We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Royal Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Dunes Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our family of four stayed for a week at Royal Dunes over the July 4th holiday. It was an excellent vacation for both parents and kids with good value for money. Check-in was painless and there were no surprises. We received six beach towels at check-in that were returned at check-out.

Our unit was as I described in a review two years ago. All units are three bedroom and three bath with full kitchen and washer/dryer. Maintenance was excellent and the unit was in great shape.

The resort is as I described two years ago. We stayed this time in Building 4 which has its own pool, two Weber Genesis gas grills and a new children's playground that was close to completion. I enjoy Building 4 because you can step right outside the gate and you are on the Folly Field Road bike path or can take a short walk through the Islander's Beach Park to the lifeguarded beach. You can easily walk over to the Westin for a drink at their bar or a meal at their restaurants. Parking is on the ground level underneath the building.

A fun week was had by all and I can highly recommend Royal Dunes for families who would like to get away for a week on Hilton Head Island and need the space that a 3 bedroom, 3 bath unit provides.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MapleLeaf1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us again! We always love to hear feedback from our guests! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Have loved staying here. The location is excellent if you like to spend time on the beach. The beach is a 5 - 10 minute walk - NOT across the street like one owner/reviewer posted. The beach is not a private resort beach, but a public beach. It does have bathrooms, a place to rinse off, and a walkway that allows wheelchair access to the beach, but if you are looking for a beach that has restaurants or snack bars, then this is not your place. Overall, the accommodations have been OK. Plenty of space for 4 adults and 2 kids. Their have been a few problems with our unit (ceiling fan not working, water heater started leaking, and no can opener in our unit). The outer doors of our building had broken locks (one didn't lock and the other wouldn't unlock with a card key). The pool is really small if you take the number of guests into consideration. Activities staff is nice. Front desk folks could be a bit more helpful. They ran out of pool towels on the first day that we were there. Each unit is only allowed so many. She just looked at me and said that she hoped to have more the next day. Would have been nice if she was more helpful. They also don't give you much information about the area ( like the name of the beach where the resort has beach access, what amenities are at that beach, local restaurants that deliver, closest grocery or drug store, etc.). This type of info would be very helpful for first time guests like we were. I will say that the maintenance and security staff have been very helpful. We needed a can opener and it was after the office had closed, and one of the after hours maintenance men brought us a brand new one. I think he may have run out and bought it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

KCChap thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay with us. We always appreciate our guests taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you a good time and that our maintenance and security team responded to your requests promptly. We are happy to provide all of our guests with any local information requested, and we apologize if there was a breakdown in communication during your stay. We strive to provide the best customer service possible. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My parents own a timeshare here and we come most years. The facilities are immaculately maintained, the location is great if you're wanting a beach. The beach is across the street and--for the little ones--there's a town playground at the beach. A consistently good experience for the family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kevin19506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you Kevin for providing us with your review, we look forward to seeing you in the future and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! If you come again next year you will be able to use the playground we just built on property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Great place to stay. Short walk to the beach, or they will drive you. 3 bedroom, 3 baths, great for extended families like yours. Kids got to swim, bike, kayak, golf. The staff knew us by name and made sure we had everything we needed, including stuff we didn't know we needed, like complimentary use of beach chair, towels, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lzsrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunesmanagement, General Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you had a great time! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We've been owners here for 12 years and we look forward to visiting every year. The resort is well maintained and the units are spacious, 3 bedroom, 3 baths, with room for 8, if you include the sleeper sofa. The location is nice, very close to the Westin Resort and one of Marriot's timeshare properties. There are two swimming pools, a hot tub, shuffle board, and very nice grills for the guests to use. The staff members are very friendly and do their best to take care of the guests. The beach is a very short walk across the street at the Islander's Beach Park and there is a shuttle service offered, though we have never used it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa8855129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Royal Dunes! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have been owners here since Royal Dunes was built and have never regretted it. It is quiet, convenient, comfortbale, well maintained and friendly. The fabulous beach is an easy 5 minute walk away. The units are spacious and spotless. We have exchanged our week 11 times since we owned our week here, for places all over North America and a couple in the UK, but not one of those other resorts had units as nice as these at RD.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Monica we are honored that you choose Royal Dunes as your favorite vacation spot and that your return every year. Thank you for sharing your experience and we will see you in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The units, 3 bd 3 ba, have everything for a vacation stay including a washer and dryer with detergent provided. The beach is an easy 5 min walk and it's a gorgeous beach that stretches in both directions. Retail and restaurants are abundant nearby. We went in January and the pool was heated and very swimmable. The hot tub was hot! The property had a sign warning not to feed the alligators, and we didn't see any nor feed any.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank lovetogo1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

The alligators are usually hidden in January, if you stay with us any time from April through October the island is abundant with gators. They are fun to watch but never feed them! We hope you come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
795 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.3 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dunes Resort

Address: 8 Wimbledon Ct, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5570
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: £120 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Dunes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Dunes Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing