We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel was very nice. Nicely decorated, very modern decor. Staff was friendly. When I went there were a ton of families with kids there which does not bother me but may annoy some other folks looking for a more adult/romantic experience. The food at the restaurants was good but pricey. The drinks at the bar were also good but very expensive in my opinion. The beach was very nice, great location. The pool area was very crowded, probably due to the extreme heat. Overall I had a great stay at this hotel and would go back. The only thing I could complain about was parking. There were not enough spots and it was not fun circling around trying to find a spot. Despite this I still give this hotel 2 thumbs up.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank gagirl0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review about the Sonesta Resort. We much appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant and bar and are glad that you enjoyed the experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,827 - 1,833 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just a great place to relax and unwind, ehgaging service levels from the valet team to the bell staff. Enjoyed time with Kathy Prince and Jay the GM, The property is in great shape and has a great location with the ocean steps away from the resort. Live music in the lobby Friday night made for a great place to hangout with kids and friends, awesome stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank Kbrockway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Kbrockway,

Thank you for the great feedback! You made Kathy and Jay's day. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is now our go-to-hotel for a weekend get away at Hilton Head. It was a hot weekend and we really enjoyed the shade pool in the middle of the day. Nice little walk to pretty beach. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank plovify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear plovify,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the shade pool, and happier to tell you that the island is already starting to return to our perfect fall weather! We hope you will be back soon to take advantage of it!

Sincerely,

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is our second stay at this Sonesta. It was part of a Coral Resorts package for current Coral owners (we own at Island Links). Review is not a whitewash; this is one of the finest places we've stayed while traveling internationally. I was, unfortunately, recovering from surgery and unable to take advantage of many amenities, nor the beautiful beach, during this stay. I look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We are so delighted you returned to the Sonesta Resort Thank you very much for your review. We hope the recovery is going well. Looking forward to your return when you will be able to use all the amenities we have available including the beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I just returned from a weekend trip to the HHI Sonesta with my wife and two young children. This was our second visit to this property (we visited right after the renovation) and I have to say that the hotel is still in fantastic shape. Our room was extremely clean and well laid out with a nice balcony and small refrigerator. The grounds are beautiful. The zero entry pool was a hit with our kids. I have stayed at several resorts at HH and at this point I think the Sonesta is at the top as far as quality and value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gamecock93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again! We enjoyed having your family here to experience our Resort. All of our rooms feature a balcony and refrigerator to make you feel at home. Thank you for your comment about our beautiful grounds. We really enjoyed reading this positive review and look forward to your return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife were here last Sept. on a travelzoo offer. We returned on another travelzoo deal. The deal make this fine resort affordable. Hilton Head Island is just awonderful place to visit, relax, and dine. There many fine resturants to fit all your needs, Oh did I mention the best beach on NC, SC and GA.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Pat B.

Thank you for the glowing comments. We are so glad to have you back and pleased you took advantage of the wonderful special. Be sure to sign up for Travel Pass as we provide some great specials with the program as well, and you earn points toward future stays. Please have a look and perhaps your 3rd visit will be even better than the two before!

Sincerely,

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I along with our 11 year old son just spent 3 lovely nights at the Sonesta hotel. Room was beautiful with nicely appointed bathroom including large walk in shower and large vanity. The beach is wonderful and large. Great for long walks and body surfing in the waves. Pool area is nice though it was 95 degrees so the pool was crowded. The food at the pool restaurant was delicious with fresh catch snapper tacos and a grouper sandwich we all enjoyed. The property is beautiful and lush. We really enjoyed our stay. My only issue is we paid extra to reserve an ocean view room. The room was more like a pool view - the ocean was only visible if I stood on the balcony. Not sure it was worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funinsunmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear funinsunMichigan,

So glad to hear you enjoyed your family vacation. With Labor Day over, it is a bit more quiet with our clientele changing over to couples! We will be excited to see the "Sonesta Kids" next summer! We will make sure the Chef shares your comments with his team, I know they will be excited to hear how much you enjoyed their creations!

Kind regards,

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
808 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: £105 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing