We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun local spot; sit outside and enjoy the view. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Skull Creek Boathouse

The Skull Creek Boathouse
Ranked #21 of 362 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: US$8 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hilton Head Island’s landmark, waterfront dining destination is The Skull Creek Boathouse. Located waterfront on Skull Creek, you’ll enjoy beautiful views whether you choose to dine indoors on the porch or fireside Dive Bar or outdoors on the waterfront deck. The outside Buoy Bar serves up colorful sunset views daily along with the freshest original drinks.So bring your family, bring your friends, bring yourself to Skull Creek Boathouse – One bite & you’re hooked!
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun local spot; sit outside and enjoy the view. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

The outside bar and dining area are pretty nice. Good service , the view was pretty nice at sunset. Service was good. There seemed to be a lot of local. I will return and recommend.

Helpful?
Thank SnowboundInVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,549
    1,604
    434
    155
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing return trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had been to this restaurant on a previous summer visit to Hilton Head and found the food excellent so were very anxious to go back when we returned to Hilton Head at Thanksgiving. However our second trip was very disappointing. One of us had crab cakes that were OK, one had stuffed flounder that was edible, however two of us ordered parrotfish off of the "specials" menu feeling that we would be getting the freshest fish. The fish was described as sweet flaky white fish with scampi sauce. Our fish was way over cooked to one gummy, hard, chewy mess. There was little scampi sauce and what there was was just a greasy mess. No garlic flavor to be found. The green beans side was plenty greasy as well. We're hoping this was a seasonal difference in the fish or just a bad choice but were extremely disappointed. If we are back in the area in the summer would be willing to give it another try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Momofpreteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Native Islander's Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

My family has lived here since the early 70's. Like so many other things, restaurants come and go. Even under new ownership for the past few years Skull Creek Boathouse is THE BEST restaurant. Freshest sea food! Best views and atmosphere! Say hi to Gill. He has been there forever and is the hardest working waiter I've had the pleasure of meeting. Best place in town bar none. Everything on the menu is amazing. We gravitate to the surf and turf. lobster is a must and sushi does not disappoint. Thanks for another great dinner. Carla, you are a wonderful waitress. Good luck in nursing school.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hustraveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb seafood and sunset views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This trendy seafood restaurant on the intracoastal waterway features great food and awesome sunset views. My favorite is dining and enjoying adult beverages in the outside cabana area.
A must visit location when visiting Hilton Head Island but be sure to arrive NLT 5:30 pm during the vacation season to ensure seating in the cabana area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Dined here yesterday with some friends. I had the seafood quiche and it was very good and LARGE. My slice was about 4 inches tall and really rich. My friends and wife all had omelets and they were all satisfied with their orders. The house roasted potatoes were slightly crisp on the outside and fluffy and moist inside and seasoned nicely. Our server was prompt and courteous and checked on us often. The only reason I went with 4 stars is the quiche was a little cold and they forgot my included side of spuds but got them as soon as I pointed the omission out. I would have sent the quiche back but I was afraid they might nuke it. All in all a nice place and would return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Skull Creek Boathouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Skull Creek Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing