We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but chilly”

Pinckney Island National Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #6 of 117 things to do in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Encompassing four islands and 4,000 acres, the refuge aims to preserve and protect endangered natural habitats and species. At 1,200 acres, Pinckney is the largest of the refuge's islands and the only one open to the public.
El Paso, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely but chilly”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We wanted a thanksgiving hike but it was too cold and windy for the 4 year old. We will be back it check it out again. Probably with bikes. No amenities including no bathrooms so prepare ahead. Very solitary area not too far from Hilton head island

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    219
    55
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
2,012 reviews
1,156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,285 helpful votes
“Walk the trails, collect shark teeth in the sand.”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Interesting wildlife reserve with hiking trails and nice views located between the Hilton Head Island and the mainland. A good place for bird watching. There is ample parking but no visitor's center. Bring your own water and snacks if hiking any of the several trails. The shore sand in the refuge contains a lot of shark teeth. It is fun to look for the for a few moments.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Commune with nature but . . .”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I really like going to Pinckney Island. The best way to see the large island is on bike. But I it always seems MUCH hotter on Pinckney that it was on Hilton Head and you must spray for ticks and then do a tick check afterwards.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing really special”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

There's a few dried up ponds and some long trails through a mostly empty forest area.

Very little wildlife to be seen, I guess maybe good to visit once, but thats it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StuckonHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Lovely stroll, but be ware of coyotes and aligators!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a lovely morning walking through the trails inside this wildlife refuge. The first thing that got our attention before we even arrived at the parking area was a tall, thin coyote standing in the middle of the road, having a staredown with our car. He just stood and looked at us as we drove closer, then he turned around and trotted down the road, as if to escorte us in. After about 1/4 mile her turned left and headed across a clearing. No drama.
The birds were plentful, but we had to walk deep into the reserve to see them. Just past the bird haven we took a right and began walking around a large circular area. Off to the left was a huge aligator on the bank of the water. It appeared to be about 14 feet long and was just taking a nap. It didn't bother us, but sure got my heart racing!
At the end of the circle we came to a lovely butterfly garden filled with many Kodak moments. At this point, we headed back to our car. There were other walkers we met along the way as well as a few runners and guests on bicycles. One person in our group was in a power wheelchair and he traveled just fine on the asphalt and gravel paths.
I might add the fiddler crabs were entertaining and numerous down by the water.
There were no facilities (restrooms, food or lodging) so your are really on your own and out in the wild.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDiva001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pinckney Island National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pinckney Island National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing