We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good experience”

Van Der Meer Tennis Center
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always a good experience”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

They have best rate for round robins on the island. Staff friendly but clothing selection in pro shop on the light side...must have been sold down in May.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shearon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    12
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never too much Tennis”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Work with a pro for a private lesson before you do clinics. The courts A+ and Shelly helped my game and it is a blast.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great time at well-run tennis camp!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We found Van Der Meer Tennis camp by searching reviews. We have been to one other tennis camp and know that it really comes down the the tennis pro you are assigned so we crossed our fingers and hoped for the best. Van Der Meer far exceeded our expectations. Louie and Steve were fabulous -- professional and committed to our having a good experience which has not been out experience at a lot of other tennis centers. We also really liked Gretchen. However, all of the pros were very good and we learned from all of them. The camp was unique to others in that they spend a good amount of time evaluating each participant and divided us up in different sized groups depending on the activity and our skill levels. The instructors rotated through-out which means if you don't click with one you aren't stuck with them all week. We will definitely be returning!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank laurenc578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boomers clinic”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I opted for something different for vacation. We signed up for an over 50 bloomer clinic at the van de meer complex at the shipyard. It will run for five days. The first day was a lot of fun and work. It was a bit windy, however the sun was out and it was a great day.

The courts are clay and they're in great shape. The whole complex is well maintained.

Louie and Steve are the pros teaching. They both know they're stuff and know how to teach.

Helpful?
1 Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best tennis pros”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

loved the comprehensive weekend clinics...very thorough and video taped you as well so you can see what needs improvement... fun to play and a great facility.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vaiden k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Van Der Meer Tennis Center also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Van Der Meer Tennis Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing