We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing vacation in beautiful Hilton Head”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cottages by Spinnaker
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing vacation in beautiful Hilton Head”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The Cottages at the Shipyard in Hilton Head are really wonderful. We stayed at a 2 bedroom cottage that backed on to a lagoon. Our first good decision was to rent 2 bicycles from the The Bike Doctor. They were delivered to us the evening we checked in and we rode them through the great bike trails at this resort every day. The unit was spacious and well equipped....we had absolutely everything we needed including laundry facilities in the unit. The staff at the activities center were great.....we went for an hour walk in the resort with them in the mornings and thoroughly enjoyed it. They also gave us good advice on area attractions, restaurants etc. The only thing we did that we didn't really enjoy was go to Savannah for a day trip. Taking the trolley ride in historic Savannah wasn't our cup of tea and we enjoyed the resort days much more. The alligators in the ponds in the resort are really interesting! We would recommend this resort to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluefield, Virginia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed in a unit referred to as The Cottages on Valencia Rd.in Shipyard at HHI. They were condo style with 4 to 5 individual units all attached. It was very nice and well furnished. Had a decent size kitchen and dinninger room and was very suitable for 4 people. Check in was a breeze and the staff was cheerful. The activities coordinator was a bit persistent after check-in with asking me to sign-up for tennis, golf, fitness center, etc. She called the next day about breakfast or lunch "to discuss what I thought of the unit and resort." I'm also not sure if there was a pool or hottub available for these particular units, I could never find one. But close to the plenty of bike/walking paths and a quick drive to the beach. I recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanM0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

this was our first trip to Hilton Head. We had two cottages the week leading up to Labor Day. Check in was easy and friendly. One was a ranch style with 2 bedrooms, a large kitchen, front and back porch - it was an end unit and very private. The other was a 2 bedroom up and down, 2 baths up, and a 1/2 bath on the main level with a back porch. Both had well appointed kitchens with plenty of dishes, utensils and cookware. Towel and maid service did not come with our rentals but when we called for new towels, the staff was friendly and brought them right away. We had an issue with our dryer at first, and someone came within the hour to look at it. The furniture in the living areas seemed newer and the bedrooms were clean. The beds were a bit soft for me, but clean - which is the most important part!

The resort property was well groomed, overlooking lagoons and a golf course. It was nice to have parking outside the unit as we drove everywhere. While most people rent bikes, we have two babies and couldn't use bikes for transport, so we drove a lot. The only thing within walking distance was the pool.

The pools were just pools - no frills - but plenty of chairs, umbrellas, trees for shade and towels.

When we return to Hilton Head, I hope to stay somewhere closer to the beach or with more amenities within walking distance. Or we may wait until the kids are older.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grandtraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We just loved our week in our 2 bedroom, 2 story, full kitchen, W/D, living room area, dining room, 3 bathrooms, deck with rocking chair, perfect and absolute peace and quiet, walking distance to beach, nice pool, etc. There is nothing, nothing bad to say about the Cottages.....we LOVED everything about this timeshare exchange with Spinnaker! Highly recommended! PS: We loved the down pillows in the bedrooms! Most lodging provides hard pillows.....these are wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RW P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

This place is technically timeshare villas. The timeshare is run by Spinnaker, who manage the Players Club Hotel and a bunch of timeshares in the Shipyard Plantation. Cottages at Shipyard is one of the properties they rent. It looks like its mostly 2 or 3 bedroom townhouses spread throughout small lagoons.

I guess I was kind of expecting a hotel like rooms, but it was really like an actual residence. Our unit was a 3Br & 3Ba and it was gigantic, maybe 1,600 sq. ft, clean, and fully furnished. It looked like relatively new furnture and carpeting. All three bedrooms were large, masterbedroom sized units. It was very comfortable. Full sized washing machines & refrigerators are an awesome amenity.

The Cottages were about 3/4 of a mile down a bike path to a private beach access point. They provided us with a special parking pass to park right next to the beach by the Crowne Plaza hotel. We could also rent a huge beach locker by the beach for $20, so we didn't have to haul our beach gear back and forth. We also ate at the Crowne Plaza for lunch, they had a hot dog/snack stand and served food at their pool restaurant.

The Cottages were divided into two sections, with the southern part having a tiny pool and an outdoor whirlpool. However, Spinnaker lets Cottages guests use the Clubhouse at the Erget Point timeshare (about 100 yards) from either section of Cottages, which has good sized pool with a waterslide, whirlpool, grills, gameroom, and small work out room (all free). They had children's events and an ice cream party at the Clubhouse (for a fee).

If you wanted a larger workout room, they provided use of the health club and racquet club at the Players Club hotel for $20 for the week for eveyone in your unit (not per person or per day). This was a real health club that also had racquest ball court, tennis courts, and an indoor pool and a whirlpool. The Players Club Hotel was about a mile from our unit in Cottages.

The golf specials for the Cottages were basically the afternoon golf specials at the Shipyard course that anyone could get. But the course was very nice and within easy walking distance of the Cottages.

They tried to entice me to do a timeshare tour for a new resort they are building, but I declined and they never bothered me about it again. The only other downside was that you only received maid service on Wednesday, so by Wed. & Sat. our unit was pretty messy.

Renting a villa is definitely a nice way to vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Slim02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Great locations to all the activites on the Island and great location to avoid the heavy traffic to the lighthouse.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian_Silverio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

We just spent a wonderful week at the Cottages. We had a three bedroom, three bath cottage. Two bedrooms had a king bed and the other two twin beds. One king bedroom was downstairs and the other two were upstairs. The cottages are located in the quiet Shipyard Plantation-you can park right in front of your cottage. We were right next to the swimming pool and hot tub-we did not use these, but did see several people in the hot tub.
We rented bikes and rode all over Shipyard-the bike paths are great. It is about a 10-15 minutes bike ride to the beach access at the Shipyard Beach Club. We loved walking and riding our bikes on the beach. We loved watching the dolphins and saw many each day.

  • Liked — Having a bathroom for each bedroom
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank nlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
285 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
#20 of 28 in Hilton Head
627 reviews
1.7 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages by Spinnaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages by Spinnaker

Property: The Cottages by Spinnaker
Address: 10 Shipyard Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottages by Spinnaker 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate setting at The Cottages is perfect for tranquil and lazy days where your biggest concern might be selecting a dinner location. Located on quiet cul de sacs, most of these timeshare units have golf course or lagoon views. Jump onto the bike path and let it lead you through the palmettos and around the 12 miles of bike paths. Discover the serenity of southern living in villas reminiscent of Key West bungalows. Charming porches set a relaxed scene as you gaze out over lagoons and golf fairways, and the lush Lowcountry flora that surrounds you in Shipyard Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Cottages by Spinnaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Shipyard Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing