We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heavenly!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel has it all! Gorgeous hotel, excellent location, great amenities. I am such a Westin fan! They know how to do it right.
Hilton Head can be a family place so my husband & I were a bit worried - afraid it might be 'too kid friendly' But even the children here were so behaved! No screaming or jumping/splashing water everywhere.
Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Higher floor had an excellent view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for sharing that you had a heavenly stay at The Westin recently. We are delighted you enjoyed our gorgeous hotel, excellent location, and great amenites. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    372
    147
    53
    40
See reviews for
506
498
28
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Such a beautiful facility... especially for families. With a 5 yr old and 3 yr old, still in awe of how attentive the staff was for entire family. The kids are always kept busy with activities at Kids Club. Goodness, they even had free fish food to feed the fish in the Koy Pond... my 3yr old was most grateful for this as he was obsessed with the fish. Really can't say enough wonderful things about the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and the beauty of the property. if there was anything i would point out that could use some improvement was getting the rooms cleaned earlier in the day and making more fun food options for kids on the menus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustever008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for sharing that you are joining our Starwood Preferred Guest program based on your recent positive stay at The Westin. We were delighted that your family was provided personal and instinctive service by our staff, and that our beautiful resort was fully enjoyed. We do accept guest requests for a particular timeframe for housekeeping services, as our housekeeping team does work from early morning until the evening ensuring guest rooms are refreshed. We appreciate your recommendation on the kids menu having more fun items which will be shared with our Executive Chef. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winder, GA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is awesome in every sense of the word! Clean, updated, friendly staff, convenient, you name it! The beach at this resort is beautiful and very well-kept. The pool selection (one is actually shaded in case you have babies or get too much sun) is great and large. The chairs/loungers can be a little hard to come by on a Saturday during the summer. The restaurants here (Oceans and Splash we tried) are great! The chicken salad wrap at Splash was delish! The poolside waiters (Ian) were very attentive and awesome. They have self-parking (complimentary) or valet. The room we had gave us double sinks! This was a girls weekend I will never forget! Jason at the front desk and Donna at Concierge were also great to note. The entire staff was so amazing here! The spa (had a facial) was so relaxing and my facial girl was awesome. I cannot use that word enough to describe it here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieV232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for sharing that you had an amazing girls getaway at our beautiful Westin resort. We really appreciated the comments on indivdiual staff members who ensured you were well cared for as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We were also glad that you had positive dining experiences at Oceans and Splash. We hope that all the girls will return in the future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The pools are great but the hotel needs more elevators in different areas. They seem to only be located on either end of the hotel.

Also, for a room with two queen beds, we only had two small dresser drawers to use for three people so we had to leave most of our clothes in the suitcases.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricaRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your stay at The Westin. Delighted to know that you enjoyed our great pools. We do have elevators in each tower close to the beachfront, however, we have several elevators located off the lobby, and I am sorry if you were not aware of all options which we do publish in our resort guide as well as on a large map on our electronic message board in the lobby for the convenience of all guests. We apologize that the storage space was not sufficient for your use, as we also have an ample sized closet for guests in the guest room which most guests find satisfactory. We hope that you will return in the future so we may meet and exceed all your expectations at that time.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our family's first visit to Hilton Head. We chose the Westin due to the location - right on the ocean - and because I am a SPG preferred member. I was unsure what to expect but am happy to report that this resort met and exceeded our expectations.
We booked a standard room and it was perfectly adequate for our needs since we were rarely in the room. Our room had a partial ocean view as we were on the 4th floor. Each room has a private balcony which was nice so we could sit outside in the evenings.
The Westin staff was very friendly and we received great service from everyone we encountered. The kids club was great, our almost 4 year old enjoyed the (free!) daily activities and asked about them every day.
We had no problem getting chairs by the pool, and the poolside drinks and food were fairly priced. The only thing I found a bit strange - and I don't think this had anything to do with the Westin - was that you had a rent chairs and umbrellas on the beach from a private outfit. After checking the rental prices we decided it would be cheaper to buy beach chairs and an umbrella from Walmart and leave them behind at the end of the trip. It was a little bit of a hassle to lug the chairs to the beach every day, but worth the cost savings. We also discovered that you can park underground near the beach entrance, so we kept our beach chairs in the car so we didn't have to carry them up to the room at the end of every day.
Highly recommend the Westin Hilton Head resort for a family beach vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for sharing, as one of our valued SPG Members, that you had a great stay at The Westin recently. We were glad to know that your expectations were exceeded with the guest room, great service, and that your child enjoyed the daily activities. The Town of Hilton Head Island contracts with a private vendor for all beach rentals and services on Hilton Head Island, and we are unable to offer these services on the beach. However, we do have beach chairs/umbrellas available for our guests to rent through Outside Hilton Head located in our courtyard at a reasonable rate, and I am sorry if you were not aware of this option. We hope that your family will return in the future for another memorable and rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We've stayed at many hotels and resorts in Hilton Head over the past 14 years, our stay at the Westin exceeded our expectation and is our favorite thus far. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with warmth by the staff and received exceptional service. Great detail was taking to decorate the interior, rooms, and pool area which wowed us. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieDeb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is an extraordinary hotel that exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your comment that the staff provided exceptional service, and that our "coastal chic" renovation wowed you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milledgeville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our beach side yoga experience was wonderful. We were one with nature out on the upper pool deck overlooking the ocean. We made our reservation easily through Outsidehiltonhead.com. No need to be a guest of the Westin Hilton Head Island Resort and Spa. Price is reasonable considering the view and length of session. The location is a short drive from anywhere on the island. It took us 15 minutes from the Sea Pines Resort.
Namaste

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogapal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed a beachside yoga session at The Westin recently. Delighted to know you had a pleasant and renewing experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.9 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing