We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodations but PRICEY food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
“Great Accommodations but PRICEY food.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The first room I had was the room from hell. The toilet ran constantly and the view was a pathetic (overlooked the roof tops). However, it was all rectified by the on duty manager the following morning. Once we changed rooms, everything was nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elmer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you very much for this review. We truly appreciate your feedback in regards to your stay and are very pleased to read we were able to turn around your experience with us. It is a goal of ours from the Front Desk staff to Management here on the property to ensure every guest is satisfied and that their needs are being met. Thank you again for this review and we hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,609
    534
    139
    36
    21
See reviews for
787
959
52
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We just got back from staying at the Sonesta on Hilton Head. I was super excited to stay here, but rather disappointed when I left. The place was beautiful and remodeled, but that was all that I found good about it. First our room wasn't ready at 5:30 when we checked. The front desk lady was no help, almost looked like she was going to cry, so I cut her some slack, obviously she must have been new, because she was no help, called a manager over who said it would be a few minutes, and that turned into a half hour. 2nd they seem to be understaffed. Not much help when needed since they are busy helping a lot of others. 3rd the maid service was horrible. One day we went to the beach and my kids took a bath, I got a good amount of sand out but not all. After the maids came, still there, along with some stains on counter, I really believed they just came and made the beds, not even changing the sheets since there was still sand in those too from the kids. 4th the pool is beautiful but crazy crowded. Cants see how anyone would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. Your review has given us an opportunity to follow up with our staff in both departments you have mentioned. Our Front desk interns try their absolute best for every single guest however, we did experience a few issues at that point in time and for that, we sincerely apologize for your wait time at check in. As you have you seen from other reviews on Trip Advisor, the level of customer service is one of the most frequent comments made by our guest’s. We are constantly striving to enhance our guest’s experience; especially at the time that they arrive at our resort. We apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. Thank you again for this review and we hope to someday welcome you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boiling Springs, NC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent five nights at the resort for a weekend business meeting (Thurs-Sun), arriving two nights early. It is an older property that has recently had a modern facelift. Although the architecture might date the property to a decades ago, it is still fresh, clean, filled with expected amenities. My wife enjoyed two spa visits and we enjoyed the pool area. Hilton Head is full of great places to eat so we did not dine much on site but we had three evening buffet meals prepared by hotel dining and the meals were by far the best that we have ever had at similar events and the breakfasts were good.

The were only two negatives about the resort from our perspective. First, the beach was extremely crowded but it was the last week in June. Second, some of my peers rooms overlooked unsightly scenes (roofs and parking lots). I was fortunate and had a beach front room.

The greatest asset of the Sonesta is its staff. The resort must have great coaching because the level of pleasant interaction challenges the standards of the best hotels. We did not have one bad experience with staff. In fact over the course of five days many of the staff learned our names. Further the leadership of the resort never failed to fulfill any request that we had as a large group. This property was more accommodating than any location that we have ever used and it is our hope that Sonesta will become a regular location for our annual summer meeting.

Room Tip: Request a beach front room or a garden/pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingMan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We truly cannot thank you enough for taking the time to post this fantastic review in regards to your stay with us. We receieved constant positive feedback from your group and we were more than happy to accomodate everyone's needs. We are very pleased to read you recognized our team of professional and friendly staff here at Sonesta Hilton Head. Each of us are always more than willing to go above and beyond for any guest. We are also very pleased to read that you enjoyed each and every meal that was prepared for your group throughout your stay. Thank you again for this review and we hope to welcome you back to our resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Enjoyed this beautiful property for a family vacation. Rooms were spacious very clean and beds were comfortable. Self Parking is somewhat limited to find a space that is convenient with a short walk but I do like hotels that have an option where you don't have to pay to park. Rooms have a keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and a safe. Property is beautiful. I always saw the staff mopping sweeping and keeping up with the mess in the high traffic areas and doing so with a smile.

We came back for a kids pool party and found out it was cancelled. My kids and I were upset because we rushed back for it. The kids club staff was so kind and apologized and put together a pool party for the group of kids that showed up. I was very impressed with the friendliness of the staff and for taking action to fix the problem.. Customer service at its best!

The kids ate twice at poolside. Meals were a very good value! My sons hamburger was the size of an adults and fries were good. I think like all poolside bars etc. there isn't enough servers coming around. There were times that if someone came around I would have ordered a drink but no one came.

I think that this is a huge missed opportunity for the resort.

Also the pool water wasn't clear. I think it needs more attention.
Also possibly add a slide to the pool. We are use to so many amazing pools at family resorts. The covered pool was interesting but not much of a draw.

Room Tip: Honestly even a view of the parking lot has beautiful trees and only used tiny balcony for kids to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sdelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an excellent review! We are so happy our staff was able to properly accommodate you by going above and beyond to make your entire family happy! It is a true passion of ours to do whatever it is to make our guest’s happy. We apologize that you were not immediately acknowledged at the pool bar in regards to ordering a beverage. We appreciate your feedback on this matter and these issues have been addressed. Thank you again for this review and we hope to welcome you and your entire family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great resort for family. Clean and soothing.
We stayed for a week and days went so fast!

I had tennis clinics at 200 ft walking distance. It was great.

Room service is great.

Bus boy, Marvil is awesome.

Mollie at reception. She is very knowledgeable and very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for this five star review! We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay as well as easy access to Van De Meer Tennis Club. We want to make sure all of our guest’s feel relaxed and comfortable throughout their stay. Thank you for recognizing Marvil and Mollie; both are amazing assets to this resort and were so happy they succeeded in accommodating you in the best way possible. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Ok, I will say this hotel/resort is absolutely beautiful. We did not know completely what to expect, although, given the price of the hotel, we were expecting something nice; THIS place exceeded our expectations.

The grounds were incredible. They have options for just about anyone:

1. Pool area- was large enough and had plenty of seating, a bar with tv's, jacuzzi, and heated pool on the side.

2. Outdoor grounds- hammocks for relaxing, cornhole game, activities for hotel guests, beach access.

3. Outdoor eating- a restaurant where you can either order dinner or have drinks while you enjoy the scenery.

Just an outstanding place to stay while in Hilton Head. The room was very big and extremely comfortable as well. The staff was very friendly and professional.

The only negatives I have (which does not effect the star rating) is parking is a bit scarce; especially, if you are coming in late from a night out. So you will have to valet, and there is a charge for this service FYI. And to drive into the resort (after security check point) does take a while, but these issues are very small compared to the overall stay at this hotel.

We can not wait to come back to the Sonesta! Such a great experience!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJK2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us in regards to your recent visit! We are very excited to read you enjoyed all the amenities available to you throughout our resort including our pool bar Sweet Cane's! We want to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with your parking. Our bellmen are always there to assit you whether it is for self-parking or valet. We are so very happy we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for this amazing review and we cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay but were very disappointed to see the valet charge of $10 for overnight parking. We are generous tippers and were surprosed to learn of this charge upon checkout. Makes no sense....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
2 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review in regards to your recent visit with us. We apologize you were not satisfied with your bill at check out. For additional convenience, our valet parking is a service we offer to better accommodate our guests. However, guest parking is normally included in the Resort Facility Fee per night, which was already taken care of by the group you were traveling with. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
271 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
838 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Property: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing