We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The resort was beautiful and the staff was gracious. Each night was a bottle of champagne waiting on us! The rooms were spacious with a fantastic shower. We had easy access to the pool and beach. We would definitely return!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed a romantic getaway for your anniversary at The Westin. Delighted that you felt the resort was beautiful and that the guest rooms were spacious. We appreciate your comment that the staff was gracious and ensured you were well cared for with a champagne surprise. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,211 - 1,217 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Little rough start. We got there early. Like 2:00. Room wasn't ready until 4:45. To be fair, check in time is listed at 4:00, but we've never ever had to wait. Lots of conferences going on, But, got a room and it was great. Wooded view, so it was private. The room was super comfortable. We ate in a couple of the restaurants and the food was good. For the most part the staff was great. There were a few that were surprisingly less than hospitable, but others went above and beyond. For instance, my husband and I ordered hummus for a snack and our daughter was not very excited about it. She quietly told us she would rather have a sno-cone. We didn't know anyone had heard her and a few minutes later the bartender came around the corner with one. Made her day. Pools are great. Beach access is great. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank masimonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay at The Westin. During our busy summer season, and based on room type availability, we cannot always ;provide an early check-in, although we recommend guests enjoy the resort amenities. We were glad to know your room was very comfortable and that you experienced good food. Our staff does strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest, and I was delighted that your daugther was treated with a sno-cone which she enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming your family back in the near future for another memorable and renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My family originally booked our stay at the Holiday Inn Beach House with unpleasant results, which are described in our Trip Advisor review of their property. After my first night with little sleep at the Beach House, we were blessed to find this property. The property was amazing inside/out and we received a greeting and smile from everyone we came into contact with.

Mr. Bees, at the front desk assured us our stay at Hilton Head was about to get much better. His genuine attentiveness to our needs, and desire to make our stay at Hilton Head a positive one was immediately apparent. He provided my family with a great room at a reasonable rate for the remainder of our vacation.

A sense of relief from my family was immediately observed upon their arrival at the Westin. The rooms were updated and very clean. The property consists of numerous pools and a hot tub. Pool Staff circulates to attend to all your needs. The resort offers a kids club which entertained our children throughout the day/night. I myself am somewhat of a complainer and can usually find something to satisfy my bad habit. However, the entire staff at the Westin left my family with a completely positive experience. My special appreciation goes to Mr. Bees at the front desk and the housekeeping staff.

Prior to leaving, I returned to the front desk where Mr. Bees greeted me by name and booked our stay next year. Thanks again Westin for saving our vacation.

Room Tip: High level rooms near the ocean provide the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VACATIONMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for sharing that your stay at The Westin was beyond your expectations. We were delighted to know you enjoyed our recently renovated resort and our courtyard with multiple pools. We were delighted to know that Mr. Bees and our housekeeping and pool staff made such a favorable impression in ensuring you were well cared for. We look forward to welcoming your family back next year for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Westin is beautiful! They did an amazing job with the remodel! Our wedding was beautiful and the staff did an amazing job! Our guests said that we had the best wedding food they had ever had! If you have an event to plan there, Trish and Hannah are the best!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmy3282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for sharing that The Westin was a beautiful location for your wedding celebration and that the staff did an amazing job ensuring you were well cared for. We appreciate your highlighting that Trish and Hannah are the best. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Spent 5 days at the Westin Hotel at Hilton Head island with the family (2 adults and 13 and 11 year old). I didn't know what to expect as this was my first visit to this area and a Westin Hotel. We had a great time and loved the hotel for the following reasons:

- Great location on the beach. We actually spent most of the time in the hotel pools but it's nice to be able to access the beach so easily. The beach is flat and wide when the tide is out
- Hotel pools are very nice, including one of them which has a permanent shade structure over the top (great for staying in the shade will the children are in the pool)
- Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the stay
- room was just a medium size room (2 double beds). Was clean and had a good layout. We had a view to the pools (couldn't see the beach but were Ok with that)
- Restaurants are good. We don't normally like buffet food but the breakfast buffet was very good
- Hotel location is great for exploring the island on bikes - we rented bikes and rode around the nearby roads (adjacent to golf courses) and also took the bikes on the beach.
- Evening entertainment at the hotel was good. they typically had a musician playing in the pool area around happy hour and then showed outdoor movies on some nights
- Also, we found the guests at the hotel to be extremely friendly - Maybe this is just a reflection on the famous Southern Carolina hospitality (this was our first time in the state and many people at the resort were local). Anyway, I just figured it was worth noting because I've travelled a lot and this is one of the most welcoming places I've visited.

Hope this helps

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for sharing that your famly had a great stay at The Westin during their first visit to South Carolina. We are delighted that you enjoyed our beachfront location, swimming pools, and the buffet breakfast, as well as activities such as biking and outdoor movies. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another memorable and renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Loved this resort. Great clean pool area, large spacious clean rooms and very friendly staff. Food on premise was delicious although you pay premium price since it is a Westin. We cannot wait to return Only negative of this resort is once the sun goes down watch out for cockroaches, they were all over the View 32 bar,crawling everywhere! Yuck. Other than that it is top notch!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhon34607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for sharing that you loved the Westin and all the great amenities. We appreciate your noting that the staff was very friendly and the food was delicious. Hilton Head Island does have a very healthy ecosystem, and our resort retains the services of a nationally known pest control company for both indoors and outdoors to ensure pests are under control and eliminated. Please know if there are any isolated incidents, additional steps are taken. We hope that you will return in the future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Applause, applause to the lovely renovations throughout a hotel we have visited many times over the years. The common areas were inviting. We especially enjoyed the new lounge area tucked between the lobby and the pool...a great spot to people watch. The restaurants offered a nice selection of tasty fare that ranged from comfort food to the more daring. The staff throughout the hotel were competent, courteous and caring. And of course the pool and beach were terrific. At days end, it was wonderful to retire to such a tastefully decorated room, ours was upgraded to oceanfront. And the heavenly bed was well heavenly! Can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: Can't miss,..garden views were lovely and ocean views were stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your perspective on our recently renovated resort being lovely and inviting. We are glad that you enjoyed our dining options and tasty fare as well as our terrific pool and beach environments. We are glad to know the staff were competent, courteous, and caring as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
9.0 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
886 reviews
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £126 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on Hilton Head Island's famous white sand beaches and nestled amidst swaying palmetto trees, The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa offers travelers a lush tropical oasis. Enjoy the array of inspired amenities available at our Hilton Head Island resort, including private access to miles of pristine beaches, three beautiful swimming pools and four on-site restaurants. Children will love spending time at the Westin Family Kids Club, while you can escape to the Heavenly Spa by Westin™ for a rejuvenating massage. We also offer hotel guests access to the adjacent Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club for championship golf and tennis. All guestrooms feature the Westin Heavenly Bed® and double-vanity Heavenly Bath®, as well as a private balcony, many of which boast stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing