We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpectedly lovely resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked based on a television commercial since we wanted to stop on Hilton head island on our way home from a Florida vacation. I was pleasantly surprised by the beautifully renovated rooms and grounds. Our discounted rate did not give us a nice view from our room but the amazing customer service more than made up for it. The property is oceanfront but only a few rooms actually have an ocean view due to the height of the sand dunes and local ordinances restricting building heights. Hotel management ingeniously uses hospitality management college interns. Their energy and willingness to serve was an unexpected pleasure. The beach was clean and the pool was very nice. Although the hotel was completely booked with meetings, weddings and vacationers, there was always a friendly, attentive staff member to assist any question we had or service we required. They have daily scheduled activities and on site bike rental that was less expensive than the off site rental companies I contacted. I would highly recommend Sonesta Hilton head island!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltcflips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a fantastic five star review in regards to your recent stay with us. We not only appreciate you choosing the Sonesta on your way back home, but for acknowledging the sincerity in our service here at the resort. Our interns have deemed to be excellent assets to our property and we truly appreciate the acknowledgment. We hope to welcome you back very soon and thank you for future recommendations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,435)
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,795 - 1,801 of 2,435 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

The room was extremely spacious with a bright retro orange and cream decor. The immense glass shower was an added bonus. The pool and landscaping were impeccable and definitely provided that true sense of serenity when walking the grounds. The beach access was perfect!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysPlanningaVaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience here with us at Sonesta Hilton Head! We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your clean and spacious room as well as our newly renovated property. It is a goal of ours to ensure complete guest satisfaction and comfort throughout their stay and we are very happy we succeeded. Thank you again for this review and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Sonesta location was on the beach. It had some good bike trails if you like to ride bikes. With 2 pools, one covered and one in the sun the pools were less crowded. It also has a hot tub that was very clean. The beach was just a walkway away. Since it is located in the middle of the island it was an easy drive to anything we wanted to see. The breakfast bar was good also. It is pet friendly. It is family oriented and has a kids area and activities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
2  Thank rai473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We are very happy you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We are pleased to read you enjoyed our newly renovated property as well as your easy access to the beach. We are also very happy you enjoyed breakfast in Heyward’s during your stay. Thank you again for this review and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Decided, spur of the moment, to "run away" and decompress at HHI for a few days at Sonesta. This place has undergone quite a turnover throughout the years from Marriot, to Crown and now Sonesta and we have stayed herr throughout these changes.
Disappointed that there is no longer adult only areas.
There are sun and shade pool areas and I guess that appeals to some.
Decor is great- King room large- we always stay on upper floors- reduces noise and hall traffic
wonderful balcony- ask to face pool...nice views
Staff was wonderful and acconodating
Walk to beach is short - bring your own beach chairs or rent - whatever
Valets were GREAT and personable
On Shipyard Plantation

Room Tip: Stop in Fresh Market and pick up muffins/scones and creamer/milk or such for breakfast, there is a r...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your five star review in regards to your getaway with us! We are extremely thrilled to read you keep coming back to this particular property when vacationing on Hilton Head Island. As you were able to see, our property has just undergone a thirty million dollar renovation to not only our rooms, but our grounds as well. We are very pleased these renovations were to your satisfaction! Thank you again for this review and we cannot wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Sonesta, and was pleasantly surprised! The rooms were top notch, clean, beautiful. The pool area was beautiful and clean...the waitresses by the pool we also very helpful. We had dinner by the pool , and there was a large selection of meals. The food was really tasty, and the service was exceptional. The night manager really took care of us....I think his name was Chris. He helped us with the menu, and let us pick from the indoor menu as well. I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such an excellent review regarding your stay with us. We are very pleased to read our property was able to take you by surprise and exceed your expectations! We want to constantly strive for excellent service and we are thrilled to read you received exactly that throughout your stay. Especially at our Pool bar Sweet Cane’s! Thank you for acknowledging Chris, the assistant Manager of Food and Beverage; he is a great asset to our property and we are very pleased to read he was able to properly assist you. Thank you so much for future recommendations and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We just returned last night from this resort. We stayed 5 nights with our 4 kids. We had such a wonderful time we never got in our vehicle once we parked upon arrival until we left. We rented bikes and rode each day for at least one meal. We ate every night either at Heyward's or room service. The staff at every meal whether in room dining, Heyward's or Sweet Cane's bar, were very friendly. Trevor at the bike rental was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are very spacious and clean. We had to get two rooms due to having 4 kids which was a little costly but having the extra bathroom was worth it! The only thing that would have been nice was to have a microwave. Having to eat out each meal with dietary restrictions makes it a little difficult and pricey. But food was delicious and worth it. Kids especially loved ordering the room service and getting straight out of pool and eating lunch pool side. We had a garden view room which overlooked the pool. It was beautiful and you could even see the ocean over the trees. The beds were very comfortable! All in all we had a great time and hated to leave. We will definitely return on our next beach vacation. This was our first trip to Hilton Head and we realized we have been missing out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rac444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We cannot thank you enough for this wonderful five star review regarding you and your family’s stay with us. We are more than thrilled to read that you enjoyed every meal here at the resort but more importantly, the professional and sincere service you received as well. Thank you for recognizing Trevor, one of our Leisure and Activities department employee’s. He is a great asset to our property! We’re glad you and your entire family enjoyed your Garden view rooms as well as the amenities featured throughout our resort. We want everyone to feel comfortable, safe, and relaxed during their vacation and we were more than happy to read we succeeded with you and your family. Thank you again for this review and we hope to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Sonesta was a very nice place to stay. Being able to walk directly to the beach was a plus. Very convenient with the restaurants and a gift shop on the premises. A bike rental was also available on the premises, however it closes at 5 P.M. It would have been nice if the bikes were available in the evening for a cooler time to ride. Overall it was a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank Denys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent getaway with us. We are more than thrilled to read you enjoyed our newly renovated property as well as our amenities made available to you. We apologize for the inconvenient hours of our Bike rentals on our property. We have taken into consideration your feedback, and will continue to look further into this. Thank you again for this review and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.0 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £142 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing