We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Kept Up At All”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Head Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Head Resort
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
suburbs of indy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not Kept Up At All”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was a last minute trip, long weekend in Hilton Head. I cannot believe these owners pay a maintenance fee!! It is by FAR the dirtiest, scummiest property I have ever been to.
*the room was beat up dirty and mirrors and doors were trashed.
*the indoor pool was filthy. There was scum built up in all the corners.
*the bar side pool. FILTHY!!! Black scum on the edge tikes and greasy residue floated in the pool.
*the bad bathroom female had POOP on the door. I told a worker bee in the restaurant and it was still there when we left.
Honestly this place should be condemned. I will not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indygirl14k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    46
    19
    8
    12
See reviews for
66
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nicholas county,wv
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is our 2nd year in a row at this resort. We were really surprised our first year that we have decided this will be the place we vacation every year. The best advice that I can give anyone is rent privately thru VRBO and look at the pics. Almost all of the owners that rent out take pride in their condo's and are willing to help with anything you need. Most of them supply everything you need to cook and everything you need to take to the beach. The owners of the bar and deli make this place what it is as well. They are very hard workers and will do everything they can to give you a great stay.The prices at the deli and bar are cheaper than you will find anywhere else on the island and the food is great!.They alone are the reason we come back and will keep coming back as it feels like they make us part of their family and enjoy all the conversations and fun experiences with them. I recommend that you stay in building 1 or 2 with building 1 giving you the best views of the marsh and lagoons/beach along with view of the main outdoor pool and deli/bar. We have traveled to many beaches and resorts and this is one that we will keep coming back to!

Room Tip: We rent thru VRBO and stayed in unit 1110 and the owner is great and will do anything to help you ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank htjinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

I own at this resort. It is important when booking to look at the photos of the unit you are booking. Some are updated, some are not. Some units have balconies others have front porches. The review from an intern is not typical of the stay here. I had been coming to the island for more than ten years before buying in this location. This resort is in a great location and has a ton of amenities including two outdoor pools, an indoor pool, tennis courts, badminton court, jogging track and exercise room.

The two restaurants on site are great, the deli by the large pool is surprisingly good and inexpensive. Coco's on the beach is another great choice. If you are looking for resort planned activities this is not the place for you. It is a great relaxing place to stay if you select the unit carefully. I take pride in my home away from home!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank not2cre8ive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I must admit I was a bit apprehensive as the rate was so much better than other locations we checked into. We were traveling with 4 adults in our party so a condo vs 2 hotel rooms was perfect. We were in bldg 1 with a pool view and close to the boardwalk. Room was not picture perfect but very comfortable and suited our needs. The pool and the deli/bar staff were fantastic and loved the pool and boardwalk. It was worth setting the alarm and getting out to watch the sunrise over the ocean! We Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Streetglide07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We (me, wife, 2yr old) stayed for a week. We didn't really use a lot of the things that the resort offered, but we found the staff to be OK and the facilities to be in relatively good repair. This isn't a swank resort, but it has a lot of fun stuff for families to do.

The boardwalk is about 200yds...I mention this as photos don't really show you what to expect. You cross a salt water marsh (which is cool to see fill / drain with the tides) and is not bad at all. If you're shopping VRBO, note that building 1 and 2 will offer potential for a view...3 and 4 are parking lot views. We were on the 4th floor of unit 1, looking directly at the marsh / beach. Awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the hilton head resort 2 times it's wonderful! Not fancy but nice! We really like it because it is mid island and the beach is private! Meaning only guests at the hilton head resort have acess to the boardwalk to get to the beach and there are not any real close public beach access points that are close! So the beach is usually pretty quiet! With my 4 kids that perfect! They also have an awesome beach bar coco's! Right on the beach! They have 3 pools 2 outdoor 1 indoor that are all clean! A few tennis courts and a gift shop/ restaurant that have decent food! The security is really good also they have a 24/7 security gate!
The first time we stayed we had a 2 bedroom in building 2 with a great view! This time we stayed in 3221 it was a 3 bedroom decorated beautifully! It also had a in Suite washer and dryer which is a must for us with 4 kids! Although there was not a real nice view it was nice to have a screened balcony in the evening! Building 3 is the indoor pool building so when in the kitchen or dining room it was sometimes loud from the pool but not horrible! Great place great value!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We just got back from Hilton Head Resort for spring break. We rented a two bedroom unit in building 2 from VRBO. Our experience was perfectly fine. It certainly is not a 4 or 5 star place, but was perfect for what we paid. It shows age and needs some upgrades. It was however very quiet, great location, and security was great. The boardwalk to the beach was an easy walk. Our lazy 5 year old did not even complain. The view on the beach side of building 2 was nice. The kids enjoyed the pools. Only real complaint was the on-site fitness center. That was the biggest pile of broken yard sale junk ever.

Room Tip: Boardwalk side is nice. The building with the indoor pool seemed noisy and smelled of chlorine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
4.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.9 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#19 of 29 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#23 of 29 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
0.1 mi away
14 Crabline Home
14 Crabline Home
#47 of 52 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Resort

Property: Hilton Head Resort
Address: 663 William Hilton Pkwy, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3506
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Head Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Head Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing