We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well Maintained”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit at Port o'Call and found the location was convenient and surroundings were well maintained. Lovely entrance and decorated with lights and ornaments for Christmas. The unit was large and comfortable with a screened in balcony. The kitchen was very well equipped and had all appliances from a dishwasher to a blender. The only thing that was a little aggravating was that there was an elevator but when we tried to load all our belongings onto the luggage cart and go from the vehicle to the elevator, we couldnt get the cart up the steps to get to the elevator!!! Not very well thought through on their part. A short walk down to the beach through a secured gate from the property. Would stay again. Overall a g

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lizardqueen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    97
    31
    12
    2
See reviews for
176
115
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We used this resort via RCI exchange. Let me start by saying this is NOT a gold crown resort, despite what RCI claims. They seem to label a lot of resorts "gold crown", I would like to know what criteria they use for such designations. The resort is conveniently located, close to the beautiful beach. The check in was a nightmare as we arrived late and we had to call RCI emergency # etc. By the time they returned our call, fortunately we had found the # to call to get the lock box location, got to the lock box and got our paperwork to enter the plantation. The lock box/check in is at a diff location than the resort location, this was not made clear to us. The plantation itself is beautiful. The one bed room unit was clean and adequate but NOT GOLD CROWN QUALITY as mentioned earlier. Corridors were smelly all the time! The beds were not good at all, they were bouncy and limpy. There should be more pots for 4 people for a week. We had to keep washing the two small pots by hand often and reuse. There is no dish drain. All other utensils like peeler, grater, scissors, cutlery, cups/plates etc. were adequate. Washer/dryer very convenient within the room. Kitchen floors etc. were hard stone, old grout. Only soaps, no shampoo etc. kept. I really wish liquid soap was kept as it's more hygenic than small bars for washing hands. Not enough soaps either for each to use their hand washing soap. While things are convenient, they are by no means close to luxurious to be called a gold crown property! Showers were powerful but three of us couldn't shower without the second/third person getting luke warm water. They sent maintenance guy promptly and he left a note that the temp was increased for the hot water heater but the issue was not resolved. I don't know if it was the high volume of the shower or inadequate size of the water heater. We didn't use the pool or sauna. Small, fat TV in the bedroom, flat screen in the living room. One thing I am very tired of is while we are charged a lot of money/points for exchanging etc. based on its "gold crown" status, THERE IS NO CLEANING SERVICE AT ALL FOR THE ENTIRE WEEK. This is becoming almost the norm for a lot of timeshare properties while maintenance fees keep going up every year. Even a cheap $60 hotels provide such service. We would have liked cleaning service at least once in the entire week. RCI really needs to do something about this. We had enough towels etc. as we used them judiciously but we had no extra sheets/pillow cases to change during the week. Discounts by bicycle company for this resort was good. Gym code never worked and it's not on property.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rkramadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed for a week in a 3 BR unit on the top floor of a condo building. That unit was lovely, private and spacious, equipped with everything you might need. The area is great and with a rental car we were able to travel to both Savannah, GA and Charleston, SC (staying overnight in Charleston). The top floor condo was great, but I can't say if the other units would be as private. We had booked a 3 BR cottage, but were told we had not and were given the condo. And there was a couple before us at check-in that had the same situation. The management was firm and we (as well as the other couple) were very disappointed, as we chose this week for that reason (for the cottage). However, that top unit was very nice. That being said, I would be hesitant about coming back unless I had in writing what unit I was actually getting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathyFitz2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Very nice accomodation with lots of space and well equiped appartment. Access to the beach is good and close. If you like golf Hilton Head is the place to visit. As we visited in November the weather was not the best and a lot of places were closed "out of season".

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Wingers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in a studio for the week before thanksgiving. My husband had meetings all week in Savannah so although the unit was not much more spacious than a motel room if was fine as we were not in it together except to sleep. The linens, quality of furniture, condition of unit was perfect. It only had a microwave which did keep me from baking a meal.
While he was gone all day I found miles of bike paths to ride, played tennis round robins at Vandemere Tennis Center and yoga at the check in center 2 mornings.
The pool was lovely and access to the beach very easy.
Would definitely stay at Port O'call again.

Room Tip: Enjoyed 100 building adjacent to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psl126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had a 3 BR unit for 3 couples in PortO Call over the Labor Day week! The 3 BR units are separate from the main building and it like your own condo.Very comfortable and spacious unit, Well stocked with everything you need for a great stay. Keyless entry made it easy for all 6 of us to come and go easily. Short walk to the beach and close by to Coligny for most everything else. We love HH and go there every year and Port O Call was as nice as any we've stayed. In fact we have already book for 2014 and will stay in Port O Call again, only this time a 1 BR unit. Hopefully, it will be as nice as the 3 BR units

Room Tip: If booking a 3 BR try to ask for units that have king/queen beds. Our only drawback was other than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmg320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We concur with every good thing said about Port O Call Resort in HIlton Head, and wish to add these comments. We have been RCI members for over 25 years and have stayed all over the world. We often bring a married son or daughter and their spouse with us for our weeks stay

Very seldom do two bedroom units have as nice of "second" bedroom as the master bedroom. However, the two bedroom, two bath condos at Port O Call are equally nice in both bedrooms, and have king size beds. both tub and shower, and are spacious beyond expectations.

Unit # 709 is a third floor condo (building has an elevator) overlooking an inviting pool (heated and clean). Set among beautifully landscaped trees, ponds, and bike paths, the setting is quiet and peaceful.

Although not on the beach, a back pathway (five blocks..ten minutes) leads to the most popular beach on Hilton Head. The beach has a huge free parking lot and is just across the road from a shopping center (Coligny Plaza), with over sixty stores and restaurants. Warning: Do not leave your car in the Plaza if going to the beach, but instead use the parking lot mentioned above. For the handicapped, there is a parking area even closer to the beach.

Dining tip: In Palmetto Dunes, there is a restaurant (Alexanders) that is very nicely appointed (tablecloths, view of lagoon, among the trees, with several Harley Davidson motorcycles on display in the restaurant. The restaurant has a high quality feel, and offers 11 nightly early bird specials beginning at 5:00 PM, all priced at $15.99. We thought this restaurant was the best quality, value and ambience for the money of any place we visited.

Room Tip: We often reserve a two bedroom unit, even when traveling as a couple. Having two bathrooms allows us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Al4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#3 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation

Property: Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation
Address: 66 Pope Ave, Hilton Head, SC
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in a hotel when you can stay in a fully equipped villa or cottage with washer & dryer, entertainment centers, TV's in bedrooms and living room, DVD players, all kitchens utensils and tableware. Each unit is professionally decorated and refurbished every year. Port O' Call, a member of The Palmera Vacation Club, is located on beautiful Hilton Head Island, perhaps the finest resort community along the Atlantic Coastline. Hilton Head Island boasts natural beauty along with a playground of outdoor activities. World renowned for it's golf and tennis, Hilton Head also offers a variety of water sports, miles of bike paths, wonderful restaurants and great shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port o`Call Shipyard Plantation Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing