We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extensive, yet Not Expensive Menu”

The Skull Creek Boathouse
Ranked #21 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Hilton Head Island’s landmark, waterfront dining destination is The Skull Creek Boathouse. Located waterfront on Skull Creek, you’ll enjoy beautiful views whether you choose to dine indoors on the porch or fireside Dive Bar or outdoors on the waterfront deck. The outside Buoy Bar serves up colorful sunset views daily along with the freshest original drinks.So bring your family, bring your friends, bring yourself to Skull Creek Boathouse – One bite & you’re hooked!
Augusta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extensive, yet Not Expensive Menu”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Delicious, well prepared seafood at the docks along Skull Creek. Wish we had gotten there a bit earlier for sunset, but twilight hour was fun. Though popular, they handle the crowd well with valet parking, plenty of outdoor area, and a couple of bars. They do not accept reservations.
Seating can be indoor/ outdoor. We had a table of 8, and everyone was thrilled with their dinners. The Grouper Imperial is sensational!! We also recommend the Crab & Shrimp Dip Appetizer. Those who had the Seafood Chowder loved it.
Relaxing, casual, all around very good choice!!

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,844
    1,724
    493
    168
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belpre, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Must try the hush puppies as an appetizer or an extra side. The Mahi Mahi was cooked perfectly. All meals have generous portions. We had a party of 8 and a 90 minute wait but it was well worth the wait. Everyone got something completely different and all raved about their meal. Definitely will go back if we go to Hilton Head again.

Helpful?
2 Thank MisB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our new favorite restaurant in HHI!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Several friends who are HHI vacation regulars recommended Skull Creek, so we went on our most recent trip to Hilton Head. Perfect place to go with kids. Even though there's often a longer wait, there are many activities to keep the little ones busy (and the adults entertained!) while you wait for your table - like a super-size Jenga game, a giant Connect Four game, along with cornhole. There was a table set up where you can purchase a Skull Creek t-shirt and the kids color them with "t-shirt markers." There's also an outdoor bar. We sat out on the patio which overlooks the marina - beautiful view! The food and service were excellent. We ordered fresh sushi as appetizer (an unexpected treat!), and it was very good. We went with another family and we all raved about our experience! Our favorite night in Hilton Head for sure!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern nj
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Jury is still out on this place - May try again later”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stopped here in response to their Early Bird Special. The Restaurant was Very Crowded and we were told that one must be seated in order to qualify for the Special. However, we could order at the bar and if called we could move to a table. The problem was that there were no seats or tables available in the bar area. The Staff was also not very accommodating although in their defense they were quite busy. My feeling was that this Place was not really "giving anything away" and since there are two highly rated restaurants next door, which I have patronized in the past - we left and dined at one of them. To close, we highly enjoyed our meal at their competition but I think I may give this place another try when it's not so busy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“2 visits one trip”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This became the family favourite. A busy spot for sure, but with games outside for the kids, a beer garden, and great a menu including sushi there was something for everyone. The tuna 3 ways was the best!! The little coin at the end of the night for a prize for the kids was a nice touch.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jjkkll52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Skull Creek Boathouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Skull Creek Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing