We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with lots of things to do”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here on points and can't say enough nice things about the property. The entire hotel was recently renovated so everything was nice and clean. The beach was great - lots of sand dollars in the water. The pool was well maintained but very crowded all the time. Hilton Head is a really nice place for a family to visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a great place for families to visit, and that you enjoyed our recently renovated resort, as well as our fantastic beach. Our 3 resort pools and beautiful beach are very popular destinations during the summer season, and we appreciate your comment that the pool areas were well maintained and that the beach was great. We look forward to welcoming your family back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was our first time in Hilton Head and we stayed at the Westin for a week. It's a beautiful resort with a lot to keep kids occupied. The covered pool is a great option if you prefer the shade (we did) and we really enjoyed the Dive-in Movie nights. The staff is excellent - Jason Bees at the front desk made sure we had a very comfortable stay and was very considerate. Pool staff are really helpful - I dropped my iPhone in the pool and Karl got me a bag of rice to dry it in! Dining options are also plentiful, and poolside dining during the day is a great option to have. Great experience overall - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Inderpreet29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for sharing that your family enjoyed their first visit at The Westin. Delighted that your family enjoyed the kids activities, dive-in movie night, and numerous dining options. We appreciate your comments on our staff providing personal and instinctive service; especially Jason and Karl ensuring you were well cared for. We look forward to welcoming your famlly back to our excellent destination in the future for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The resort was very pretty and the food was very good, We enjoyed the Carolina restaurant very much! The staff was so friendly! HOWEVER, that was the only positive service we received. The bartenders at the outside round bar were as rude as we have seen. The concierge was totally unhelpful as was the front desk staff. A course in hospitality would be good for this Westin's staff.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank carolsdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for sharing that The Westin is in a very pretty oceanfront spot. Delighted that you enjoyed good food and our friendly staff at our Carolina Cafe. Please accept my sincere apology that your encounters with the bartender, concierge, and front desk staff were not exceptional as we are known for our staff providing personal and instinctive service. Please be assured your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers for further review to ensure we are always meeting the expectations of all our guests. I do hope you will return in the future so we may meet and exceed all your expectations at that time.

- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

My first time at Hilton Head and loved it! The Westin was a delight from the moment I entered the impressive driveway and all staff I encountered were incredibly welcoming.
The main resort pool is stunning, the landscaping is just beautiful and there's plenty of room to relax around the 3 resort pools (1 covered pool, kids pool and main pool).
I'm gold SPG and had booked the cheapest rate and on arrival was upgraded to an ocean view room as had my sister and brother in law (I was treating them to a stay).
The rooms are super spacious, tastefully decorated in keeping the Westin theme and I loved my balcony overlooking the pool and ocean.
The bed of course was super comfortable as you expect from a Westin property and bathroom had double sinks (rare these days in any hotel).
Poolside cocktails were excellent as was the food, the staff again were so friendly and really went out of their way to accommodate every request.
It was a very relaxing first visit here and I can't recommend highly enough! I'll be back.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank JpoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for sharing, as one of our valued SPG Gold members, that your first stay at The Westin was very impressive. We are delighted that you enjoyed our courtyard pool area, excellent cocktails, and upgraded ocean view guest room with our comfortable signature Heavenly Beds. I was also glad to know that our staff provided personal and instinctive service to ensure you were well cared for. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another renewing and relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Westin Hilton Head (and only paid for 3 thanks to a 4th night free promotion which helped provide "value"). The resort is large with a very nice pool area -- that frankly we almost never left my kids liked it so much. They have 3 main pools including a "covered pool" which is outside and exposed on all sides except under cover -- very good for shady lounging and getting out of the sun while swimming in summer weather. The hotel is right on the beach and, although we are not beach people, it was very convenient to spend time on the beach here and then retreat to the pools or rooms if preferred. The resort had kids activities (kite making, lawn bowling, hula-hoop contests, night time "dive-in" movies, smores evening at a fire pit) that the kids really enjoyed. The resort is in the Port Royal section of Hilton Head -- western part of the island, which is a little far from Sea Pines and the main public beaches in the middle of the Island-- but nothing in Hilton Head is really that far from anything else. We actually never ate at the resort, going out for all our meals as there was so many other places of all types within easy driving distance. Room was comfortable but not terribly spacious. The service at the resort was pretty good -- although our maid service was a little off. (Knocked at 8 am one morning while we were still getting ready. We left by 8:15 and then room was not made up at 4pm when we returned?). Internet worked fine in the hotel-- although a little slow -- but cellular service was extremely spotty within the room. Beds are very comfortable and good pillows. All in all, a good but not 5 star experience-- but again, our kids (13 and 11) really did enjoy it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room overlooking the pool and it was not too loud. Higher floors probably have some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mjsbgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for sharing that your family had an enjoyable experience at The Westin. Delighted that you really enjoyed our fantastic pools, beachfront location, and numerous activities for children. I was also glad to know you enjoyed our signature Heavenly Beds which are comfortable and renewing. Our housekeeping staff works from approximately 8:30 a.m. until 6:30 p.m. cleaning guest rooms, however, we do accept guest requests for a specific timeframe. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. We do hope you will return in the future for another memorable and renewing family vacation.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have stayed at the Marriott, Omni and other Hilton Head properties and there is no comparison to the Westin hotel. Truly luxurious, attentive staff that go out of their way to accommodate SPG Gold and Platinum members but most importantly - little toddlers that may be accompanying you. This is a excellent hotel to stay with family and you will not be disappointed - from the multiple pools, table tennis, surfing lessons etc. - this hotel will please everyone. We were upgraded to a gorgeous oceanfront view room from which you can see the Atlantic Ocean in its fury and tranquility. Two Queen Heavenly Beds were a delight to come back to after a full day's worth of activity and included breakfast buffet at Carolina truly delighted the kids. Really enjoyable stay !!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the North Building side for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vijayhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for sharing, as one of our valued SPG Members, that The Westin is a luxurious hotel in a gorgeous location. I was glad that we were able to provide upgraded accommodations so you had an awesome view of the Atlantic ocean and our beautiful beach. I was also delighted to know that you enjoyed our signature Heavenly Beds as well as breakfast at the Carolina Cafe. We really appreciate your noting that our staff ensured you were well cared for, and that your family had a great vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I recently went to this hotel on vacation and below is my perspective:

Good: Bed, Pools, Front Desk and Management Staff

Bad: Cockroaches (aka: palmetto bugs) infested property - because of door design in my rooms facing beach, cockroaches were enter my room at will by using small cracks at the base of sliding glass doors!

I think it's unacceptable to pay for services hotel which is infested with cockroaches...I disagree that
it's acceptable to live with bugs in your room. Hotel staff offered options but none resolved issues.

Room Tip: Have engineering put towels in sliding glass door seals so cockroaches (palmetto bugs) can't ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

I was glad to know that our General Manager was able to meet with you personally while you were on property.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
9.0 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £125 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on Hilton Head Island's famous white sand beaches and nestled amidst swaying palmetto trees, The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa offers travelers a lush tropical oasis. Enjoy the array of inspired amenities available at our Hilton Head Island resort, including private access to miles of pristine beaches, three beautiful swimming pools and four on-site restaurants. Children will love spending time at the Westin Family Kids Club, while you can escape to the Heavenly Spa by Westin™ for a rejuvenating massage. We also offer hotel guests access to the adjacent Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club for championship golf and tennis. All guestrooms feature the Westin Heavenly Bed® and double-vanity Heavenly Bath®, as well as a private balcony, many of which boast stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing