We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We loved our recent stay with this Westin Starwood property. While there for one night, it was very relaxing. Others have mentioned that this Westin treats SPG Platinum members very well-- our instance was no exception.

We arrived fairly late in the evening, and upon check-in, were upgraded to a suite for being platinum members (not to mention free valet parking-- please leave a tip for excellent valet staff!). Awesome experience. The food at Oceans is great, and the beach is extremely nice.

Positives:
-Suite upgrade (very impressed)
-Renovations, really nice atmosphere
-Staff friendly overall (Patricia is one of the best hotel representatives I have ever met, and I travel extensively)
-Food at Oceans restaurant/bar was very good
-Beautiful, uncrowded beach
-Room was spotless and incredibly clean

Points for improvement:
-While it is understandable, we wished the hot tub was always open, or would stay open until midnight at the very least.
-We were looking forward to watching a late college football game all day (our alma mater) but found the specific channel was not working. Hotel staff said it couldn't be fixed at the time and apologized, but we really would have appreciated breakfast or extra Starpoints for the inconvenience.
-Took a morning stroll around the property and found used towels strewn around the pool area. Area had not been cleaned. Not a big deal but our impression of the area would have been even higher had we not seen this.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay. If we can get upgraded to an even larger suite (suite night awards, anyone?), we will definitely be back in the near future for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nintendo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback, as a valued SPG Platinum member, on your recent stay at The Westin. Delighted that we were able to provide a complimentary suite upgrade and that you enjoyed the nice atmosphere and our recent renovations. We also appreciate your comment that overall the staff was friendly and that Patricia provided personal and instinctive service. We are sorry for the inconvenience of the pool area/hot tub closing at a certain time in the evening, but we do have to ensure the comfort of all our guests. We are very sorry the specific television station you wanted to watch was not available and that you observed pool towels that were not promptly picked up. Please be assured we are reviewing these issues for corrective actions, but know these incidents were isolated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    397
    160
    61
    42
See reviews for
544
524
31
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Had a great night sleep and the rooms where clean... staff went out of their way to help. Ordered Room service, a little high in price but it is in Hilton Head... Great location, easy to find and get to. Enjoyed the stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Westin. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a great night's sleep. Especially appreciated that the staff went out of their way to provide personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Westin for our anniversary and enjoyed our stay tremendously. The resort is beautiful, well maintained, and is right on the beach with spectacular views from your room.

Upon check-in, my husband mentioned our anniversary and we had a special treat of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries as a welcome gift!

The front desk staff were amazing and catered to our every need. The access to the beach made it easy to view the sunrise! Don't hesitate -stay at this property for your romantic or family beach vacation.

There are adult only and kid friendly pools!

Room Tip: Request an ocean front room with a balcony. This hotel is quite large and there may be a "trek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Getpacked77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed your anniversary stay at The Westin tremendously. Delighted to know you found the resort beautiful and well maintained and that you were very satisfied with the spectacular view from your guest room and easy beach access. I was glad to know that our front desk staff provided personal and instinctive service and recognized your special occasion with an amenity. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Used points to book this stay last minute. The property is beautiful and the room was large and clean looking over the pool area and beach. You don't feel like your driving up to a hotel more like driving in a community. I have to commend Ben at the check in desk, I was upset about the $150 pet fee for my sons 4 pound dog and he upgraded the room and gave us a free breakfast which took some of the sting away.

The only thing I would say as a negative is that when the balcony door was open the pool area was loud at night and early in the morning when the workers started going.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ldenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your recent stay at The Westin. We appreciate your comments that the resort is beautiful and that you enjoyed your large,clean guest room. Delighted to know that Ben was able to provide personal and instinctive service during check-in. Westin is a dog friendly brand, however, we do have a pass-through charge due to the extensive cleaning protocols required when a pet stays in a guest room. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced due to noise issues and know that we do react quickly to any guest issues if we are aware of them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Westin for the first time this past weekend. We came to Hilton Head to attend the Concours D'Elegance Car Show that was adjacent to the property. Our experience could not have been better. Danielle served us the most delicious dinner in Oceans on our first night. Our housekeeper, Dawnet, gave us extra special care during our stay. Our breakfast servers, Patrick and Randy, always greeted us with a smile as did Matt, the bellhop, as he placed our suitcases in our trunk. Your wonderful staff needs to be congratulated!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheels2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for sharing that your first stay at The Westin was a great experience while attending the Concours D'Elegance event. We certainly appreciate your complimentary remarks on our staff and expecially those on Danielle, Dawnet, Patrick, Matt, and Randy as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating and relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appling, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was completely thrilled when I opened the door to my room and saw the beautiful room and the glorious view of the ocean. I needed to get away for some spa and shopping therapy. This was the best decision I've ever made! The grounds were beautiful, room service was wonderful, breakfast was excellent - everything was great! The wonderful lady in the spa, made my trip worthwhile. I was a little worried about the renovations, but my stay was ideal! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for sharing that your recent trip to The Westin was one of the best experiences you have had. Delighted that you were thrilled with your guest room, ocean view, resort grounds, breakfast, and our signature Heavenly Spa. Thank you for sharing that the spa staff made your trip worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing and relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
418 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

As a Platinum Starwood member I have come to be spoiled but when I checked into The Westin Hilton Head I was treated above even my expectations. They really value Platinum members and do some things that are extra special such as a beach front upgrade, breakfast and free valet parking. It really made our birthday weekend one to remember. Very nice room, very pleasant staff (especially Linda for breakfast) and a lovely beach. WE will absolutely be back again during the slow season!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rfamily9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for sharing that your birthday weekend stay at The Westin exceeded your expectations, as one of our valued SPG Platinum members. We are glad that we could provide a nice room upgrade and that you enjoyed breakfast and free valet parking. Delighted that Linda made such a favorable impression during your breakfast and that our staff was very pleasant as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service. We look forward to your return visit in the near future.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
9.0 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
755 reviews
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing