We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands Down My Favorite Place”

One Hot Mama's American Grille
Ranked #34 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hands Down My Favorite Place”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We arrived w/o a reservation and were told it would be 45 minutes. So we went to the bar outside and had a drink. The bartender Josh was very friendly and accomodating. Before we knew it our table was ready (BTW it was only 20 minutes). Our server Tara was Excellent and very patient with us when we asked for some wing sauce to bring home as well as 2 different deserts that were AWESOME. We may drive back just for this place alone. 14hrs drive!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,386
    683
    222
    63
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corinth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We are from Texas so we are very picky about our barbeque. The pulled pork was absolutely amazing. The Texas brisket was good but I prefer mine from Texas. Also the sides were wonderful. The Carolina stew and cornbread were very good. We also tried the queso with brisket and it was great. Our server was very helpful in suggesting menu items. We will go back next time we visit Hilton Head Island!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food for the gluten free eater!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Let me start with saying that the staff here was out of this world. I will admit the wait was around 40 minutes on a Tuesday, but we were estimated 35-40 minutes.

When we sat down we notified the waitress that my girl friend has a gluten allergy. She proceeded to pull out a list of gluten free sides, entrées, wing sauces, etc. When she didn't know, she went to the kitchen to ensure it was gluten free. Keep in mind she/ the kitchen ensured a gluten free meal even when the place was swamped with people.

We ordered 12 grilled wings 6 siracha and 6 Maui Wowii. They were fantastic; very flavorful and meaty! We both order the best BBQ combo with the pulled pgork and ribs. The ribs were falling off the bone and the pulled pork was tender and juicy!

We couldn't be more happy with our experience at One Hot Mama's. I would advise anyone visiting Hilton Head looking for a seafood alternative to visit One Hot Mama's! Oh and be sure to ask for Stacy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Loud and crowded”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Do some restaurants encourage or just tolerate loud obnoxious talk and children? The servings were large(too large) flavors we're disappointing. The place was over crowded to the point that a couple of the servers were continually wiping down our table with their buttocks (not a pleasant experience for me and probably not for them). A little pricey for BBQ but it is on The Island. And you can forget all you may have heard about thin and starving cattle. The beef brisket was mostly fat. Go during happy hour for the bar and go some where good to dine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K-nine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Never had so much food served for one meal!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a fun place to eat dinner...not quiet at all, so great for families with kids. The signature "Fried Chicken" which is smoked first the. Breaded and fried was delicious...but I had 4 huge pieces of chicken to eat...plus collards and cornbread stuffing w/sausage. The prices were fantastic...my huge meal was under $15. We had to wait a few minutes, but it was truly worth it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TupperTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Hot Mama's American Grille also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to One Hot Mama's American Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing