We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I didn't know what to expect from this brand, but we were very satisfied. The pool was beautiful and sunny and warm! The staff was friendly and accomodating. The proximity to the beach was also great. Food was above average, nothing earth shattering. Overall I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank Sanjay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic five star review regarding your family’s stay with us. We are very pleased that The Sonesta Hilton Head Resort was able to exceed your expectations in every way possible. Thank you for recognizing our team of friendly and professional staff here at this resort. We want all of our guest’s to feel accommodated and comfortable throughout their entire stay. Thank you again for this review and future recommendations! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,016 - 2,022 of 2,643 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Sonesta Resort at Hilton Head was a very nice find for us and we will be going back to this resort for our next Hilton Head trip. We've not vacationed much to Hilton Head since this area's hotels are so dated so it's really encouraging to have a contemporary option in Sonesta that offers a more modernized aesthetic.

The interior hotel design, especially the lobby area was the Sonesta Hilton Head's strongest point with a nice coffee car in the lobby and lounge seating. We used this daily in the mornings for slow wake ups.

The Heyward's restaurant was good but not great. The best options included several salads and fish tacos but the steak was way overpriced at $33 and a disappointment for quality reasons. The breakfast buffett was "regular breakfast" with made-to-order omelets and a decent spread of options. Service at Heyward's was spotty with some of the staff seeming disinterested in their jobs.

The beach was very nice but get out early to reserve a beach chair setup that's away from the crowds. The grounds had a nice lake with dozens of turtles that the kids loved. The pool area was adequate but on Memorial Day weekend was jam-packed so we could get in most days.

The spa experience I had was very poor. The spa is just a carve out of several hotel rooms made into a spa area. My massage therapist asked for feedback on my deep tissue pressure but didn't modify her approach when I told her it wasn't enough pressure. She was going through the motions. This sometimes occurs when 20% tips are automatically included in the service price. I would not recommend this spa to any true spa connoisseur.

So net/net, we'll be going back to Sonesta given to relative options in Hilton Head although we prefer to Gulf Coast 30-A beaches between Rosemary Beach and Watercolor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cutterback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post and share your review about your recent stay with us in May. We sincerely apologize that some of our departments were not able to meet your expectations. Being a Four Diamond resort, the delivery and execution of our service should be incomparable. We apologize again for failing to succeed. We want to ensure all of our guests are well taken care of throughout their entire vacation. We followed up with the appropriate departments upon your posting and sincerely thank you again for your review. We hope we have a chance to welcome you back soon so that the appropriate standards can be met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in this hotel. The rooms and housekeeping were awesome!
We did not use room service or bellman so I cannot include them in my review. The grounds were gorgeous and we immensely enjoyed our bike ride through the property utilizing the bike trails. The only issue we had was the hotel did not staff enough help at the pool bar and the lobby bar to accommodate the large group staying at the Sonesta. By day 3 of the convention I believe they equipped the pool bar with appropriate staff. The food at the pool bar was delicious.
I would definitely enjoy staying at the Sonesta again, just not with a big business group.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndiMc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We much appreciate your review of the Sonesta Resort following your recent business trip and are so glad that you enjoyed the grounds and amazing bike trails in our area! Your feedback is invaluable to us in order to achieve our goal of providing exceptional customer service to all of our guests and exceed expectations in every area of the hotel. Please rest assured that all of your comments have been noted. Your compliments for our housekeeping service are much appreciated and have been shared with our Executive Housekeeper so he can recognize the team for doing a wonderful job. The Food and Beverage staff is also delighted to hear that you loved the food at Sweet Cane Bar and Grille! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back, next time for a vacation! Please visit the Sonesta website to view all of the special packages we have to offer! Thank you again for taking the time to review our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel far surpassed my expectations. I have been to the island several times and this was my first time staying at the Sonesta. The resort is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are very nice and clean and the amenities are the best. Thank you for taking care of my family with such good care.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are delighted that you chose the Sonesta Resort for your recent vacation and hope it is the first of many family visits! Our goal is to exceed our guest’s expectations and it is wonderful to hear that we succeeded in achieving this during your stay! Your excellent comments for the standard of housekeeping and our amenities are very much appreciated and have been shared with the staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon! Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I came for a conference. Wonderful experience. Beautiful grounds. Very updated and beautiful hotel. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The restaurants on the grounds were very good. Loved it. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you very much for your excellent review following your recent business trip! It is a pleasure to read your wonderful feedback for our staff, the restaurants and the grounds. We are very proud of the new hotel following its $30 million renovation that was completed in May 2013 and we are delighted that you share our love for the newly upgraded Sonesta! Please visit the Sonesta.com website when the time is right to book your next vacation – we would be delighted to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I had been this this location years before when it was the Crowne Plaza and it was nicely updated. The rooms were spacious and clean with a sitting area, Keurig and fridge! Housekeeping was consistent and thorough. Our room was far away from the atrium overlooking the pool which was lovely. The breakfast at Hayward's was tasty and lunch by the pool did not disappoint - shrimp tacos were delicious!

Only opportunities were in the ability to forecast staffing needs for food and beverage staff poolside and evening bar for our large group. The F&B manager actually sent home bar staff when it was quiet one evening (our large group was dining out) and had a skeleton crew to provide service to literally 100's of bar patrons after dinner. I felt so bad for the ones that were there. Similar scenario poolside - not enough staff to service bar and pool area. Just need some additional training/volume forecasting for conference groups.

One other comment is about the beach -- it is immensely overcrowded. Appears to be public access overlapping with sonesta access so it is SO crowded you only see tents and umbrellas as far as the eye can see. If you desire beach time, hoof it to the right towards the residential area for a relaxing day.

Bellman/valet were professional and helpful. Lovely resort and would most likely return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Rgbledsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are delighted to hear that you like our newly renovated resort! Your wonderful comments regarding the high standard of housekeeping, excellent room location, dining experience at Heyward’s Restaurant and Sweet Cane Pool Bar and Grille are much appreciated and have been shared with the staff. Thank you also for the compliments for our Bell Services team! Your additional observations regarding inadequate staffing on several occasions during your group visit have been addressed. This is valuable feedback in order for us to achieve our goal of exceeding guest expectations in all areas. It is certainly a busy summer, which ultimately means an immensely popular beach area! You will find the beach far less populated during April-May and September-October when our clientele tends to be more couples and less family oriented. I hope you may consider spending a vacation with us during these months! Thank you again so much for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Best vacation ever! Cannot put into words how amazing this resort is. All staff members were friendly and helpful. Rooms were cleaned thoroughly everyday. Food at Heyward's is awesome. Great location, right on the beach! Able to completely relax. This was the perfect place to spend our 1st anniversary. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We all enjoyed reading your fabulous comments following your recent vacation! Thank you! We are delighted that you chose to share your very special occasion with us at the Sonesta Resort! Your special mention for the friendly and helpful staff, the high standard of cleanliness and exceptional food, are very much appreciated! We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back next year to celebrate your 2nd Anniversary, if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
344 reviews
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
813 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £116 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing