We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded, good food”
Review of WiseGuys

WiseGuys
Reserve with OpenTable
WiseGuys is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 367 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Merchant Street
Knox
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Crowded, good food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great atmosphere. Excellent choice in small plates. However wine was left much to be desired. Seating was uncomfortable in the lounge area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank asknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,614
    350
    96
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Over priced slow service for average food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We went to wise guys based on the high reviews . The place looked decent however the service is too slow . It took 1.5 hours to get our plates . The food is ok not great . In my opinion it's highly over priced . Steaks at outback seem to us of better taste and better service . It was good to try it because we like to try always but now we know where NOT to go for steak .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ireiny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good dinner!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went to WiseGuys because "Dinner for 2" was included with our Marriott room. When our waiter learned that we were there on a dinner "voucher" - it seemed that his attitude changed and we were kind of ignored. He did rally a bit - and the dinner was very good. Seems to me that WG should take the opportunity to impress parties that come in on a dinner voucher - rather than snub them. The mixed grill and the steak were very good as was the beet & chopped salad. The bread pudding was amazing. We would return to WG - but wish we had had a better first impression.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and wine selection!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Enjoyed visiting this restaurant on our first night in HHI. Great wine selection, weren't disappointed with our decisions! Shrimp and grits- different than most in the south, but still delicious. Filet mignon, cooked just perfectly and was delicious- even without a serving sauce! Decent wait time without reservations, but overall a pleasant experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What's Not To Like?”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Their trademark: "Big Wines. Small Plates. Signature Entrees." This signage caught my eye while we dined next door at Frankie Bones at lunch. I wasn't sure what to make of it. I've learned to exercise portion control, but a promise of "small plates" raised an eyebrow and resulted in much contemplation. Fortunately, the Internet is just a few taps away on my iPhone, so I conducted some research. "Unique to the island for its casual yet sophisticated urban feel...see-and-be-seen hot spot...hand cut Stock Yard steaks that are aged a minimum of 28 days for maximum flavor and tenderness in every bite." OK. Now my curiosity was peaked. I am a filet mignon fiend, and I wanted to treat my sister and niece to a fine dining experience. Later, I called to book a reservation. I ordered a filet mignon. My guests ordered chicken and fish dishes. I was not disappointed, and my guests were impressed. Nothing like this in our rural hometown. The food. The presentation. The service. The ambiance. What's not to like?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WiseGuys also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to WiseGuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing