We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hilton Head
1 review
“Anniversary”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, wonderful location, and great amenities,. This was a fantastic get away and we will visit again. The accommodations were extremely spacious, comfortable, and updated with modern fixtures, cabinetry, and 60 inch tv. Very comfortable short walk to beach

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Ken W

It is a great compliment that you chose to celebrate your special Anniversary at the Sonesta Resort and wonderful to hear that you left with some special memories of the time you spent with us! We take great pleasure in reading your positive comments about our recently transformed property; the resort’s unique location, our customer oriented staff and the wide variety of amenities we have to offer! We look forward to you joining us again for your next celebration!

Kind regards,

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,521
    500
    130
    34
    18
See reviews for
716
914
50
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

When I first arrived at the resort, I was afraid that it was too upscale but although it was upscale and beautiful, the staff is extremely friendly and make you feel right at home. The lobby area is very nice and they have a big canister with ice cold water which you will be grateful for if you visit in the summer. Our room was great with a king sized bed, sitting area and very large bathroom. There is a Keurig machine in the room and a refrigerator. One touch that I really appreciated was all the extra electrical outlets for charging devices. I loved the room - it was quiet and very clean. There is a large pool and we never had a problem finding a chair even though it seemed like many people left towels on chairs, went to the beach and then came back. There is a walkway right to the beach and on the way you'll pass a pond with turtles in it. They have a turtle feeding everyday. There is a bike rental area right on the premises. It was a bit pricey - $10 for an hour but it was extremely convenient. We had breakfast at the restaurant every day and it was consistently good. I thought the prices were very reasonable and the service excellent. We had lunch once at the hotel which was casual but very good - get the chowder. We ate at Heyward's for dinner on a Friday night when they have the buffet for $27. Typically, I don't like buffets but this was incredible. They had shrimp, oysters, clam, prime rib, salad bar, dessert bar, and lots of other things. Our server was incredibly friendly. There was one minor issue that came up and I mentioned it to the hotel manager not to really complain but just to bring it to his attention and he was very apologetic and gave me a $50 credit for the restaurant. I feel like this is the sign of a good hotel - when they are proactive about keeping customers happy. I would definitely go back - we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinickyNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear FinickyNewYorker,

As you may imagine, we were all excited to read such a fantastic review from a "FinickyNewYorker"! I hope you looked into the new jetBlue flights from New York...great prices direct to Savannah Hilton Head International Airport! When it starts to get cold in the Northeast we will be waiting for you to return!

Kind regards,

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulberry, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our second year staying at this resort. We had the pleasure of staying in the Presidential suite with an adjoining room that connected through the living room of the suite and had two queen beds. This set up is ideal for families; there is so much room in the suite, along with a HUGE bathroom and another 1/2 bath. A couple of things worth mentioning. There is an adjoining room that also connects to the bedroom of this suite and you can hear EVERYTHING coming from that room. There is no microwave in the suite; which would have helped with warming up leftovers - it had a great refrigerator (larger than what is in the standard room) and the pull out bed is not worth anything - it was horrible to sleep on (the Sonesta did accommodate us very nicely with a roll away free of charge). We had a great welcome package waiting for us and everyone at this hotel was always helpful and friendly.

I was disappointed with the poolside service. On the weekends, it was spot on with service people always walking around the pool ready to take your order. By mid-week it seemed like they all disappeared - we had to order each time at the bar; no one came around.

There were movies for the small kids, yoga on the beach free of charge, cornhole and turtle feeding.

We had a great time here and loved this place! the Wifi is very slow

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snshn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The staff at Sonesta was very friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful and the resort was very clean. Both the kids and adults appreciated the amenities. (Great pool and beach access) I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MELRcolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have been going to Hilton Head since I was a very little child (30+ years). We always stay in Sea Pines in a house rental. This year we chose to try a resort on the island. I am so happy we did. The Sonesta was perfect for our needs. It is located within the Shipyard Plantation, not far from Coligny Plaza. It has the convenience of a beach front location, as well as a pool. We were also able to rent bikes right at the hotel ($40 per bike per week). The rooms were clean, updated, and rather large. The rooms also have a small refrigerator. This allowed us to purchase snacks, light lunch and drinks for the week. There were plenty of restaurants available on property, as well as many in the surrounding areas. Coligny was a short car ride or bike ride away, where you can shop and dine with the family. This is definitely a family oriented resort. Friday and Saturday night has a pool side Movie (The little Mermaid & Finding Nemo). We loved this! The pool area is a nice size but not huge. It became crowded during the day. The beach was as nice as any on Hilton Head. If you find the chair rentals expensive, the gift store on property sold chairs for $25. Also, they are for sale at Coligny as well. The value for our family was excellent. We were able to book through hotwire at a very competitive rate. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Everything about this hotel is wonderful..the lobby, restaurants and lounge, room, grounds, pool and beach. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming.
We could not have been any happier and will return

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate you recognizing our friendly staff and happy to know you will be back. We have some great promotions coming up and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed for a 4 day weekend and the place was very nice. The staff needs some more training and dulled the 4 star experience. Some of the staff were great and some had attitudes or were less helpful. The room was great - no complaints - the bed was comfy, the room large, bathroom was well stocked, smart tv, clean. The amenities make it a great place to stay - short walk to the beach, very pretty scenery, great pool/lounge area, spa (somewhat harder to make reservations), plenty of places to eat/drink right on premises, store right in the hotel. I enjoyed the stay but thought the price was kinda high for the overall value. There are restaurants, activities and stores close by. The resort is more family oriented & the city shuts down early not a lot to do late night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the Sonesta Resort for your recent stay. We are happy to know you enjoyed the amenities we have to offer such as the short walk to the beach, the scenery, pool/lounge area and the Food and Beverage options. We appreciate the feedback on the great staff and sorry to know you felt some were less helpful. Our goal is to provide the excellent customer service we strive to provide to every guest and your feedback will help us to make necessary improvements. Thank you again for choosing the Sonesta and we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Property: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing