We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a wonderful vacation with our adult children at Sonesta-Hilton Head. Staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Food and drinks were very good, but a bit expensive. It was a relaxing and comfortable trip for all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank hmo730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are ecstatic to know you felt our staff were VERY friendly and helpful. With the fantastic renovation we have gone through it is only appropriate that our service level matches the excellence of our resort atmosphere. Our lobby bar Bayley’s loungeoffers Happy Hour specials during the weekdays to please stop by and chekc out our menu. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,923 - 1,929 of 2,642 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful and luxurious resort that makes great use of every square inch. I felt like it went on and on and all of it awesome. From the beach access (which feels more like being right on the beach than your typical access) to the comfy hammocks, you will love this place. The accommodations are 5 star. The food is phenomenal and the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. You know how it feels when the staff is well trained and empowered? That's what this resort has going for it in abundance.

I'd recommend it if you're visiting Hilton Head. It will enhance your stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank BOS2GA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed for 6 nights at the Sonesta at the end of July. Overall a great property with clean rooms and customer service that should be a model for high end resorts around the world. Kristen at the front desk was especially helpful upon checkin giving us food ideas and sight seeing tips, (going to Savannah during the day). Beach is steps away and the water is great, 86 degree average each of the days we were there. Couple of issues with the beach - first beach chairs and umbrellas come at a price. Realize nothing is for free but as a guest of the resort this should seem free to the customer even if it's part of the hotel charge and buried in the price. Having to pay $32 for the first day and then $20 each additional seems a little weird to me. Also if you do the upfront and save for additional days note they have to be taken consecutively and you can't skip a day or you start all over. Something I didn't realize and wasn't explained by the beach patrol. They also have boogie boards, catamarans, kayaks and other stuff at the beach however all come at a price. This isn't a Holiday Inn and I just don't want to be nickeled and dimed for every fun option that myself or the kids have an interest in. Pool was very clean but not enough shade and chairs around it. Can be crowded at times but you have the beach and covered pool to default to if things get too crazy. Food options - breakfast buffet was good however it was pricey even on the dine plan. They credit you $40 each breakfast but you still go over by about $20 for a family of four and then add tip into it. There are better options off the resort property and will seek them out next time. Lunch at the resort is also pricey and we did better by going to the fresh market or panera breads right down the road. There's also a Kroeger nearby for additional food, water and even beer and wine. We did look at the meals for dinner but decided against eating at the resort. $33 for a steak is pushing NYC prices and just doesn't make sense when there are so many cheaper options with the same preparation around the corner. I would've also liked to see more variety on the dinner menu itself as those with seafood allergies would find it a very hard menu to navigate without an issue. Combined with the high prices and you're jumping in the rental car and going off property. Would I come back? Yes, but I'd just be smarter about the dining options to save some money. My last thoughts on this resort is through the staff at the kids club. The 4-5 girls that run that part of the shop really go out of their way to make the younger guests feel important. Whether it's through turtle feedings or a pirate night, my wife and I were impressed with the thought that they put into these events. Yes they're small events but they keep the kids occupied and engaged and the smiles you get afterwards are worth their weight in gold. Feel free to reach out with any questions.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the noise although you may have to walk a bit. Not too noisy at night and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DWB959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Sonesta for the latter part of our honeymoon. Overall the stay was pretty good. Still, I was slightly underwhelmed, given the high price and fantastic reviews. The resort is located steps from the beach and the property itself and surrounding area are clean and beautiful. The location is shaded and secluded, yet not too far from the popular restaurants and fun activities the island has to offer. The staff is very friendly and hardworking, and housekeeping did an excellent job freshening up the room daily. The guest rooms themselves are large, quiet, and modern, and we felt very comfortable even though we didn't spend much time in our room. I didn't utilize the spa, but my wife got a massage and was impressed.

My only two complaints would be about the parking and food. There's not enough general parking (some cars were even parked in the "no parking" zone) and there are no sidewalks in the lot, which makes walking to your car dangerous, especially at night. Also, the food options are overpriced and insufficient. Breakfast costs as much or more than lunch, so we went and got bagels at a place nearby. We had lunch one day at the pool and the vegetables in our dish were slimy. For dinner, the "casual dining" option was just as expensive as the fine dining restaurant. The restaurants we ate at away from the resort had better food for a much lower price.

A general warning to couples: this is not a great location for a romantic getaway in the summer. I know it's really not the hotel's problem, but this place was loaded with kids. On the surface, the hotel looked like it might be a safe haven from kids (near golf courses, fine dining options, pricey, scenic, secluded), so I took my chances. Unfortunately, I didn't exactly get what I had hoped for. Kids are all over the place, taking up the entire pool and hot tub, yelling and screaming, and running into you. Most of the parents were either constantly yelling at their kids to behave, which became irritating, or just letting their kids do whatever they wanted so they could enjoy their own vacations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First time to visit Hilton Head. Our stay at The Sonesta was perfect! Wonderful hotel with a staff to match. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Loved the location for its privacy and quiet. A++ rating

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Loved this hotel! As soon as you walk in the updated interior invites you in. The rooms were extremely clean and the beds were relaxing. We loved all of the outdoor areas and the beach was just a short walk from the pool. Stayed our first night at the Marriott Resort and it was a nightmare! Mold on the walls and lampshades. It took showing us five different rooms before management found one without mold growing in the room. The Sonesta was fantastic

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank Kelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean. The beds were so soft... like sleeping on clouds. We had a great time at the pool and at the beach. We picked up a few souvenirs from the gift shop, which offered a wide variety of items. The service was great all week and we would definitely stay here again! We had no complaints at all!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank John And Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
344 reviews
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
813 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £115 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing