unfortunately the tennis center next door starts blowing leaves and junk off the courts shortly before 8:00 am even on Sundays, so it helps to have ear plugs. While we received an hour a day of tennis gratis at the tennis center, there was no break on golf. There is no music system in the condo to play CDs or connect an IPod to. And strangely, they do no recycling at Port O'Call; at least half our trash by volume we would normally recycle at home but had to throw out with the trash here. That said, we would certainly not hesitate to return to Port O'Call.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swegnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.2 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Resort
Coral Sands Resort
#2 of 52 in Hilton Head
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation

Address: 66 Pope Ave, Hilton Head, SC
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: £160 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in a hotel when you can stay in a fully equipped villa or cottage with washer & dryer, entertainment centers, TV's in bedrooms and living room, DVD players, all kitchens utensils and tableware. Each unit is professionally decorated and refurbished every year. Port O' Call, a member of The Palmera Vacation Club, is located on beautiful Hilton Head Island, perhaps the finest resort community along the Atlantic Coastline. Hilton Head Island boasts natural beauty along with a playground of outdoor activities. World renowned for it's golf and tennis, Hilton Head also offers a variety of water sports, miles of bike paths, wonderful restaurants and great shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port o`Call Shipyard Plantation Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing