We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Beach Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Overall an excellent resort on a very lovely beach. Our room was extremely comfortable, even with a family of 4 sharing one room with 2 queen beds. The staff were friendly. The food was tasty. The facilities were well kept and well appointed.

The room was clean, but housekeeping had not left a full array of toiletries. (We started with one soap, one shampoo and 3 body lotions!) - but a quick call to the concierge fixed that problem. Body wash, conditioner, more shampoo and a bathrobe quickly arrived.

The only draw-back during our stay was the temperature of the room! The days we spent at the resort were unexpectedly cool for early spring - and so was our room. It took 2 days to get the temperature of our room to increase from 64 degrees up to 70 (which finally felt comfortable). The tiled entry & bathroom floors were cold! For the first evening we had to keep our jackets on in the room! The room heater was fairly loud as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed a nice beach break at The Westin recently. Delighted to know that your guest room was extremely comfortable, that you enjoyed good food, and that our staff was friendly. We were glad to know that you did receive all the amenities requested. Please accept our apology for the temperature control not functioning properly in the guest room. Had we known there was an issue, we would have responded immediately to resolve the situation to ensure your comfort. We hope that your family will return in the future so we may meet and exceed all your expectations for a memorable escape.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,304 - 1,310 of 1,652 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is an excellent property, well kept, well run, and extremely friendly staff to assist you. All our expectations were met, and then some. Would definitely recommend this resort for your next getaway!

Room Tip: Since it is an ocean front property, I would recommend the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toadbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed Southern Luxury at The Westin recently. Delighted to know that all your expectations were met or exceeded and that our staff was extremely friendly. We appreciate your recommendation of our excellent property and look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My fiancé and I recently decided to explore Hilton Head as a potential destination wedding location for our wedding next spring. We began contacting multiple venues on the island and started to plan a trip from Ohio to visit and decided on a location. After contacting a few hotels, we received an email back from Trish at the Westin who offered her assistance in helping us with our search for a venue. We were immediately blown away by how helpful she was in EVERY aspect of our trip. Needless to say, we decided to stay at the Westin during our exploratory trip last week and had the opportunity to meet with Trish to discuss the potential for a wedding at the Westin. From the moment we pulled up outside of the Westin, we knew it was a perfect location for our wedding, but we needed to make sure that the customer service aspect of the Westin was up to par. Trish gave us a tour of the facilities and went above and beyond her role to make us feel welcome throughout our trip. Her personal touch in making our day feel special spoke volumes about her and the Westin. The renovations that have taken place at the hotel give it a very relaxing feel and every detail was considered around the pool area, which included plenty of space to relax and take in the beautiful surroundings. We had the opportunity to dine at the hotel multiple times and the food was exceptional. In addition to dining, the full service spa facility was wonderful.

The quality of the hotel combined with the hospitality and thoughtfulness of staff, like Trish, is what helped us make our decision to have our wedding at the Westin next year. We are looking forward to coming back in November to finalize our details!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning your wedding planning weekend at The Westin. We were delighted to know that Trish went above and beyond to ensure you were well cared for and that you fully experienced the amenities and top notch service of our resort. We also appreciate your comment that the food in the restaurants was exceptional. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in November to finalize the details of your unique and memorable spring wedding.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I spent three nights here the middle of March. We were disappointed that there was construction going on in the pool area while we were there and that the covered heated pool was closed because of the construction. The constant jack hammering made it difficult to rest around the remaining pools. I think this information should have been disclosed at booking, and I don't believe the rates reflected any kind of discount because of the construction.

Those complaints aside, room was clean and comfortable and the pool area amenities had all been upgraded since my last visit and I might even consider giving it a 5 out of 5 had it not been for the construction.

All of the employees that we encountered were professional, friendly and helpful and that alone has secured a 4 out of 5 rating from me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ferschnizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your perspective on your stay at The Westin. Delighted to know that you enjoyed a clean and comfortable guest room and our upgraded pool area amenities. We appreciate your noting that all of our employees were professional, friendly, and helpful as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We did have to perform unavoidable state-mandated work on our covered pool for several days, however, our round swimming pool was available and heated during that time, and we also had our large pool and outdoor jacuzzi available for guests. We apologize for the inconvenience related to noise issues during scheduled daytime hours. We are happy to relay that the covered pool is now available for all our guests to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future so we may meet and exceed all your expectations.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I took our first trip to Hilton Head Island and chose the Westin as our hotel after reading the reviews and our previous experience with the hotel chain. This one did not disappoint. As a matter of fact I would rate this hotel as one of the best we have stayed in! The staff was super friendly and greet us everytime we came in for the evening. The room was amazing and we even had a slight view of the ocean from our standard room which was a bonus. This hotel impressed us so much that we book another stay when we checked out. We can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: We book a standard King and still had a view of the ocean. I'm sure its not guranteed on every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for sharing that your weekend getaway at The Westin was impressive. Delighted that you enjoyed an amazing guest room with ocean view. We appreciate your noting the staff was super friendly and that you were always greeted as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We were delighted to know that due to your positive experience, you have already booked another stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a renewing and relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Recent stay for a work conference. Rooms are fairly spacious and well-appointed. Balcony a plus to be able to enjoy the sounds of the ocean when the pool area is not too noisy. Not quite busy season yet so staff and dining options on premises limited. Thoroughly enjoyed a massage at the spa and highly recommend their services. New bartender Shawn was very helpful in recommendations for dining in the area. Only let down was that the weather was cold and rainy for most of my trip. Would love to return someday for a leisure trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for sharing that you had a pleasant experience at The Westin while attending a conference. Delightede that you enjoyed your guest room as well as a renewing massage at the Heavenly Spa. We appreciate your comments on Shawn being helpful as our staff always strives to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to your return visit in the future for a relaxing and renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is okay. I've stayed at other Westin properties that have more of a wow factor when it comes to service. The concierge desk was closed the entire time I was at the hotel and I didn't encounter one front desk staff member that was from the area so they couldn't direct me where to go or what to do. They simply told me they didn't know and weren't from the area. The ladies in the gift shop, Linda at breakfast and John the bartender were the only friendly people I encountered that actually tried to engage in conversation and help us out. Linda even went as far as to ask me how she could make it better when I told her my stay was "okay". When asked the same question by the check-out clerk, I gave the same response and she didn't even bat an eyelash. The food at the restaurant is good and overall it is a very clean and well kept property. I was traveling with someone so the lack of service didn't bother me as much as it would've if I were alone. More than likely the front desk members are interns but they just need to be trained a little better and more knowledgeable about the area. At minimum the front desk staff should at least be able to make dinner and area attraction recommendations.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forever_yours_390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Westin. We appreciate your noting that the resort is clean, well kept, and that the food at the restaurant is good. Our associates strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest, and I was glad to know that Linda, John, and the gift shop staff were very friendly. With the busy spring season just beginning, our norm is always to provide outstanding service to each guest. I was disappointed that you did not receive information requested from our staff when the concierge was unavailable. We will ensure the proper re-training occurs with all new staff members in this regard as all front desk agents are required to be knowledgeable and helpful when assisting our guests. We hope that you will return in the future so we may wow you with exceptional service and exceed all your expectations.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
9.0 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £121 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on Hilton Head Island's famous white sand beaches and nestled amidst swaying palmetto trees, The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa offers travelers a lush tropical oasis. Enjoy the array of inspired amenities available at our Hilton Head Island resort, including private access to miles of pristine beaches, three beautiful swimming pools and four on-site restaurants. Children will love spending time at the Westin Family Kids Club, while you can escape to the Heavenly Spa by Westin™ for a rejuvenating massage. We also offer hotel guests access to the adjacent Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club for championship golf and tennis. All guestrooms feature the Westin Heavenly Bed® and double-vanity Heavenly Bath®, as well as a private balcony, many of which boast stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing