We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Summertime Fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Summertime Fun!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a great stay our family and friends had at the Westin Hilton Head! The accommodations and staff were amazing, and the location couldn't be better. If you're looking for a great family get away with a friendly staff, the Westin is the place to be. From the rooms, to the pools, the beach, to the door men who greeted me with cold water after my morning runs ... thank you!

Green Features: The hotel was focused on environmentally-friendly practices. We enjoyed skipping having our room serviced for a day here or there, and took advantage of their extra starpoints (or $ voucher) plan.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for sharing that you had great summertime fun at The Westin recently with your family and friends. We were delighted that you enjoyed the fantastic accommodations and our amazing and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    393
    157
    57
    41
See reviews for
534
516
30
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just left the resort and we had a great time. The Westin, after renovations, is an outstanding property. The grounds are beautiful, very accessible to the beach, and the rooms are nice. Pools are nice. Lounge chairs are probably the best I have seen-very comfortable. We didn't eat much at the resort because there are so many great local restaurants.
Customer service/front desk was great. Very professional and friendly.
Cons:
Parking can be a pain.
Be prepared for a long walk if you don't have a room near an elevator.
Ocean view when choosing a room rarely means ocean view. Not a problem, but shouldn't be advertised as such or included with ocean view/pool view. Why disappoint the guest-just be honest. I get the tree preservation but just advertise correctly.
No adults only pool. We had children with us but I could see that it might be a problem for those who didn't.
Be sure to request a time for housekeeping or it won't get done until end of day. We were charged for a water that we never drank-on a day that we didn't even have housekeeping so not sure how they think they knew we did. Regardless, $3 isn't a big deal. When we did get our room serviced, it was just ok. Counters and sinks
didn't get cleaned and our balcony really needed power washed. Room 2018 if management wants to check it out. Far corner is filthy.

We love the Starwood properties and generally stay exclusively with the
brand. We would stay here again although we would
request a real ocean view.

Ultimately, this is a great resort.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a beautiful oceanfront resort and an outstanding property. Delighted that you enjoyed our grounds, pools, comfortable lounge chairs. We appreciate your comment on our great customer service that was professional and friendly. We do have several "ocean" room type classifications such as pool/ocean view (a view of either the pool or the ocean), ocean view, and also ocean front, and we are sorry if there was any misunderstanding when selecting a room type as all options are disclosed on our website as well as during the reservation process. Our housekeeping team works from approximiately 8:30 a.m. until 6:30 p.m. cleaning guest rooms in our busy summer season, and we do accept guest requests for a particular timeframe. We were sorry that your room was not fully serviced and up to expectations which has been shared with our Director of Housekeeping for further review. We certainly appreciate your patronage of Starwood properties and look forward to welcoming you back in the future for a renewing and relaxing stay which will meet all your expectations.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I just got home from our trip to the Westin in Hilton Head island. This resort is so beautiful. The pool area is fabulous. I was so happy with this beautiful view and surroundings. The oceanfront view is fabulous. If you are going to Hilton Head, this is the place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaylene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a beautiful resort and that you enjoyed a fabulous oceanfront view. We are also happy that you enjoyed our renewing pool area. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I have been going to HHI for 15 years! We originally stayed at the Westin, but over the years started to stay at the Omni, formerly Hilton. So we wanted to really compare the two. I stayed at the Omni a few weeks later on a girls trip. In my opinion two best resorts. The Westin is nicer on the inside, grand lobby, indoor hallways, amazing rooms, the heavenly bed is just that! I love the outdoor dark wood and the outdoor furniture is so comfortable! Great pool chairs!! The outdoor bar is really nice again lots of places to hang out and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. There is a small kids pool, really one main pool, but it is large and never seemed overcrowded. The food by the pool was good, the chicken wrap, with apples and nuts was great! We have a tradition which is after dinner walk on the beach, the stars are amazing! Then we hit the pool and hot tub. I love night swimming. This was an issue, we were not making any noise, at all, but the night security acted like we were criminals!! No joke, I saw him do it twice, he was aggressive and literally kicked us out!! . Actually aggressive is putting it mildly. So on our last night, we were the only ones swimming about 10pm, not making a sound and he came over and starting yelling at us. I did tell him it was ridiculous as people were all around the fire pits and pool area drinking and having a great time. We were floating around a huge pool, there were no complaints I assure you, and there was no reason to make it a federal case. Was I at the Westin or a Motel 6?? First time that has ever happened. When I was at the Omni on a girls trip we swam every night with instance.

Room Tip: This is tricky, they really need to cut down some trees. Very few rooms actually have an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is amazing. We appreciate your comments on our great indoor and outdoor environment and that you enjoyed amazing guest rooms as well as our signature Heavenly Bed. We were also glad to know you enjoyed dining poolside. Please accept our sincere apology for the experience you had with our security officer regarding night swimming. I am sorry for any misunderstanding and that he did not provide a proper explanation regarding pool usage after dark. We follow state laws related to lighting in the pool area in the evening and pool usage, and guest safety is always our main concern. The comfort of all guests in the evening hours is extremely important to us. We also follow local ordinances related to reduced and special lighting in the evening due to the endangered loggerhead turtles which nest on our beachfront. We hope that you will return in the future so that we may meet and exceed all your expectations at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are traveling to Hilton Head for the 1st time in August. I have no doubt that the Westin is a BEAUTIFUL property and we truly wanted to stay here based on the excellent reviews (and I am very impressed by the fact that the hotel acknowledges each review). However, I was shocked to learn that fresh off their 30 million dollar renovation, room size adjustments did not come into play - although I can't imagine that is an easy fix. We have three daughters and we have never encountered a situation where a room with 2 queen beds could not also accommodate a roll away bed or have a single pull out couch. I was therefore very surprised to learn from the reservation specialist said that there are no rooms at the hotel that can accommodate 5 people. Most every room appears to have 320 square feet. It is not economically reasonable to have to get a second room just to accommodate 1 person. We will therefore have to book our stay at the Omni where a standard room is 530 square feet and they can accommodate a rollaway bed. It is in the same price category as The Westin so I am sure the Omni will meet our expectations however, I am just surprised that the Westin limits your ability to stay there because of their room size.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank 1Mom2Three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback on your upcoming trip to Hilton Head Island. You are correct that The Westin did recently renovate and significantly upgrade the entire resort. We are very grateful for all the positive reviews we regulary receive on our outstanding facility and exemplary service. We also upgraded each guest room from the previous two double size beds to two queen size beds, in addition to having guest rooms with king size beds. Due to local fire codes, we are not permitted to add an additional rollaway bed in the guest rooms with 2 queen size beds for the safety and security of all guests. We do have other options available for families that include 2 connecting guest rooms so all family members are comfortable, or we have a more spacious suite option with connecting room. It is always our intent for our guests to have a top notch and renewing experience. We hope you will choose The Westin on a future visit to Hilton Head Island so you can fully experience luxury and wellness in travel.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I took our 1 year son to Hilton Head for the weekend and we had a blast. The hotel did not hesitate at all to guarantee a crib in our room prior to arrival when other hotels often treat it as a non-guarantee request. We were driving down from Atlanta Friday after work got a late start. The hotel noticed we were past the ETA I had given them and the front desk actually called to check on us. They went ahead and confirmed the crib was in the room and even made sure the AC's were on and the room was cool. When we showed up they had everything ready for us and check in was a breeze. During the entire weekend we were greeted with nothing but smiles and great attitudes. We had such a great time we have already booked another long weekend in July.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing that you had a great family weekend at The Westin. Delighted to know that our staff ensured you were well cared for upon arrival and that you experienced personal and instinctive service throughout your stay. We look forward to your return visit in the near future so we may ensure another memorable and renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had an outstanding stay at this resort.. Everything was perfect! You feel like you are staying in some far- away tropical island. There are so many beautiful flowers and plants to enjoy during your stay here. The decor is so soothing. The placed is so well maintained. I could go on and on. Will go back for another visit!!!!

Room Tip: Our room view was the Koi pond and we loved it. We had an accessible room and it fit our needs perfe...
See more room tips
Green Features: I noticed in our room was a small pain for recycle items and I have never seen that in a hotel before. It looked like Westing had thought of everything!!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing that you love The Westin and that you had an outstanding stay that was absolutely perfect. We are glad to know you enjoyed our beautiful foilage throughout the resort grounds and our recently renovated "coastal chic" decor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
9.0 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing