We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stan & Ann” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stan & Ann”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

"We will be back... when the kids are back in school."

Our travel agent suggested Sonesta. We were a little taken back by the masses of people but school is out. It was a nice hotel but what sold us was the friendly staff. Steve (the old guy at the pool bar) was great! We asked him where "locals" would eat. Steve gave us the names of some restaurants. We went to nearly all. The food and atmospheres were all exceptional. We have to mention Rich and Crissy as well- awesome bartenders.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annmarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you Stan and Ann for your recent review about the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head. Thank you for recognizing our bartenders at Sweet Cane; Steve, Rich and Crissy for their excellent service. With our thorough training and follow through we know you had a wonderful time while you were here. We are glad you were able to explore the Island whilst you stayed with us. Our Heyward’s restaurant is an excellent choice for dinner with some options being local fresh seafood or aged steaks and you could try our Friday night Prime Rib and Seafood Buffet. We look forward to your return to the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,457
    472
    124
    31
    18
See reviews for
683
872
48
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just returned from our family vacation. This is a beautiful resort. Location was perfect. Three minute walk along resort path way and you are on beach. Rooms very clean, great for families, zero complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We appreciate our resort being rated as wonderful. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and had no complaints! We very much appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is the cleanest and most service friendly resort facility we have ever been to. Staff all excellent, food service excellent and the hospitality awesome! We will always book here for our future HH stays!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We are so excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recognizing our excellent staff and food service! We would love to welcome you back for your future stays. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking so we may add any special preference. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Eight nights here and I'm not ready to leave. Great staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, good restaurant choices with multiple locations... The whole experience has been great - despite it being peak season. We have three kids in tow and we are all still happy with each other thanks in large part to the kids club. It is basically babysitting at better than reasonable rates with very friendly staff - and it includes meals and evening babysitting options on certain days. I do wish our one year-old could go too, but it starts at age 3 if potty-trained. The kids club has never been very busy and seems almost under utilized. I've especially enjoyed the live music with lunch at Sweet Cane grill poolside. The reviews that mention the Sonesta is busy with children are accurate. But the flip side is it is very family friendly. A manager even rearranged rooms at check-in to provide us adjoining rooms despite the busy season. If you're here for more than a few nights, you can find self-serve laundry facilities that I didn't see signage for anywhere; just ask since it's tucked away. Excellent resort!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpmeadows1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed in the presidential suite and it was very nice. When we arrived, we were pleased to find a plate of fruit and nuts waiting for us and at night they offered turn down service with chocolate on our pillow. The spa there is fabulous and I loved the decor of the hotel. The people were very friendly and the hotel kid-friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West chester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

It was nice, but not what we expected for what we paid!!! When we booked we were told we would be able to see the beach horizon from the balcony. We had to stick our heads out over the balcony and turn our heads it was a pain! The staff weren't even willing to work the problem out! Very disappointed for all the money we paid to stay here! The bathroom and shower was very small! The rooms were very over priced for what they really were. The pictures make it look a lot bigger and nicer than it really was. The pool was way to small for the amount of people staying there. We couldn't even find chairs to lay out by the pool, which was upsetting didn't get the chance to use the pool even once during the stay! The elevators in the hotel were very slow and outdated for sure !!! Defiantly need some up keeping! The other problem was that there was no parking at all! If you got back to the hotel after a certain time there were no parking spots open at all! For all of the people staying there, there should have been a bigger parking lot! Not everyone wants to blow their money on valet parking!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dkowalska2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Sonesta for our family vacation. The location is perfect and just a few steps to the beach, which we loved. The staff is courteous, lots of smiles and eye contact. The pool is nice. Overall, very relaxing and family oriented.
We did not appreciate the 'no view' room overlooking the noisy air conditioners. Even if we chose a no-view room, we didn't expect a terrible view and a noisy balcony. Although the room was still quiet with the balcony door closed, the view was terrible. It wasn't a 'no-view', it was a terrible view. We requested a different room (no upgrade). They said they were sold out for the night and would change our room the next day. When I requested the room change, someone at the front desk said they would notify me the next day when another room was available. No one called me. I went to the front desk and they asked for my cell phone number. Once again, no one called. I went back to the front desk in the afternoon and they took care of it. This didn't bother me as much because we were out all day and ultimately got our room changed. Other guests may find this lack of attention unacceptable. In both rooms I liked that the bed sheets were very clean (Yes. I admit I scrutinized them every day for hair, stains or anything else) and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms, however, need more cleaning. The room was clean, the bathrooms just need more attention as well as the carpet (Needs to be vacuumed thoroughly every day). Also, the food needs A LOT of improvement. It is bland! We wanted to explore the island so we ate at different restaurants, however, the first night we were exhausted after a 14 hour drive and decided to eat at the hotel. The food was very bland and not worth the cost. Needless to say, eating at the hotel after that night wasn't even an option.
There are daily resort and destination fees in addition to the local and state taxes, however, I was aware of this additional cost when booking through Expedia. Read your itinerary under 'Additional Hotel Services'. No surprises there!
Overall a nice experience but a little pricey (room, pool, access to the beach and parking if the lot is not full - Everything else has an additional cost).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yeren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Property: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing