We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clay Courts and Amazing Facility!”

Palmetto Dunes Tennis & Pickleball Center
Ranked #25 of 117 things to do in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Palmetto Dunes Tennis Center is ranked the #1 tennis resort in the Carolinas by Tennis Magazine and is currently ranked #9 in the world by Tennis Resorts Online. Featuring 23 clay and 2 Nova ProBounce courts, 6 of which are lighted for night play, the tennis center is open year round and also hosts a variety of tournament throughout the year. The Palmetto Dunes Tennis Center staff consists of the area's top pros who offer lessons and clinics to adults and juniors of all ages and skill levels. Enjoy seasonal complimentary activities and the island's largest tennis pro shop at the Palmetto Dunes Tennis Center.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
195 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Clay Courts and Amazing Facility!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had never played on Clay courts until this visit to Hilton Head, now I can't wait to go back! We play tennis usually at least once a week when the weather allows, and sometimes more when our schedules allow. We knew when we went to HH we needed to get on some clay courts. The facility at Palmetto dunes was immaculate, the courts were clean and well maintained and the service was very friendly, you didn't have to be a professional level player to catch some time on the courts which I really appreciated!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelingenigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    23
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice pro shop”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Help knowledgeable and friendly with a nice selection of tennis products. Nice selection of shoes also.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shearon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great facility with many clay courts”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Facility is maintained in pristine shape and we enjoyed playing tennis there. Only drawback is its a bit pricey ($30/hr).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kidk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmettoDunes, Manager at Palmetto Dunes Tennis & Pickleball Center, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed our courts and our tennis facility. We do pride ourselves on our court conditions and work year-round to keep them in pristine shape for our guests. Just a few suggestions on how you can save on court times: If you book your rental unit through Palmetto Dunes, you'll receive 2 hours of free court time per day. This applies year-round on all home or villa bookings. Also, if you are not staying with Palmetto Dunes, we have a special walk-on rate of $20 between the hours of 12 - 4 pm. There is not a guaranteed court time as it applies to walk-on only, but it would be a way to save $10 perhaps next time you're visiting. We hope to see you again soon and that you'll be able to take advantage of some of our savings options next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place to play tennis on the Island”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Plenty of Courts and people to hit with. Lots of clinic's and they have both clay and hard courts. Do not have to pay a fee to get into Palmetto Dunes Tennis like Sea Pines. There clubhouse also sells tennis clothing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobertG12572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An abundance of tennis courts at Palmetto Dunes”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

There are lots of tennis courts at Palmetto Dunes but there are also lots of crowds too. Keeping up with the maintenance of courts is also an issue. As a local I think there are a number of other tennis centers on the island that are better maintained, not as crowded and in a prettier setting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRiolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmettoDunes, Manager at Palmetto Dunes Tennis & Pickleball Center, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Palmetto Dunes Tennis Center. We apologize that our facility did not exceed your expectations. As we are located in a resort and host daily lessons, clinics and round robins plus many tournaments throughout the year, we do generally stay busy as opposed to other private tennis facilities on the island. We encourage you to please call our Director of Tennis, John Kerr, at 843-785-1152 so we can gather more specifics such as the date and time you played as well as any other details. This well help us to better pinpoint issues so we can improve the playing experience for all of our guests. Thank you again and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palmetto Dunes Tennis & Pickleball Center also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Palmetto Dunes Tennis & Pickleball Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing